We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beaubears Island Interpretive Centre
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Historic Site

Interpretive Center was nice ands staff very friendly and informative. We decided to self tour the... read more

Reviewed March 14, 2022
c0verdale
,
Riverview, Canada
Lots of history, lots of nature

I opted for the guided tour of the island ($20) which ended up being a one-on-one with a very... read more

Reviewed August 29, 2021
fincaran
,
Saint John, Canada
Read all 39 reviews
  
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
33
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
33
4
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 39 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2022

Interpretive Center was nice ands staff very friendly and informative.
We decided to self tour the island and for a minimum price we hopped on the boat and went across and were given a number to call when we wanted to get picked up.
Spent a good part of the afternoon exploring the island, there are a few different paths to hike but could use more interpretive signage but overall still a very good spot to visit.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BeaubearsIsland, General Manager at Beaubears Island Interpretive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2022

Thank you very much for your kind words and visiting us. We hope one day you will make it back to enjoy some of our new programming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2021

I opted for the guided tour of the island ($20) which ended up being a one-on-one with a very knowledgeable young man. Actually the cost of the tour is only $10 because it costs $10 to get to the island on your own. The boat staff was very friendly and they provide a phone number to call for a pick-up whenever you are ready. There is enough signage together with the great info in the interpretive centre that one could easily self-guide as well and have more time to explore the 6 kms of trails on the island (although you are welcome to do so even after a guided tour).
I would love to come back sometime for the “Tour Through Time” costumed experience sometime in the future.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank fincaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 7, 2019 via mobile

There is plenty to keep everyone occupied with lots of fun and entertainment at the interactive centre. Hands on learning approach and interesting facts about the Canadian history in the area of New Brunswick - definitely worth a visit.
There are also additional activities to discover on Beaubears island and to enjoy such as guided walking tours, boats tours etc
ferry times are frequent but only in the summer months check ahead of planning a trip

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank Worldtravelinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

Canoeing on the Miramichi River around Beaubears Island on a beautiful day was wonderful. The two guides were friendly and very knowledgeable. Their stories made history come alive. We even saw a red fox and two bald eagles. The interpretive centre reinforced their stories.
Several weeks ago we also attended the Peter Mitchell picnic on the island. The food was great and the historical characters attending in period costumes was a bonus.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank 555beverlyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to the interpretive Centre and to Beaubears Island. The interpretive centre is worthy of a good hour's visit, alone. The guides all did a great job, those in costume, and those you weren't. Sean, the director, was very accommodating, as he tried to sort out the errors that were made when I booked and paid for my tour tickets online. That was the only glitch in what was a wonderful experience. The boat ride to both islands was very enjoyable. You have to use your imagination, when you visit the island. Close your eyes, listen to the guide and the costumed characters. Picture what Beaubears would have looked like as a bustling shipbuilding community, back in the 1800s. Or picture the poor Acadians and their plight, when they were left to starve at Wilson's Point, after having escaped the Deportation of 1755. I commend the Friends of Beaubears Island for their devotion to preserving our local history and making it come alive for the benefit of us all. I will return!!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews