We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Relaxing outdoor trail

Nice peaceful surrounding. We were able to see wild animals native to the NL. The boardwalk around... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2018
oshanth
,
Brampton, Canada
Family Outing

My wife and I along with our son, his wife and our grand son visited this nature site. It consists... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2018
Keon14
,
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Read all 76 reviews
  
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
51
20
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
20
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snowy owl wild animals lovely boardwalk boardwalk trail arctic fox nice walk board walk visitor center has local wildlife bald eagles every summer great horned owl irish loop worth the trip interesting displays forested area two hours
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 76 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I really enjoyed the comfort of walking along the board walk and viewing wildlife which couldn't survive in the wild. Favourite for me was the Great Horned Owl because one was perched right by the fence for a really close look.

Date of experience: June 2012
1  Thank PenAllen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Salmonier Nature Park rehabilitates animals that are native to this area. They have a hike which is mostly (all!) boardwalk and you can go through and, hopefully, see many animals. It is NOT a zoo. Animals can hide or be out of your visual range if they choose. They do, however, have moose, caribou, lynx, owls, eagles, martins and fox. The range of animals may change depending on who they get that needs protection and care.

We were there in the afternoon and it is a very nice hike for about an hour or an hour and a half. They have a center from which you start the hike, and the upstairs part of the center has a polar bear and brown bear with information about each animal.
This is a very interesting stop and we enjoyed it. There is no entry fee. Snacks can be had at the nature center at the entrance.

Date of experience: August 2011
3  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Warm day with lots of sun so we were told up front that most nothern animals would be in hiding. I think we saw just about everything from bald eagles to a moose. Never expected something like this in Newfoundland.

Date of experience: September 2011
Thank Jacob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We visited a couple of years ago, but just reviewing the park now. It was a fascinating place and my wife & I spent a couple of hours there watching the wildlife. There is a nice trail that takes you through the park to see the animals, most of which were injured or abandoned and have found a new home at the park. Great work!

Date of experience: August 2010
Thank wloo_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This park has nice trails and a great variety of native animals and landscapes. It has some great areas to take picturew with great backrounds. Go there and enjoy!

Date of experience: August 2010
1  Thank Dan-Hfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews