We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rugged Beauty Boat Tours - CLOSED
Review Highlights
Awesome boat trip!

What a delightful few hours. Bruce was sooooo entertaining with his knowledge of the local history... read more

Reviewed September 27, 2019
Mar M
,
Sauble Beach, Canada
A Wrinkle In Time

I did not know what to expect when we arrived to Rugged Beauty Boat Tours as this was my first time... read more

Reviewed September 27, 2019
Jennisa V
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
Read all 429 reviews
  
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
423
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
423
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 429 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2019

What a delightful few hours. Bruce was sooooo entertaining with his knowledge of the local history, the fishing industry and providing pictures of people and places of days gone by. Nice boat, beautiful scenery and a stop for tea and a break at his cabin! Would take this tour again in a heartbeat.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Mar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BruceM2411, Manager at Rugged Beauty Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2019

It was a pleasure meeting you.
So happy to hear you enjoyed the boat tour on the history on these long lost resettled communities and our cod fishery past and present.

The stop over at the cabin for tea always adds warmth to the tour and all guest really enjoy it.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Rugged Beauty Boat Tours with this excellent review.
All the best, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

I did not know what to expect when we arrived to Rugged Beauty Boat Tours as this was my first time to Newfoundland. We were immediately greeted by Bruce’s friendly face and warm demeanor. He began his tour by taking us back to his childhood and took us on a journey back in time. What Bruce does is a dying art form - it’s the gift of sharing knowledge and stories and love. If I could give Bruce more than 5 stars because my wish would be to preserve his treasures.

Bruce, thank you for allowing us a glimpse into an indelible part of Canadian history and for the gifts 😊

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jennisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BruceM2411, Manager at Rugged Beauty Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2019

It was a pleasure meeting you Jennisa:
So happy to hear that you enjoyed the boat tour on the history of these long lost resettled communities and on the past and present of our cod fishery. It is a story like no other and one that I have a great passion for..

Considering the tour more than a five star is quite the compliment.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Rugged Beauty Boat Tours with such an excellent review.

All the best, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Went out with Bruce early this September with my wife. Wasn't sure what to expect but we were very impressed. Bruce is a great guy with a big heart and is very passionate about Newfoundland history. He will share stories and photos of his family and the resettlement communities while showing you the area. As a bonus he'll take you to his cottage and share coffee/tea with you. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone in the Trinity area. Also, go to Joe's Bar after for a beer and some moose stew!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BruceM2411, General Manager at Rugged Beauty Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

It was a pleasure meeting you both.
So happy to hear you enjoyed the boat tour on the history of these long lost resettled communities and of our cod fishery past and present. I have great passion for my family roots.

The stop over at the cabin always brings warmth from a trip on the water and all our guest really enjoy it.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Rugged Beauty Boat Tours with this excellent review.
All the best, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

An awesome Sunday afternoon adventure with Captain Bruce Miller. We thoroughly enjoyed our excursion ‘round the bay. It was an awesome and relaxing afternoon and Captain Bruce was in no hurry to end our trip. I think the more we enjoyed it the more the Captain wanted to keep on going! We visited resettled communities and Captain Bruce had many a tale to tell. Those pictures that he showed us of the resettled communities when in their heyday were just awesome to see and the Captain showed us where those houses and fishing stages once stood. Captain Bruce should’ve been a history teacher. He brought those communities to life. The mug up at his beautiful cabin was wonderful with tea and Bernice’s homemade jam. Felt more like friends really. Just when we thought the tour was about to end the Captain asked if anyone was in a hurry to get back and the next thing I knew I was fishing for cod!! Got the first one!! So exciting!! If ever there was a man with patience and kindness it was our Captain.
Sadly we had to return to shore where Captain Bruce filleted our catch. Bagged it and sent us on our merry way. Our three hour tour was actually more like four and a half hours from start to finish. The Captain made sure we got our money’s worth and then some!
If the Captain will have us we’ll definitely be back! 😉

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank christinebO4561EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BruceM2411, Manager at Rugged Beauty Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

it was a pleasure meeting you both and so happy to hear you enjoyed the boat tour on the history of these long lost communities and our cod fishery past and present.

The stop over at the cabin always adds warmth to the tour and guest surely enjoy it.
The stop to cod fish was indeed a bonus because it is not a part of our regular daily tours.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Rugged Beauty Boat Tours with this excellent review.
All the best, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2019

Thanks so much Bruce for taking the time to do this with us! Keep up the great work! From Amanda, Ken, and Noah!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Saucybugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BruceM2411, Manager at Rugged Beauty Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Amanda, Ken and Noah it was a pleasure to have you and other members of your family on the tour. Love it when those that grew up here have an interest in taking the tour and hearing what I have a passion for, stories on resettlement.
So happy to hear you all enjoyed the tour on the history of these long lost communities and on our cod fishery past and present.

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with Rugged Beauty Boat Tours with this wonderful review.
All the best, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews