We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise on a gloomy day”

Two Whales Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Port Rexton
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Two Whales is a small, family run, independent coffee shop and restaurant overlooking Robin Hood Bay in the small township of Port Rexton on the Bonavista Peninsula. This is our 13th season in business and our reputation grows every year. According to many of our customers we serve the best espresso coffees on the island . We serve a range of premium teas and soft drinks including our special homemade organic lemonade. Part of our philosophy is that we do not serve anything that we will not eat or drink ourselves. We serve delicious, healthy vegetarian food and yummy cakes. We use as much organic and/or locally sourced ingredients as we can, make and bake just about everything ourselves in our own kitchen and take great care in what we do.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Occasionally, when travelling around we have stumbled upon a special place - 2 Whales was one of those surprises that brightens a dull day. The location is great - a good view from the windows. Service friendly and the stance regarding sustainability and fair-trade a real bonus.

The food was both delicious and wholesome, ideal for the weather and to warm the spirit.

The memory of cheesecake with partridge berry topping will live with me for a long while.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank richardloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 350 of 356 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

The food here was amazing. Hearty and healthy, we both had soup and a sandwich. Of course, we then ruined the healthy part by having a delicious desert! Our waitress was very friendly as well.

Just a note: this is a great place to go if you have special dietary needs. They cater to gluten-free, dairy-free and any number of other requirements.

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I was very surprised to find this small coffee shop on the way to our travel to Bonavista this summer. Out of no where you see this small house on the side of the road. Curious as to what they would offer fare-wise, we decided to stop for a coffee. What a surprise! We walk in and see this woman with a kerchief on her head and an apron, baking. We all ordered the humpback brownies, as they looked so good. Let me tell you, they were delicous! Their coffee was excellent too! I saw that they also have dinner theme nights, which we were interested in checking it out on our way back, but did not have the time to do so. Overall a wonderful stop on the way to Bonavista!

Date of visit: July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Elinor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Great eco-friendly and homemade baked goods!! Amazing view, artwork and friendly staff. I loved the tea, paninis and blueberry apple cake!! Kudos to the owner for restoring and keeping this beautiful property!

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 11daisy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our family visited not once but both days that we visited in Port Rexton. Great Homemade Bagels and a great selection of Teas and Coffees. As It would be hard to find a better cup of tea anywhere I am an avid tea drinker and I believe it would be hard to find a better cup of tea anywhere. There looked to be a great selection of paninis which we would have liked to try but it was a tad early, however, we did have the Chocolate Brownies at 10 am and they did not disappoint!

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BPCGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Two Whales Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Trinity, Newfoundland
 

Been to Two Whales Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.