We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
60
56
10
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
56
10
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bonavista peninsula skerwink trail bedroom suite walking distance minute drive visiting port beautiful place to stay stay there again ocean view trinity area brewery deck cottage privacy accommodations cove comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 137 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed there with three kids, and it was just perfect: a large suite with two bedrooms, kitchenete, equipped with stove, fridge, dishes etc. Amazing value for the low price. Everything was clean, so quiet, and the staff friendly and welcoming. I wish we could have stayed there more than one night, but we wanted to see as much as we can of This wonderful island.
Also, great location: a grocy nearby, and 10 minutes away from lovely Trinity bay, beautiful Bonavista and amazing Elliston where you can see hundreds of puffins just a few meters away, some of them so close you can almost touch them.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

as others have stated, this is not a fancy place but clean and good value. we stayed two nights in the motel unit and yet were still able to make our own breakfast. internet is spotty but better in the office area. easy access to Trinity and Bonavista.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank aml_montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We had a reservation for three nights but liked Port Rexton so much and were so relaxed and comfortble at the Sherwood Suites that we stayed an extra night. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. Convenient kitchen, very comfortable beds, handy laundry facilities. Very close to all the great things the Bonavista Penninsula has to offer. Highly recommended and I hope to return next year. This is a great deal, for the price of one room at a hotel you get loads of space and can cook your own food. What a deal!

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

As others have stated, this is a low cost option for staying in the Trinity region. However, that just means the other accommodations in the region are steeply priced. The Sherwood Suites reminded me more of a cottage I would use on a fishing expedition, not a sight-seeing adventure.

My advice is to make Trinity a day trip and stay in another location where prices are more reasonable.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freeamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Sherwood Suites is a good option if you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay in the Trinity Bight area.

LOCATION: Located in Port Rexton, minutes from the Skerwink Trail. Port Rexton is around the bay from historic Trinity (about a 15 min drive). Very close to a gas station/store which had groceries, alcohol/beer, etc. This is a great place to stay if you are looking for accomodation near Skerwink Trail.

ROOM: We stayed in a one-bedroom room in the motel part of the property. They also have several cabins (most are 2-bedroom). It was no frills, but clean. While the cabins have a full kitchen, our motel room had a microwave and a bar fridge. For $69/night, it was a great vallue.

BATHROOM: Again, clean with no frills.

PARKING: Ample off road parking. This is a large property.

OTHER: The property is very large with several cabins and buildings. They have picnic tables, horseshoes pits, etc. We did not use any of these but they are available. The owner was very nice and actually was the person that started the Skerwink Trail. He told us he was hiking out there one day and realized that it was just as nice as the hikes 'out west' aka Gros Morne etc. so he, along with many other members of the community, started developing the trail (signage, etc.) to make it more accessible to tourists.

OVERALL: Definitely recommend if you are looking for a low-cost, clean place to stay in this part of Newfoundland.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KPat31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews