We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R & R”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Rexton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Rexton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Our room was delightful - even though my husband felt like a Hobbit because of the sloped bathroom ceiling. The rooms have been renovated but they still have kept the old time down home feel of Newfoundland outport housing. We took advantage of the Adirondack chairs (and the binoculars supplied in our room) out in the meadow to sit and watch the whales feeding in the cove. A bald eagle even flew overhead to welcome us. Our room was supplied with books written by Newfoundlanders, tourism materials, bathrobes, glasses and snacks - everything you need to feel at home. It was fun to explore the many buildings on the property as well. Our only regret was not being able to take in a meal at the Loft's dining room.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor Garden Room facing the road but never heard a sound - other than the birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

A stay at the Fishers' Loft is a Master Class in seaside comfort and charm. Everything about this place is right: the setting, the views, the food, the rooms, and the staff all combine to make for an absolutely perfect stay! Down beds, hand-crafted furnishings and luxury amenities; beautiful gardens and naturalized pathways that beckon you forth into lovely Port Rexton and the surrounding countryside; and a proper porch with rocking chairs which is ideal for sitting and watching the world go by for a quiet while. And as for the dining room... a special shout-out to the Inn staff who went out into the Bonavista hillsides the afternoon before to pick the wild blueberries for morning crepes... they were incredible. Thank you to Peggy and your entire family for your vision which has resulted in this perfect gem. And thank you to ALL of your staff for making our time there nothing shy of perfect!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

A lot of different houses to stay in, on various parts of the property. The houses are located on a hillside above a quiet bay. The vista provides a great location for wonderful sunrise photography.
The staff of the inn were incredibly helpful and accommodating. There were also touches of a spa.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GoldenDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

You have to be very fit to stay here as the paths are steep and rough. Rooms are interesting and clean but not luxurious (which would be suggested by the incredible cost of a room). As an early morning person, I wished that our room had coffee making facility in the room (we brought our own). Breakfast was a set menu. Staff were helpful and friendly.

After eating dinner the first night - where the entre was horridly overspiced and greasy, we chose to find meals elsewhere. Which was somewhat difficult given that Port Rexton is mid way between Trinity and Bonavista.

Before you take advantage of the laundry service, check the price. We spent over $40.00 on a load of laundry.

Room Tip: If you have any issues with mobility, this location is inappropriate. Paths are steep and rough, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We spent 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a room with a king bed in the same building that housed the reception desk which was great. It was a very quick five minute walk to the dining room where we enjoyed our breakfasts and our dinners. The food is excellent and beautifully served. This is a family run inn and clearly the staff love what they do. What really makes the place are the views and the setting which are absolutely beautiful . Both my husband and I felt that we had really found a little slice of heaven.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sugabtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We had an incredible one night stay at this beautiful high end getaway. The room was luxurious, clean, and so very quiet. The dinner was exquisite. The staff were friendly and helpful. I did find the breakfast a bit overpriced but everything else was worth the splurge!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cbmd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed for 4 nights at Fisher's Loft in a suite since we had our 15 year old daughter with us. The suite was just as expected...clean, beautiful furnishings, bedding and amenities 5 star.
The view from the Inn, which is perched on a hill is breathtaking, and enjoying wine in the evenings lounging on a Muskoka chair or Rocker, while absorbing an absolutely fantastic sunset is to 'die for'.
Peggy is there to chat at every Breakfast and I encourage everyone to book breakfast...it is wonderful!
I also encourage everyone to book at least one dinner...it is well worth every penny!
We met wonderful folks while at the Inn and the short hike to the famous Skerwink trail was an advantage. We did the fabulous trail twice...a not to be missed experience!
I can see why Peggy and John traded hectic lives in Toronto for life here on the Trinity/Bonaventure coast in Nfld.
It's Heaven!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gotch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Rexton
2.7 km away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
308 reviews
34 km away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
129 reviews
0.6 km away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
#1 of 1 in Port Rexton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove

Address: Mill Road, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador AOC 2HO, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Rexton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Rexton
Price Range: $110 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Fishers` Loft Inn By Ship Cove Hotel Port Rexton
Fishers' Loft Inn By Ship Cove Port Rexton, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing