We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
325
60
14
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
325
60
14
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 407 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This inn was a splurge, and I'm really glad we spent a bit more. The experience here was amazing! The setting was like a fairy tale -- exactly how I pictured the outport communities to look. We often sat outside and watched the ocean. I spotted harbour porpoises from a nearby cliff! The other great thing about the inn was the food. Dinner was delicious but a little expensive for us (we were on a budget), but breakfasts were amazing. They even had gluten-free alternatives. The service was also amazing. We never wanted to leave!

Room tip: I would ask for a room looking down the hill towards the ocean. The view made this place!
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We have dropped in at Fishers' Loft from time to time but never stayed there until now. It certainly lives up to its reputation in all respects. We had a room in one of the several additional houses that have added to the inn since its opening. The room was as tastefully furnished as those in the main building, with traditionally styled furniture by Patterson, but all modern conveniences including flat screen TV artfully concealed in a a repro antique wardrobe. The evening meal was prepared with local produce, including vegetables from the inn's prolific garden and greenhouse. The only slightly negative comment was that some of the food combinations were a little discordant, perhaps because of the chef's wish to feature Newfoundland items, but this may be only a matter of acquiring a particular taste. All in all, the inn provided a memorable experience, especially with the views which, on a clear day, are truly unsurpassed.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcgillprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a wonderful gem on the Bonavista Peninsula. We stayed 2 nights in the Hilltop Suite - a lovely room with fantastic views of the ocean. The room has a separate living area from the bedroom and is artfully decorated with local pieces.

We enjoyed breakfast one morning and the 4 course gourmet dinner one evening and both were excellent and well worth the money.

Extra amenities such as binoculars were used and we forgot to bring the flashlight with us to dinner the one evening but still found our way in the dark back to the top of the hill.

The staff were excellent and always accommodating. Overall a FABULOUS spot to stay - I wish we could have stayed longer! Sitting on the main house porch in the morning with the sun rising over the ocean = a wonderful way to start your day.

Room tip: I don't know about the other rooms but our Hilltop Suite was fantastic for views and privacy.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiantravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is the kind of inn that you dream about. First class in every way. We were in room 14 in the Mansard House, a huge room with gorgeous views in 3 directions. Dinner was outstanding, with local produce and fresh fish, breakfast was equally wonderful. I wish we could find a guide that would help us find inns like this!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

All those good reviews on Trip Advisor aren't rwong. This really is as good as they say!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews