We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
285
315
105
32
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
315
105
32
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east wing cabot trail great view cape breton dining room macneil house outdoor pool walking trails view of the lake bras d'or lake laundry facilities breakfast buffet nova scotia tour buses two nights bit dated comfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 743 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2018

We spent three days at the Silver Dart during our travels in Nova Scotia. It was a great base for our adventures on the Cabot Trail, Louisbourg, and Baddeck itself (Alexander Graham Bell museum, ceilidh, etc). The check in person was so helpful about the area, telling us about the ceilidh, trail down to the water, laundry facilities (we needed them) and other great facts. The room was great (main house, window facing the water). We had breakfast in the hotel once (very good), drinks in the bar area, and just had a great time there.

Room Tip: Main lodge faces the water
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseM5055, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write in about your experience at our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope you will stay with us again. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018

We spent a night here whilst touring The Cabot Trail and we were very impressed. The room and facilities were spotless and they allowed our dog (Great Dane). It is not always easy to find lodgings with such a large canine even though she never makes a sound, we really appreciated this. The restaurant on site is super. We had salmon that was cooked to absolute perfection, as well as delicious salads and appetizers. Our compliments to the kitchen. Bravo! Thank you to Frazier for the excellent tableside service.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseM5055, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with your pet and that you enjoyed our dining room. We love to receive all feedback from our guests and truly appreciate your comments. I will certainly pass along your kind words to the staff. Thank you and we hope to see you again sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Our fourth stay at the Silver Dart Lodge. Beautiful views of lake from dinning room and most rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast buffet was OK, but needs variety if staying more than one or two nights. Wish they offered a breakfast menu to order from for a variety of item choices.

Room Tip: East Lodge and Main Lodge rooms are close to dinning room.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FlyingFish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseM5055, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thank you for your great review and your comments of your visit with us. It is wonderful to get guest feedback so we know where we can improve for all future guests. We usually do have a full breakfast menu as well as the buffet, however, we did offer just a large buffet breakfast during our Celtic Colours International Festival! I do hope it was not too much of an inconvenience. Please visit with us again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

This lodge is about 15 minutes walk from the main part of Baddeck but it's up on a hill with a wonderful view out of the lake. The rooms were comfortable. The food pleasant enough. The staff were helpful. The local rose on the wine list at the bar was delicious. We swam in both the pool and across the road in the lake and were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseM5055, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your great review of our property. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018

My room overlooked the Bras d'Or Lakes and the trees were beginning their autumn colors. This lodge was named after Alexander Graham Bell and associates first powered flight in Canada. I enjoyed morning hikes around the property twice with friends, once to the lake and another time through the woods. McCurdy's buffet was just wonderful with fruits, juices, bakery goods, oatmeal, eggs, bacon, etc. and the servers were ready to refill coffee at all times. Free wireless internet is available as is cable television.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank MariaP1779DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseM5055, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thank you for your excellent review of your visit with us. It is so wonderful to get feedback from our guests. Please stay with us again if you are ever back in the area. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews