We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place with Fantastic Host”
Review of Broadwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Great accommodation, very comfortable and we had our own sun room to relax in after busy days touring Cape Breton and Baddeck. Our host John was great - really helpful and extremely knowledgeable - always happy to share his local knowledge which meant we were able to see and explore more that we had thought. I would definitely revisit Baddeck and stay again at Broadwater.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Verandah Suite on the ground floor and had our own sun room overlooking the beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennybU5838HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

We just returned from Nova Scotia and let me tell you this place made my trip that much more special. John the host is amazing! He loves to sit and chat tell stories and get to know you, where you're from and what you do. He gives you all kinds of suggestions on where to eat and shop.
We stayed in the Bute Aaron and let me tell you it was simply gorgeous! From the view to the cleanliness to the decorating it was amazing! There is nothing he left out in this cottage.
I will for sure be back! Loved the cottage so much I want to have one built here in Ontario.
Thanks John for making our vacation an excellent one!

Room Tip: choose the Bute Aaron Cabin it is gorgeous and private. The view is undescribable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stayed five nights as a base for exploring Cape Breton and the Baddeck area. Our accommodation had its own deck, comfortable bedroom and good sized shower room. Breakfast was shared with other guests at a single sitting which we had some reservations about but actually worked very well. John the Inn Keeper has tremendous local knowledge and his enthusiasm is infectious, indeed it made our stay. We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sgcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Really enjoyed our stay here! We stayed in the Bay room which had a beautiful view. Our bathroom was very nice (just across the hall). The entire house has incredible finishes and you can tell how much pride John takes! The breakfast was delicious and the set up was great for talking to the other guest! I would highly recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dinopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The Inn keeper John was one of the most knowledgeable and charismatic person we met on Cape Breton. He is part of the fabric of the community. He gives guests excellent directions and suggestions as well as history of area. The original part of Inn is historic and charming. This Inn sits on a slight rise above Baddeck Bay. View of Bay is partially blocked, being situated across road and with some water front houses in front. We stayed in the Breton room. This unit and the one to it’s right side are an add on to the original building. Our room was stark white with only one picture. The room’s furniture looks like it came from a thrift store. The big picture window that faces Baddeck Bay is fully blocked by a huge bush. Light in the bathroom is hocked to the exhaust fan and is loud. Bathroom lighting and counter space is very limited. Inn is about 5 minutes for Baddeck, thus you cannot walk to shops, restaurants, music hall, or harbor. Baddeck is a very nice village and we are glad we stayed in the area. Beddeck is a good jumping off point to go on or come off the Cabot Trail. Must sees in the area are: The Alexander Graham Bell historic site (close to Inn and village) and Louisburg Fortress ( ~1.5 hours), and of course the Cabot Trail. Baddeck has several good restaurants and a very picturesque lighthouse. The Inn unfortunately was not my favorite.

Room Tip: Benton room was spartan with blocked view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernpoultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeBretonMusic, Owner at Broadwater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

sorry that despite us sharing some interesting conversation, we don`t share decorating style.The sofa you have your roller bag wheels sitting on ???? is a month old as is the matching chair.The monsoon type weather we have had recently did get some of our gardens out of control I admit, and I have sence re established the view plane with my garden clippers.We are 1 1/2 mile from the village on the extention of the main street where it goes along the bay, 2 minutes by car ,15 minutes by foot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Nice room upstairs in the B&B with our own deck to sit on each night and look out over the lake. No AC in our room, and it the weather was unusually warm, but with fan, and good breezes, slept comfortably. Good breakfast and chats each am with other guests and John the owner who provide lots of history of the town, the property, and of things to see and do. Very interesting history with old book and picture collections. The Inn was close to the quaint town of Baddeck. We spent 21 days in Quebec and the Maritimes, at 6 different locations, and the Broadwater was one of our favorite stays.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We liked the look of this B&B but did not like our room at all. We requested a 'lake view', it was confirmed and we were NOT given it. The room we were given was large but dusty! Very dusty! The bed and bedding were clean and the bathroom was nice but out antique room was dusty and smelled such. The breakfast was naturally in a common room which was nice, but we were anxious to leave because of our sleeping accommodations. There was no on-site person to help with issues or answer questions in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank STraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeBretonMusic, Owner at Broadwater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

...sorry to hear that you didn`t appreciate our pain staking efforts to restore and maintain a period historical home.The Library rm. is actually a highly sought after choice for those that are interested in our communities history.It offers original fireplace,whirlpool tub and a room controlled AC unit.If there were any sensitivity to scents the AC would have conditioned any issue.There is a in room phone for after hours communication with onsite Inn Keep.This booking was made via a faceless online broker,yet you expected personal evening entertainment ?
This review (and the one left on the broker`s site) were more rude then relevant of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
3.4 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
677 reviews
2.5 km away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
2.2 km away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 17 in Baddeck
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
112 reviews
2.1 km away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
250 reviews
3 km away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadwater Inn

Address: 975 Bay Rd., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range: $161 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadwater Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Cape Breton Homestead in quiet setting along Baddeck Bay one and half mile east of village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Broadwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadwater Hotel Baddeck
Broadwater Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing