We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
19
26
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
26
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air conditioning small fridge and microwave summer months saturday market beach side place to stay housekeeping units three nights easy access large bedroom beds were comfortable double bed wonderful stay view of the ocean swallowtail lighthouse office church
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 53 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of days this September 2018. Very clean and tidy. Parking lot a bit broken up in places so come in slow on the motorcycle. Take the time to walk across the back field to the shore. Beautiful view, smell the sea and let relaxation soak through you. Front desk staff were very friendly and Darlene was very knowledgeable about the island, services and history.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank brenhump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

This is a no-frills hotel accommodation with stunning views at affordable prices. Grand Manan's tourism comes second after their fishing industry, so there are no major chain hotels in the area. Most of the accommodations that I had researched was either an inn or bed and breakfast. I flew solo and I wanted easy access to my room without the awkwardness of bed and breakfast (I didn't want to appear like a loner). Given my needs, I thought that Sunrise Motel was my best option.

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the service, cleanliness, comfort and location. I picked the room close to the water and steps away from my door was the stunning view of the ocean. Seriously, the views from your room are stunning. I witnessed boats - big and small - going in and out of the island, listened to the soothing sound of the ocean and strolled on the beach at midnight. Gazing at the moon's reflection on the water is mesmerizing especially if you're looking from your window.

The motel is few minutes drive from the harbour, just few minutes drive from the iconic Swallowtail Lighthouse and the legendary Hole in the Wall - both are must-see attractions on the island. It's right across the visitor centre where you can get recommendations on various hiking trails and maps. Also closeby is the xxx light house where you could experience stunning sunset.

The rooms and facilities are impeccably clean; the sheets are not stained, the washroom is tidy and the walls are freshly painted. I didn't know that they do this at motels but they clean the room daily.

It might not be luxurious, but the room is comfortable. The bed is big enough for two people with layered blankets that keep you warm at night. There is a fan inside which lets you experience the cool breeze of the ocean without turning on the air conditioner. There is a room with a microwave and a small fridge in the room.

What's also impressive is the staff; their friendliness, attention to details and service-orientedness complete my amazing experience.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank jorgeleedotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

First trip to Grand Manan for one night. Chose this motel which is basic but very clean. Get a room facing the water to enjoy the view and watch the ferry. It’s worth it. Summer months there is a church breakfast across the street which we really enjoyed. Met people and learned more about the island. No breakfast at the hotel and no coffee in the office early morning when I tried prior to 8 am. No a/c but not an issue at all. Would stay again and thought all the staff we met were delightful!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelsDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Clean, attractive room. Fan to put on if it was warm, usually the island cools down nicely at night. Microwave and fridge in room. Convenient location for Saturday market and Anglican church Saturday breakfast. It was quiet despite being 'festival' time. Coffee available in office every morning. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We have been staying here for several years, always in the housekeeping units. The motel and housekeeping units have recently been renovated and look great. The weather was very cooperative, the sun shining every day but one. The staff is excellent here, always available to bring us fresh towels or anything else whenever we needed. Love it here!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews