We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
225
74
29
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
74
29
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn pinolibrary roomeast roomverandah suitebay roomother guestscape bretoncabot trailhot tublocal historygreat storiesalexander graham belleggs benedictplace to staystory tellingwealth of informationbaddeck bay
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 340 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017

We just returned from Nova Scotia and let me tell you this place made my trip that much more special. John the host is amazing! He loves to sit and chat tell stories and get to know you, where you're from and what you do. He gives you all kinds of suggestions on where to eat and shop.
We stayed in the Bute Aaron and let me tell you it was simply gorgeous! From the view to the cleanliness to the decorating it was amazing! There is nothing he left out in this cottage.
I will for sure be back! Loved the cottage so much I want to have one built here in Ontario.
Thanks John for making our vacation an excellent one!

Room Tip: choose the Bute Aaron Cabin it is gorgeous and private. The view is undescribable!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

We stayed five nights as a base for exploring Cape Breton and the Baddeck area. Our accommodation had its own deck, comfortable bedroom and good sized shower room. Breakfast was shared with other guests at a single sitting which we had some reservations about but actually worked very well. John the Inn Keeper has tremendous local knowledge and his enthusiasm is infectious, indeed it made our stay. We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sgcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Really enjoyed our stay here! We stayed in the Bay room which had a beautiful view. Our bathroom was very nice (just across the hall). The entire house has incredible finishes and you can tell how much pride John takes! The breakfast was delicious and the set up was great for talking to the other guest! I would highly recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dinopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

The Inn keeper John was one of the most knowledgeable and charismatic person we met on Cape Breton. He is part of the fabric of the community. He gives guests excellent directions and suggestions as well as history of area. The original part of Inn is historic and charming. This Inn sits on a slight rise above Baddeck Bay. View of Bay is partially blocked, being situated across road and with some water front houses in front. We stayed in the Breton room. This unit and the one to it’s right side are an add on to the original building. Our room was stark white with only one picture. The room’s furniture looks like it came from a thrift store. The big picture window that faces Baddeck Bay is fully blocked by a huge bush. Light in the bathroom is hocked to the exhaust fan and is loud. Bathroom lighting and counter space is very limited. Inn is about 5 minutes for Baddeck, thus you cannot walk to shops, restaurants, music hall, or harbor. Baddeck is a very nice village and we are glad we stayed in the area. Beddeck is a good jumping off point to go on or come off the Cabot Trail. Must sees in the area are: The Alexander Graham Bell historic site (close to Inn and village) and Louisburg Fortress ( ~1.5 hours), and of course the Cabot Trail. Baddeck has several good restaurants and a very picturesque lighthouse. The Inn unfortunately was not my favorite.

Room Tip: Benton room was spartan with blocked view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernpoultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeBretonMusic, Owner at Broadwater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

sorry that despite us sharing some interesting conversation, we don`t share decorating style.The sofa you have your roller bag wheels sitting on ???? is a month old as is the matching chair.The monsoon type weather we have had recently did get some of our gardens out of control I admit, and I have sence re established the view plane with my garden clippers.We are 1 1/2 mile from the village on the extention of the main street where it goes along the bay, 2 minutes by car ,15 minutes by foot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Nice room upstairs in the B&B with our own deck to sit on each night and look out over the lake. No AC in our room, and it the weather was unusually warm, but with fan, and good breezes, slept comfortably. Good breakfast and chats each am with other guests and John the owner who provide lots of history of the town, the property, and of things to see and do. Very interesting history with old book and picture collections. The Inn was close to the quaint town of Baddeck. We spent 21 days in Quebec and the Maritimes, at 6 different locations, and the Broadwater was one of our favorite stays.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews