We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
285
315
105
32
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
315
105
32
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east wing cabot trail great view cape breton dining room macneil house outdoor pool walking trails view of the lake bras d'or lake laundry facilities breakfast buffet nova scotia tour buses two nights bit dated comfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 743 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018

I was recently there with the Atlantic bus tour group. Our rooms, while not the most modern looking, had every modern convenience in them as well as being sparkling clean. The lawns, lawn chairs, sitting decks, pool are all great and the scenery is gourgeous. So restful and quiet. You can walk to their beach and swim there if you wish (no lifeguard). Staff were plentiful, helpful, polite and fun. The food, buffet for 2 dinners and two breakfasts, was deeeeelicious. It is a short 5 min. at the most drive from Baddeck. If you are walking to Baddeck you must walk along the highway. I would absolutely recommend this lovely place to anyone and it was better than some of the hotels we stayed in in larger cities.

Room tip: Best view is facing the lake.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Explore797052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thank you very much for your excellent review of your recent visit to Silver Dart Lodge! We truly enjoy getting comments from all our guests and hope you will return for another visit sometime in the future! Thank you again and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018

We stayed in this lovely lodge for two nights. The buildings sit up on a hill with an expansive lawn sporting red adirondack chairs where one can sit and enjoy the view of Bras D'Or Lake. Our room was in the original lodge, so older than some of the buildings, but clean, comfortable and attractive. The dining room offers a nice breakfast. We enjoyed their french toast. Dinner was also pleasant. The salmon was very good. The atmosphere of this resort makes you want to stay longer. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We were grateful for their laundry facilities.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DaveandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thank you for your fantastic review! I am so pleased you were able to enjoy the property facilities during your visit. I will pass along your nice comments to the Front Desk staff and hope that you will visit with us again when you are back in the area. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

We stayed just a night and I wish we had more time there. The lodge is on a large property with rooms in different buildings. Our room was in the East Wing and had a lake view. We were on the ground floor and had a 'back door' with a storm door that opens to the lawn facing the lake. There are two chairs just outside the room so you can sit outside.

The room is adequately equipped with a TV, Keurig coffee machine and a proper mini-fridge. The bathroom has a good shower head and hairdryer. The beds are comfortable and the pillows soft - it was my best sleep after sleeping in 3 different hotels prior to Silver Dart! Laundry facilities are in a building just across the East Wing. $3 for wash and $1 to dry, get change from the lobby.

There's a trail and pool on the property and a beach across the road. The town is just a few minutes' drive away.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kerry905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you will return on your next visit to the area! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018

We stayed here two nights and ate one dinner and two breakfasts in their dining room. The hotel itself is very spacious, clean and bright. There is a nice deck running the length of the building, but with all the window a/c units running it was too loud to be outside and enjoy the view. Our first night there a bus tour also stayed there, and in the morning all the tables with a view were reserved for those folks (not cool). The food was quite good but being shunted to a dark corner left a sour taste in my mouth. Our dinner the night previous was very good also. This hotel is not in the center of town; if I had realized Baddeck was such a busy little place I would've booked us something in town where we could walk around and explore. But it was only a mile or so out of town so we just drove in. It was very easy to get back on to the Cabot Trail from here. The helpful staff at the front desk gave us good tips on where to stop and explore, although the estimation of 6 hours to do the entire loop was not entirely accurate - to do the entire Trail in 6 hours would mean you hardly stop at all!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bbeeAlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write in about your experience on our property. Please accept my apologies regarding the Dining Room situation and the staff's estimate regarding the Cabot Trail. I will speak with them to ensure we give the best possible service whenever possible. We hope you will visit with us again on your next visit to Cape Breton Island! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018

This is the only place to stay when in Baddeck. There are a great many activities to occupy you on sight as well as a beautiful dining room and comfortable bar. The rooms were spacious and clean. Would definitely return here the next time in Nova Scotia.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phelman-Kech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property - we truly appreciate your kind words! Please visit with us again on your next visit to the area! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews