We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
321
60
14
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
321
60
14
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 403 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We have dropped in at Fishers' Loft from time to time but never stayed there until now. It certainly lives up to its reputation in all respects. We had a room in one of the several additional houses that have added to the inn since its opening. The room was as tastefully furnished as those in the main building, with traditionally styled furniture by Patterson, but all modern conveniences including flat screen TV artfully concealed in a a repro antique wardrobe. The evening meal was prepared with local produce, including vegetables from the inn's prolific garden and greenhouse. The only slightly negative comment was that some of the food combinations were a little discordant, perhaps because of the chef's wish to feature Newfoundland items, but this may be only a matter of acquiring a particular taste. All in all, the inn provided a memorable experience, especially with the views which, on a clear day, are truly unsurpassed.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcgillprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a wonderful gem on the Bonavista Peninsula. We stayed 2 nights in the Hilltop Suite - a lovely room with fantastic views of the ocean. The room has a separate living area from the bedroom and is artfully decorated with local pieces.

We enjoyed breakfast one morning and the 4 course gourmet dinner one evening and both were excellent and well worth the money.

Extra amenities such as binoculars were used and we forgot to bring the flashlight with us to dinner the one evening but still found our way in the dark back to the top of the hill.

The staff were excellent and always accommodating. Overall a FABULOUS spot to stay - I wish we could have stayed longer! Sitting on the main house porch in the morning with the sun rising over the ocean = a wonderful way to start your day.

Room tip: I don't know about the other rooms but our Hilltop Suite was fantastic for views and privacy.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiantravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is the kind of inn that you dream about. First class in every way. We were in room 14 in the Mansard House, a huge room with gorgeous views in 3 directions. Dinner was outstanding, with local produce and fresh fish, breakfast was equally wonderful. I wish we could find a guide that would help us find inns like this!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2011

All those good reviews on Trip Advisor aren't rwong. This really is as good as they say!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a great inn. It is professionally run, by a team of excellent folk in all regards. The location is wonderful, the rooms just as needed, the common rooms are lovely, the recommendations for whale watching (we were told to use Chris and Shawna at Sea of Whales "they will find whales for you" and they did - fantastic!) and and the restaurant really is absolutely excellent - aided by its ability to source from its own garden immediately next to the kitchen. We are all really looking forward to going back. Altogether an absolutely perfect place, in keeping with Newfoundland's welcoming spirit, and we are looking forward to an opportunity to return.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divesearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews