We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Telegraph House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The room was very charming, decorated in a Victorian style. The bed were super comfortable. The room was supplied with a Keurig coffee machine with coffee pods. The fridge had cream and milk containers. The bathroom was clean and well-supplied. Several restaurants are close - well within walking distance. My only complaint was that they didn't supply tea.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gimmeabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Telegraph House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Sadly we only stayed at the Telegraph House and Motel for one night as we ended our Cabot Trail tour. I wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is so unique, quirky and perfectly located in the center of town, easy access to everything including a short walk to the Alexander Graham Bell historical site. Upon arrival we were given a room in the main house and, while beautiful and nicely decorated, we found it very small for a family of three adults. It would have been perfectly cozy for two. As well, the room lacked some of the amenities we enjoyed in other hotels such a small fridge and a coffee maker. The person at the desk instantly recommended the motel side of the hotel and we loved it as it was more suited to our needs. Three beds, a fridge and a coffee maker were included and the room was very spacious. The only negative is that there is no air conditioning but there is one ceiling fan and one extra desk fan. We were comfortable because the evening was cool but I would hesitate to sleep there on a hot night. Parking was also a problem, not a lot of space. We did not have a chance to dine at the house but had a fabulous dinner at the Lobster Supper Place not far from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel for a family provided the stay is at the motel side of the house which is more spacious and has more amenities. Be sure to ask about air conditioning during hotter months.

Room Tip: Motel side of the house is better for families. Ask about air conditioning.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank odysseus102754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had such a wonderful meal here tonight. My wife had crab cakes which were phenomenal, and our mains, chicken and tenderloin risotto, were just fantastic! The service was exceptional, and the atmosphere charming.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank vextorspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Tradition and history are the operative words here . Comfortable and cozy and old fashioned to my liking . The motel units up behind the house are comfortable . No air conditioning but fresh air and coolness at night made it very comfortable . Large screens on windows with no fear of leaving them open all night . Parking a bit of a problem if you are late arriving . We were early . Quaint ... No breakfast with room but was prepared ...Very central in Baddeck .small frig and coffee maker . Restaurant at main house and several nearby . This is an extremely popular establishment ...not cheap ...if you want ultra modern this isn't the place to come ..very relaxing . ..a good retreat in a very beautiful area of Cape Breton ... Never get tired of visiting Baddeck . ........

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 154976judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We had a beautiful room at the Telegraph house with a view off our balcony to match. We didn't have the pleasure of dining at the house as we arrived late in the evening but had a short walk to the Lobster Supper restaurant which topped off our one night stay in Baddeck. Wish we would have stayed one more night. Staff at the house were friendly and had great tips getting around the Cabot Trail. Please be sure to stay here and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank THERESA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Baddeck. The hotel is in a great location (right on the main street) with an awesome bakery right across the street for breakfast and coffee.

The hotel itself is older and I felt like I was staying in my grandmothers house because of the decor, however it was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful and was overall a very good experience to stay here. Would not hesitate to book again on a future trip.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank murz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped for 3 nights at this lovely place. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. Was originally booked into the house but switched to a motel room (larger and with fridge). No problem at all. Room is comfortable with porch to sit out on outside of room. Great location in heart of town. From here did Cabot Trail (7 hours), Alexander Graham Bell, hike to waterfall, trip to island, and music night at the hall. Also ate in their restaurant...delicious! Had lobster risotto and my husband had roast chicken. Highly recommend eating here. A great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank lnichol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.9 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
0.6 km away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
669 reviews
9.9 km away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
3.4 km away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
125 reviews
0.3 km away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph House Hotel

Address: 479 Chebucto Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: $114 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Telegraph House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Telegraph House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraph House Hotel Baddeck, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing