We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual drive from Bangor & central location for day trips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 St. Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Casual drive from Bangor & central location for day trips”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This was the first night of a 12 day road trip. We fly into Bangor Maine and this B & B was only a nice 2 hour drive. David was very helpful with directions and prior to arriving he provided a great list of things to do.
I don't do stairs well and arranged for the queen bedroom on the ground floor. Very nice and quite. Sunny and there are room darkening shades.

Breakfast is served early for us and we asked David, the host, to wake us as late as possible for the last sitting at 9. He forgot and didn't wake us til 9:30. Fine by us after a long day of travel. Dick had a breakfast of traditional English mixed grill and I had the local wild-blueberry pancakes with maple syrup and a fresh fruit cup LOVELY. The food was fresh and yummy and the service excellent.

The house is a bit tired.. however quite comfortable. When we stay at a B & B that is circa 1860 that's expected. It adds to the ambiance. No cobwebs or dust bunnies, fresh linens, adequate bathroom and reasonable rate. We enjoyed our stay.

A road trip is about spending as much, or as little, time as you like in a place and this B & B is in a very central location so we stayed another night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
90
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

At the end of a 12 hour journey, we pulled into the Blair House. David welcomed us and gently helped us get settled in. Tea and cookies awaited in the cozy sitting room. The bedroom was lovely and comfortable with an excellent shower. An elegant breakfast included fresh fruit and gluten-free blueberry pancakes (a special perk for me). Believe all of the other comments. This is where you want to stay if you are passing through. The hosts truly go the extra mile to be available and personalize your stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily5754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The hosts were very friendly and helpful, and gave us good advice about local dining (downtown is about a 10 minute walk away at a leisurely pace). My room was attractive, comfortable and well-kept. I enjoyed evening tea with the hosts and other guests - we had a nice time talking about the house's history and everyone's travels. Breakfast was great - fresh and delicious in a sunny dining area.

This was my first B&B experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat. I heartily recommend Blair House!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcd614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Wow. First, the hosts, David and Judy, are delightful. Second, the house is beautiful. Third, the bed was the most comfortable ever, in a beautiful room, with a view of the river. The house is in a quiet residential neighborhood but within easy walking distance (two blocks) of many eateries and shops and the visitor information center for the town. There was a "tea" at 9:00 PM so guests could eat cookies and meet each other if they wanted to. That was a nice touch. My motorcylcle developed mechanical problems, and David offered the use of his tools- he didn't have to do that. I would go back there like a shot. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, OH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Five of us recently traveled from OH via motorcycles (quiet ones!) to Nova Scotia and on the return leg stayed at the Blair House. We were always made to feel completely at home by the hosts, David & Judy, as if we were long time friends who'd come to visit. The inside of the house and bedrooms are beautifully furnished. There are plenty of nice eateries within easy walking distance and all in our group loved the evening social hour where guests gathered in the front room for tea & cookies. Breakfast the next morning was simply delicious with an elegant presentation. My only regret is that we couldn't spend more time at Blair House! Thank you David & Judy for a fantastic experience.

T. Konya
Ohio

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I have to begin by saying that David was a genuinely wonderful host. He was extremely pleasant and made you feel most welcome. Overall we had a pleasant stay, our room was a little tired but sufficient for a one night stay. It was within easy walking distance to town. A delicious breakfast was served in the lovely dining room and most importantly you were offered a choice of what you wanted to eat. My husband couldn't make it in for breakfast however they kindly made him up something to have in the room. Our only gripe would be that our room was on the ground floor opposite the lounge area. It was a nice gesture to have drinks and cookies available in the lounge for guests however it meant that we could here the chatting until after 10:30pm. I guess this wouldn't have been a problem if it wasn't the one night we had hoped for a quiet night in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wooforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
294 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I have stayed at numberous B&Bs. This is one of the few where I do not have any suggestions for improvements. Just be sure to make your reservations early enought to get a room. Katie was our hostess and she could not have been more helpful wth things to see and places to eat. Great room, great location very accomodating excellent breakfast, the day that we were there they had three different choices.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nighthawk779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Stephen
1.0 km away
Winsome Inn
Winsome Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
17.2 km away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.3 km away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 7 in St. Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Casa Breeze Inn
Casa Breeze Inn
#2 of 7 in St. Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.2 km away
Scoodic Motel
Scoodic Motel
#3 of 7 in St. Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
21.1 km away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn

Property: Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
Address: 38 Prince William St, St. Stephen, New Brunswick E3L 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Stephen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay of Fundy starts here in southwestern New Brunswick, Canada. Blair House welcomes you to St. Stephen - Canada's chocolate town and gateway to Atlantic Canada and New England. Canada Select 4-Star Bed & Breakfast. A choice of five bedrooms with reasonable rates in a quiet central location makes inviting family, friends or business clients easy. Bedrooms feature private ensuite bathrooms, free secure Wi-Fi, air-conditioning (Summer); and evening tea and a full-cooked breakfast in the morning. Experience 25 ft. tides on the St. Croix River just below our home. Enjoy the warmth and hospitality of a British-style B & B with the personal privacy appreciated at an Inn or hotel. Conveniently located in a quiet town setting just across the St. Croix river from Calais, Maine. A relaxing stop-over along the Bay of Fundy coastal scenic drive on your way to and from points east in Atlantic Canada and south in to New England. In 2015 we are celebrating our 28th season welcoming guests from around the world to our bed and breakfast in southwestern New Brunswick. Friendly service, a relaxing atmosphere in comfortable surroundings, plus memorable breakfasts and evening tea are features that draw old friends back to Blair House year after year. A leisurely one-hour morning drive to Saint John and the Digby ferry. A convenient stop-over to and from Hopewell Rocks and Fundy National Park; the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island; Halifax, Nova Scotia; Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island; and the ferry to Newfoundland & Labrador. Take an extra day or two to enjoy a variety of sights and activities along our Charlotte Coastal Region. After a relaxing stay with us, try other B & B's in New Brunswick. We are a pleasant alternative for those traveling on business. Ask about multi-night stay savings. Our home is smoke-free inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn St. Stephen, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing