We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE EVER CAMPED!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Manan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE EVER CAMPED!!!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016

WE stayed at CLIFF 27.............the perfect place EVER we have camped, took a small camper van as this is a TENT site, VERY REMOTE, only an outhouse........awesome 20 min hike to lighthouse which you can see from campsite, whale watching, seals, birds, gorgeous sunrise truly magical place........THANK GOD for such creation!!!
not posting photos I don't want this place to get crowded HAHAH

Room Tip: the CLIFF tent sites are fantastic... no kids can stay on cliff but other great sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannette y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathleenS17, Owner at Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Thank you for your descriptive review. Do hope that you can visit on another occasion and enjoy another area of the campground. Regards, Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    8
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This place was amazing. Whales spouting non stop. Seals Everywhere. Definitely a more rustic feel as the washrooms except at the main gate are just outhouses. The price and the fact they do everything by the honour system is a great throwback to a better time. When you arrive just be prepared it may take longer then you are used to as the sites are remote the owners show you to your site the first time you go. I recommeed doing the trail as well that runs along the campsite to the actual hole-in-the wall. If there is fog be prepared for a fog horn so back ear plugs just in case

Room Tip: Try to get a cliff edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melge_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathleenS17, Owner at Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Thank you for your encouraging review. Yes, ferry arrival times govern our guest arrivals with often more than one checking in at the same time so thank you for explaining the registration detail. As you appreciated, given the scope of the camping area, it is necessary for staff to insure that the site will accomodate the guests needs. We work to assign the sites according to the pre visit reservation request but realize we must also allow for flexibility. Regards, Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

RV spots are at the front of the campsite with OK views, but for the tenting and tent trailer crowd, the cliff side, cliff edge and cliff top sites are spectacular. These sites line the eastern shore of Fishhead, just north of Grand Manan's iconic Swallowtail lighthouse. Each site has a picnic table and a fire pit, where you can enjoy an ocean view while watching sea birds, seals, porpoise and whales. The property is very large with lots of biking and hiking trails.

Room Tip: D and E sections are more austere. I like the convenience and the views at the B sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelh409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathleenS17, Owner at Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. If the 'maker' of Fish Head had not been so careless with throwind down ledge and boulders, the serviced sites might have been closer to the ocean! But the trade off is being able to hike to the decks, the trails, and enjoy the spectacular vistas. Regards, Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Private, well kept, great sites. We rated for 3 nights with another family. Not cliffs edge but by the cliff as we have little ones and the views were spectacular! Wood is a rip off at $7/bag but everything else was reasonably priced. They have a WiFi lane our front with free WiFi. Clean showers, toilets, outhouses. You can watch for whales right at your site!

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank redwingschica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We arrive at our site to be greeted by 2 playful seals about 50ft below us frolicking in the water. Our tent barely fits the site but that is part of the adventure. Your view is vast across the Bay of Fundy. We had the privilege of constant whale sightings during our 3 night stay as well as many porpoise and seabirds. The minkes, finbacks and humbacks made themselves known blowing and breeching. You do hear them in the night but it is not bothersome. Waves of herring schools swim by which creates a gentle sound. Fog made its way to Grand Manan that week which does bring on the fog horns you can hear in the distance and the ferry does have to make itself known on its transport across the bay but in sunny weather you hear SILENCE. A distant seagull may break your calm. The campground itself is nothing fancy in fact the middle appears to be some kind of aggregate dig site. The sites are full of roots and rocks so bring your hiking shoes. They are pretty private as well. You will need to hike down to many of the cliff edge sites about 20 feet +/-. There are several hiking trails that afford you some gorgeous views. There is a shared kitchen area and microwave and burners awa showers and flush toilets. Site areas are all pit toilets. There are no activities of amenities other than those mentioned. Wood is $5 - 6CAN you can buy Ice for $2CAN. I would recommend it for the experience of watching whales while lying in your tent.

Room Tip: Cliff Edge sites are on the route where the whales swim
See more room tips
Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank t42390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Very nice and friendly service!
The camp sites are spacious. You can even camp on the cliff side, with a view of the ocean!
Hiking trails are fun and have spectacular views.
Shared showers, bathrooms and kitchen facility are basic, but adequate.

Room Tip: Best view of the Hole in the Wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKDNRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

By far best place I've ever camped in Canada. Stayed 2 nights on a cliff site 10b
Originally we where only going to stay one but had booked for 2. After the first day we didn't want to leave. Woke up to the sound of whales breaching and blowing water through their water hole. Watched that for a good hour. Then a couple hours after watched a few more whales playing around Infront of our site. Throughout the day seals would play and eat fish, you could see the fish jumping out of the water.
At night you can hear the whales breaching and blowing. Listen for a rifle shot that's actually a whale hitting the water.

It was well worth the drive from Ontario. Wish I could drive there every year. I travel a lot and this island is by far the best place on earth for the nature buff. Should be on anyone's bucket list.

The island offers so much, people are so friendly, make sure to stop at the north head store to speak with the guy there he's so informative. Sold us a squid jigging lure but we couldn't stay out to late. Almost caught a seal instead.

Great place to watch the tide come in and out.

Campground is on an honour system, take what u need and pay later.

Lots of good eats on the island, everything is pretty much homemade

Visit Grand Manan Island you won't want to leave.

If you like Dulse this is one of the only places to get it, and the lobster is insanely good. And super cheap $9lb.

I have so much more great things to say about this place but long drive home and tired.

Just go!! You won't be disappointed at all.

Oooooo.... And the ferry across is great try the lobster roll yum yum!
Fish chowder is excellent. And you can see whales dolphins and bald eagle.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mellyjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Manan
0.7 km away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
52 reviews
22.3 km away
The Inn at the Wharf
31.3 km away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 km away
Harbour Tide Inn
Harbour Tide Inn
#1 of 1 in Blacks Harbour
34 reviews
0.6 km away
Marathon Inn
Marathon Inn
#1 of 1 in North Head
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground

Property: Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground
Address: North Head 42 Old Airport Rd, New Brunswick E5G 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Manan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Grand Manan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hole In The Wall Wilderness Campground Hotel New Brunswick
Hole-In-The-Wall Park & Campground Grand Manan, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing