We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Manan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Dieppe, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Very nice and friendly service!
The camp sites are spacious. You can even camp on the cliff side, with a view of the ocean!
Hiking trails are fun and have spectacular views.
Shared showers, bathrooms and kitchen facility are basic, but adequate.

Room Tip: Best view of the Hole in the Wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKDNRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    8
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

By far best place I've ever camped in Canada. Stayed 2 nights on a cliff site 10b
Originally we where only going to stay one but had booked for 2. After the first day we didn't want to leave. Woke up to the sound of whales breaching and blowing water through their water hole. Watched that for a good hour. Then a couple hours after watched a few more whales playing around Infront of our site. Throughout the day seals would play and eat fish, you could see the fish jumping out of the water.
At night you can hear the whales breaching and blowing. Listen for a rifle shot that's actually a whale hitting the water.

It was well worth the drive from Ontario. Wish I could drive there every year. I travel a lot and this island is by far the best place on earth for the nature buff. Should be on anyone's bucket list.

The island offers so much, people are so friendly, make sure to stop at the north head store to speak with the guy there he's so informative. Sold us a squid jigging lure but we couldn't stay out to late. Almost caught a seal instead.

Great place to watch the tide come in and out.

Campground is on an honour system, take what u need and pay later.

Lots of good eats on the island, everything is pretty much homemade

Visit Grand Manan Island you won't want to leave.

If you like Dulse this is one of the only places to get it, and the lobster is insanely good. And super cheap $9lb.

I have so much more great things to say about this place but long drive home and tired.

Just go!! You won't be disappointed at all.

Oooooo.... And the ferry across is great try the lobster roll yum yum!
Fish chowder is excellent. And you can see whales dolphins and bald eagle.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mellyjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying 2 nights while riding the island on my motorcycle. I was guided to my cliffside campsite by one of the staff on an atv. She was extrememly helpful and even gave me a couple maps of the island with places to see, things to do and even where to eat! I could't get over the amazing views right from my camp site! I had a clear view of the swallow tail light and got to see the ferrys comming in multiple times a day. Now if you're a light sleeper I would recommend bringing ear plugs.There is a fog horn on the swallow tail light that you can hear plain as day if there is any amount of fog. However I think that just added to my incredible experiance on the island! There are showers ($2) and firewood available on site as well! I'd like to say thankyou to the owners for providing such an excellent service for a very reasonable price!

Stayed July 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 2wheels1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Was in the campground for 4 nights. Staff was great to direct us to our site. We had Top G . We saw some whales right off the cliffs on our site. Good space for our tents and eating area. Nearby sites also good for viewing and for those with tent-trailers. Showers were kept clean and we had good access to plugs to charge our phones.

Thanks again to owner Kay for keeping a great campground going for so many years.

Room Tip: First choice should be cliff side site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We can safely say that this was by far the most special camp site (tent) we've ever had. We have camped in many NPs and SPs in the US and Canada, but being right on the edge looking down at the ocean and, yes, whales, seals and birds, just blew us away. No fog, so no horn. Proprietors were fine and the facilities are primitive up at the sites. You will pay for any amenities using an honor system. Chump change, considering, you are sleeping high above the ocean, under a multitude of stars whilst whales exhale you to dreamland. Best part of Grand Manan, hands down, is this experience.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RnSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed on cliff edge. Service amazing, ocean view unbelievable, best overall experience at campsite. Trails were very interesting. A lot of things there are based on trust. 100% recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eundzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The campsites have great views of the ocean. It was wonderful being able to see whales from our campsite each day. Hot showers are available and there is a microwave and electric burners in the small lodge. There are pots nad pans you can use and a sink for cleaning up afterwards. We loved hiking the trails in the area and seeing the Hole in the Wall. There is nothing better than hearing the whales at night and waking up to the fantastic sunrise. The other campers are respectful of one another and it is a great, quiet campground. The owner and staff rightfully take great pride in keeping the place clean, neat and safe. Staying here is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dave327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Manan
0.7 km away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
52 reviews
22.3 km away
The Inn at the Wharf
31.3 km away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 km away
Harbour Tide Inn
Harbour Tide Inn
#1 of 1 in Blacks Harbour
34 reviews
0.6 km away
Marathon Inn
Marathon Inn
#1 of 1 in North Head
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground

Property: Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground
Address: North Head 42 Old Airport Rd, New Brunswick E5G 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Manan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Grand Manan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hole In The Wall Wilderness Campground Hotel New Brunswick
Hole-In-The-Wall Park & Campground Grand Manan, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing