We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and pleasant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Rexton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Rexton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint and pleasant”
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

The room was a bit of a disappointment. To small and a bit nosiy in the morning. The views from the room is amazing The ac was not working properly. Would reccomed a suite in the lower complex. The food was good. Overall an enjoyable experience. The area is amazing. Lots to see and do. Trinity is always such a treat.

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    47
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
214
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colborne, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I stayed at Fishers' Loft for 6 days as a participant in the "Growing the Voices" retreat. The setting is jaw-droppingly gorgeous,( even in the rain & fog,) the decor and furnishings are simply elegant and comfortable, and the meals outstanding. I was particularly grateful for the attention given to my dietary restrictions, enabling me to feel up to the intense rehearsal schedules, not to mention climbing up and down the hills between the various buildings. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. Walking poles and umbrellas were available so you don't need to take your own in checked baggage like I did. The only thing I missed was tea/coffee making facilities in my room. I would definitely recommend this inn to friends and I hope to visit again!

Stayed October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I was visiting NL from BC Canada. Staying at Fisher's loft Inn was a great experience, the staff very gracious & the setting on the hillside above Ship Cove so picturesque! I was tempted out at dawn to photograph the incredible light & views! The hotel rooms/dining room & lounge located in a set of renovated houses make a stay here unique!
Also in very close proximity are the new Port Rexton Brewery & the fabulous Skerwink Trail!

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aletad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at the Fishers Loft Inn numerous times and I'm always impressed by the entire experience.

The upkeep on the property is so good that the place always looks new.

Doesn't matter what room you get, they are all great. Good beds, stylish decor, great care to details. Nice bathrooms.

As for the food, the dinners are always well prepared and breakfast will satisfy everyone.

Great trails to hike and on rainy days you can curl up with a book in the main building and converse with the other guests.

Views are incredible, and on a nice sunny days you can sit back on the outside patio and enjoy the scenery.

If you get the chance, go here, you'll enjoy the experience!

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Global4755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

My husband and I stayed here on a recommendation from Artisans Inn as many other options in the area were fully booked. Fishers Loft had just one room available and it was perfect for our needs. It was a suite on the entire top floor of the building that houses the dining room. The views were breathtaking with windows on three sides! There was even a pair of binoculars in the room to enhance your viewing experience.

The highlight of our stay was watching the sunset from the covered front porch. Here we enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine (our own) as we took in the expansive 180+ degree views. We enjoyed dinner in the evening and the food was good quality. The evening menu is set but does have a couple of options that you pre select from when checking-in. Waiting staff were very professional and efficient. Breakfast was good and set us up for a morning of exploring the Skerwink Trail.

Upon checkout there was no warmth from the receptionist. She was efficient in the process but never once made any reference to our stay or asked how it was. This left us with a disappointing last impression. Although our overall stay was enjoyable, given the cost we would certainly explore other accommodation options before choosing to stay again. With accommodation, dinner, 2 glasses of wine, and breakfast our bill was in the region of $535. We found it a little pricey but on the flipside there are not too many places around with the breathtaking view that Fishers Loft affords.

Room Tip: Choose a water view room - breathtaking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleLeafwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We visited here in September when the weather is nice. Accommodation and food were of a very good standard with locally caught fish/seafood the speciality. Staff were all locals & very friendly. Its a quirky set up with the Bedrooms and Dining Room in different buildings. We had an interesting trip back to our room after a few glasses of wine, which just added to the experience. The views are stunning and we liked to sit out and watch sunset (blankets required!) Forget the suncream here and bring your hiking boots. There are plenty of things to do nearby if you like nature.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

What so many have already said, just lovely. Particularly want to acknowledge the professionalism of the owner, you know she is truly interested in client service. So welcoming right from the first phone call. We were there so late in the season but were provided the same service as if the resort was in peak operation. Stunning view of the ocean and landscape. Wonderful artwork, gardens and food. Photographers dream.

Stayed October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Rexton
0.8 km away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
#1 of 1 in Port Rexton
57 reviews
2.7 km away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
38 reviews
18.6 km away
The View Golf Resort
The View Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeton
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#2 of 2 in Elliston
36 reviews
2.7 km away
Bishop White Manor
Bishop White Manor
#9 of 11 in Trinity
42 reviews
35.7 km away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove

Property: Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Address: Mill Road, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador AOC 2HO, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Rexton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Rexton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Fishers` Loft Inn By Ship Cove Hotel Port Rexton
Fishers' Loft Inn By Ship Cove Port Rexton, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing