We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“secluded gem in idyllic site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castalia Marsh Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castalia Marsh Retreat
New York City, New York
1 review
“secluded gem in idyllic site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I spent just under two weeks in Captain’s Quarters at Castalia Marsh Retreat. Frankly, we had trouble getting other cabin reservations but were intrigued by the website. It was more ample and lovely than the pictures conveyed. The main “great room” overlooks the Marsh and ocean w/a view of Swallowtail lighthouse. Panoramic windows and full surround of trees made for a completely private setting with wide open water/sky view framed by lovely evergreens. Everchanging lights on the Marsh and steady flow of birds provided hours of lovely quiet entertainment either from deck or from inside. Unexpected lovely/thoughtful details: knobs, hooks and railings made from smoothed found wood, French Coffee Press, a blender, full refrigerator, little heaters, supplies of salt/pepper/flour/spices for cooking. Very close to main supermarket on the island, short drive to various restaurants and origins of kayak trips, bicycles rentals and whale watching tours. You can drive to all sorts of lovely trailheads and hike around the Island. Maps and guides were found in the room. We were anxious about the possibility of mosquitoes near Marsh. It turns out mosquitoes don’t breed in salt water and the marsh is a salt marsh. We had no problem w/mosquitoes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blkbough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

If you are interested in a peaceful getaway & don't mind unique, rustic accomodations; this is the place for you. I organized a 3 week vacation in Canada & this was the destination I looked forward to the most. I was interested in the eco-cabin concept. Recycled building materials (an extra good idea on an island with limited resources & imports), composting toilets, sustainable development, serene views of the marsh, etc.
The owner, James built all the cabins on the property. He was accomodating & friendly. I would have loved to stay longer & visit with him more because he seems like an interesting guy.

The cabins are nestled amongst the trees & some have views of the marsh. Each cabin is isolated from the others so that guests have privacy. We stayed in the Lookout cabin. We had a clear view of geese & goslings feeding...& bald eagles & peregrine falcons taking turns preying upon the goslings. We saw one gosling meet its fate, but the other attempts were unsuccessful. In the woods surrounding the cabins, there are too many neo-tropical migrant birds to name here. I was in awe of the many warblers singing from the trees.

If you plan to stay at Castalia Marsh Retreat, check ahead of time to confirm payment options. It wouldn't hurt to bring groceries from the mainland. However, there is a great grocery store nearby. The cabin we stayed in had a full kitchen & utensils so we could cook anything we wanted.

I seldom slow down long enough to 'relax'. I must always multi-task. But at Castalia Marsh Retreat, I discovered what focused relaxation is.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetHopfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Castalia Marsh Retreat is unique in a wonderfully refreshing way. Its charm reveals itself in ways you don't expect. I would highly recommend the place to anyone looking to escape into solitude and watch the rhythm of nature. And for better or for worse, the place has a very reliable wifi signal.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delcorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

Geese honked flying over the marsh, the predawn sky covered with tinges of glowing orange, visible from the large loft windows on the very comfortable top of the line foam/futon mattress where we slept. Each cabin is designed by Jim, an environmentally conscience, crusty new age sailor...so they are really quirky, sturdy, and awesome (like Jim). In ours, the steps to the loft were exquisitely crafted wood and very steep like those going to/from the galley. The bathroom had composting toilets, and the tp holders and handles were made from hand carved wood branches. The "gathering place" (a huge yurt with full length windows, a large deck w a grill and adirondack chairs overlooking the marsh, ) is available for guests to hang out...so you could , join a random potluck, sit and read by your self, teach a yoga class If you are into posh, cushy, or you are a whiner and/or not able bodied (sorry)...this place is NOT for you. You ARE expected to clean up after yourself and recycle, and mosquitoes will bite you. Some minor maintenance is needed here and there. If you feel like it, help out a little...this is not at all mandatory, but it would help Jim out a lot, its in the spirit of things...clean the fire pit, fix a screen, help wash the linens, thoroughly clean your cabin, hang a birdhouse, fix the web site...who knows) Great whale watching nearby. Prices are low for all that you get... it is a tremendous value! Book in advance! I spoke with one of the quests, who had a child, and they return every year. I will be back in a few weeks (from Washington DC).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Manan hotels
5.1 km away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
5.0 km away
SeaCup Inn
SeaCup Inn
#2 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
5.3 km away
Marathon Inn
Marathon Inn
#1 of 1 in North Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castalia Marsh Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castalia Marsh Retreat

Property: Castalia Marsh Retreat
Address: 11 Bancroft Point Rd | Grand Manan, New Brunswick E5G 4C1, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Manan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Grand Manan
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat site is seven acres of forested land overlooking Swallowtail Lighthouse, the saltwater marsh, the fishing village of North Head and picturesque islands in the Bay of Fundy. It is a safe, warm, and dry environment where one can relax and be surrounded by nature. There is a network of nature trails connecting four small fish and frog ponds and the various cabins and tent site. We try to create a supportive environment where people who want to share what they have learned can be actively involved in increasing their knowledge of personal, spiritual, and environmental health or just relax and enjoy the natural beauty. We have a facility ideally suited for hosting workshops or facilitating gatherings focused on personal, spiritual, and environmental health. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castalia Marsh Retreat Grand Manan, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing