We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$88
Hotels.comUS$88
Booking.comUS$88
eDreamsUS$88
CheapTicketsUS$88
TravelocityUS$88
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
71
109
67
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
71
109
67
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast cabot trail fried chicken picnic tables yogurt dining hall minute drive dining room beautiful view clean rooms cape breton coffee maker mini fridge convenient location comfortable stay spent nights motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 285 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2020

I promise you, you will NOT regret your stay at the Trailsman Lodge.

The owner, Maq, has been so extremely helpful from our booking to our final departure. We had completed our booking over the phone and he reassured me that we would have a room with a view. And a view he was right!

We were travelling from Halifax to Baddeck and it was about a 5 hour bus ride so we were extremely tired and just wanted to sleep in the next couple of days we were there. But because of the BEAUTIFUL view, we just had to catch the sunrise. It was absolutely stunning. The hotel/ lodge is right by the lake and there were chairs and picnic tables available to sit on and just soak the sunrise in with a coffee or tea in hand.

There were extra blankets available in the room to use, so we used that to keep warm as it gets really chilly in the early morning.

Maq was also extremely kind in picking up and dropping off my friend and I up from our bus stop, which was about a 5 minute drive away. He was under no obligation to but made sure to take care of us as we didn't have access to a car.

Breakfast started at 8am, and you have your breads, muffins, fruit, yogurts, cereal, milk, butters and jams, oatmeal, eggs, sausages, hash browns, coffee (and decaf). It was really all you need to have a great breakfast to start your day off right (mind you, you still got a great view and the sun really peeps through the windows of the dining hall).
Maq made sure to greet, and say good morning to, every guest that came into the dining room for breakfast. Went through the extra mile to ensure that stocks were maintained, while ensuring guests were happy and fed and stayed until breakfast was over.

We had dinner at the lodge, just before closing, after touring Cape Breton. My friend and I are from out of province and she says the fish and chips, she had at the Trailsman Lodge, was the best she's had since our trip to Nova Scotia. The fish was well breaded and the cut of fish was perfectly thick and did not taste dry.

The room was stunning. Compared to the typical hotel rooms you see in the city, the room we had at the Trailsman Lodge was quite spacious.

This was our last trip before heading back to Ontario and staying here was the perfect way to end it. The next time I visit Baddeck/ Cape Breton, I am DEFINITELY booking with the Trailsman Lodge & Restaurant. Maq, the location, the service, the room, our entire experience there has exceeded our expectations.

10/ 10 would recommend!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linlincastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2020 via mobile

The Trailsman Motel family run, friendly place with clean and quiet rooms, modern facilities, fantastic views of the lake, great breakfast and delicious East Asian food! The fried chicken is delicious too!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 500ajz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2020

A group of us, some on motorcycle some in cars, stayed at the Trailsman for 4 days while touring Cape Breton. This was an excellent central location to base out of. The owner was charming and ensured our every need was looked after. Breakfast far exceeded expectations for the price we paid!! Young employee Colin was always willing to help us out and was a great resource for the local area. I highly reccommend this motel, we will be back when in the area.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Camper42509075471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2020 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights in July. We were going to be placed in the rooms to the right of the office however after speaking with the staff member we were moved to the rooms to the left that were the motel section. The motel section rooms were updated with a drive up, so you had a door to enter your room from the back. Also they had an additional door that led out to the front where you had access to picnic tables and a water view. If we would have had to stay in the rooms to the right which were more of an outdated hotel set up, we probably wouldn’t have stayed. You do not have outdoor access in these rooms, and they haven’t been renovated. All rooms have A/C, and the rooms in the motel section (can’t remember the older section) had small fridges, tv, wifi, 4 piece bathrooms etc.

The price was reasonable for the rooms, and the location was only about 10 mins to Baddeck. They had a restaurant on-site which also included a breakfast. The food was okay, a little over priced. It was just something to start the day so you didn’t have to pay extra for breakfast. It was a buffet that included items like scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, cereal, muffins etc.

They have a fire chimney in front of the motel rooms that you can use but they don’t sell firewood. So if your interested, I’d suggest picking up firewood elsewhere.

There is a pool on site that was open while we there. It had both a shallow and deep end. It was kept clean and wasn’t very busy when we were there.

One recommendation to the owners would be to try and better deter the geese from coming here daily. There droppings were overtaking the grass in places and you had to keep dodging it every time you’d walk to the water or go to the fire pit.

We would recommend staying here if you are looking to get out and explore and need a clean place to sleep with a view, and if you get the motel section. Maybe others wouldn’t care about staying in the hotel side but we weren’t interested.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Justtravelling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2020

We booked this motel as part of a spur of the moment decision to do a road trip thru NS (we're from PEI), including the Cabot Trail. The Trailsman is situated about a minute from the start/end point of the Trail, which made it a prime candidate for our plans.

We had some minor difficulty locating the place; the signage could be better. But after passing by once, we realized we'd just missed it and turned around.

We checked in with no difficulty, proceeded to our room, and were stunned by the AMAZING lake view out our back door and window! This was certainly unexpected, as there was no hint of this view visible from the highway.

The room was clean and comfortable, with a mini fridge, coffee maker, and flat screen TV. A microwave would have come in handy, and the only con was that there was no guide or channel numbers visible on the TV.

The Trailsman also offers some really tasty fried chicken and some of the best poutine (with authentic "squeaky" cheese curds) we've ever had! The included breakfast was simple but filling with both hot and cold items.

The owner was friendly, welcoming, and had a personal hand in working the grounds and restaurant. We would definitely recommend this motel, and will be returning there ourselves on our next visit.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jenniferj181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews