We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot”
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This property is a wee bit dated but it is in a grand location with a super view of the Bras d'Or lakes. The restaurant food was great; the service excellent. Nice quiet place. Internet did not work in our room so one had to pitch up in the lobby/ bar area for reception. Prices are in keeping with the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mort S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    261
    85
    26
    6
See reviews for
144
325
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed one night at the Silver Dart during the Celtic Colours fest. The resort itself is located a bit up a hill on a busy road and across the road from the lake. It is a charming lake resort with many amenties. Our room was in the main lodge. The room was a nice size, updated and clean. The outside patio/deck space with each room was nice to have. However, our room was on the lower level of the two story main building and one room in from the adjacent main building and in view of the restaurant. When we sat on the patio space we were with in feet of the restaurant windows and had no privacy. Also, the room on the lower level seemed damp. We paid full price for this room and for the money, I was very disappointed in the room because of the location in the main building. I would stay here again with discounted rate only.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DobyCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I implore anyone visiting Cape Breton to not stay in this hotel. Firstly, The staff were rude and not very helpful. It was a Friday night and we wanted to get a drink, but the staff made it very clear that Baddeck was a "dry town." Not ever hearing of such a thing in Canada I was shocked. They explained that we could drink in their bar, but no where else. The bar was empty, yet still the service was poor. The website stated there would be live entertainment, but there was none. Further to that, the staff cut us off after a single pint each, as if we were committing a crime. I felt like I was in the back roads of the deep south or something. Being from PEI, Im somewhat familiar with Cape Breton and had always thought of it as laid back, but this was not the impression the staff here gave us. Everything else about Cape Breton was great, and the Celtic Colours was excellent, however, this hotel was not a good first impression. To add to all of this, its not even a nice hotel. kinda looks like it hasnt changed in about 2 decades.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TylerC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverDartLodgeWes, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Tyler C75,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the miscommunication. You were in no way in violation of any local bylaws. We do however have provincial laws and company policies which prevent us from continuing to serve alcohol to customers who are inebriated. We have to take into consideration all of our guests' experience here at the lodge and we strive to offer a family friendly environment, unfortunately this was not what you were looking for. I agree 100% that we are not an appropriate choice for someone looking for a raucous party environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We purchased a night's stay on Groupon so procured a "cheap" night's stay. Thankfully. We stayed in one of the chalet's. When we first walked in we were pleasantly surprised. When we closed the door the musty smell began to invade our senses. As a Nova Scotian I am disappointed at what our lodgings have to offer. The location is beautiful and there is huge potential. The details are lost. Linens are old and tired. The mattress had seen better days and the tub had a leaky shower faucet without a proper curtain. Oddly, money had clearly been spent refurbishing the beautiful hardwood floors. Which is why, at first blush, the room held promise.

On a positive note, we truly enjoyed our meal. We had AMAZING service and the restaurant staff should be congratulated. We were invited by our waitress to an evening Ceiledh. No lack of hospitality whatsoever.

So....if you are looking for a place to get to know the local staff and be invited to a night out...this place is it!! If you want some luxuries look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

For a full review of a trip along the Cabot Trail, please view my blog at blog.wayte.ca

We chose the Silver Dart because of a Groupon deal that they had going on. It was a bargain price and included a full buffet breakfast.

We stayed in one of the Queen Chalet's along the back of the property. The chalets are pet friendly and we traveled with our 5 month old Golden Doodle.

The view from the chalet would be spectacular, unfortunately we were there during a massive rain storm and the fog was thick, but it was still beautiful. There are some well maintained walking trails in the forest behind the chalets, that took us about 30 minutes to go through.

There is a large open grassed area that our dog enjoyed running around on. They have a playground area, a basketball net and an outdoor pool as well.

The restaurant is open for breakfast and supper only. The supper was very good and they had a good variety of menu items. The buffet breakfast ($15 normally) was massive, and had something for everyone.

The room was clean, had hardwood floors and tile. It had a deck with a great view and a wood stove. We spoke with many different staff members and they were all very friendly, and made us feel welcome and enjoyed having our dog around.

Overall it was a great visit and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had the chalet, which were private duplexes. Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SecretSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had a couple of nights here in the main lodge and loved it. Good room, great view. Nice dining room overlooking the lake and we took advantage of the fixed price buffet, which was good value. Easy walk into Baddeck and very convenient for the Cape Breton trail. Make sure you visit the Alexander Graham Bell museum also - the creator of the Silver Dart itself!
We also took the opportunity to use the on site laundermat which was useful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormstown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

clean room, great staff,ex. view, very charming time,would stay there again

Room Tip: one facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ormstownquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
72.7 km away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
44.1 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.4 km away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
280 reviews
2.6 km away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
105 reviews
3.4 km away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Property: Silver Dart Lodge
Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing