We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
63
44
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
44
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews european style bedroom cottage walking trails well equipped kitchen cabot trail cape breton patio furniture nice patio coffee table easy drive wifi worked well kitchen area king size wished we could have stayed longer great place to start beautiful view baddeck area
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 118 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2018

Four of us (2 couples) rented a 2 bedroom cottage. It was very clean, comfortable and well laid out. They appear older, but well maintained, with decks and barbeques. The owner, Roland, is very affable and actually takes the time at check in to go out to the cottage and show you how everything works, very seldom does one see this now. (he also had an offroad Segway that I wouldn't have minded taking for a spin!). There are lots of trails on the property and a great view off the mountain!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank polartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We stayed 3 nights in the chalet on our golf vacation. Roland made this the highlight of our trip, as he was very professional, courteous, and provided every need in timely fashion. It is very obvious he takes great pride in his resort and rightly so. The accommodation is definitely 5- star, very clean and new.I travel extensively and this is a beautiful destination. Only hope I can return to show off this place to more of my Ontario friends. Thank you once again Roland.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

We booked this accommodation because we did not find anything else available for the nights we were going to be in Baddeck. Sounded good on the website...good location.
BUT, shame on the owners for "milking the cow": rundown, dirty! Clients seemed mostly families or several couples staying a week or more. In that case, this is cheap for the money. I would NOT have cooked and eaten there! The shower/tub was very dirty! It was cheap in every sense. It felt like there had been no deep cleaning in a long, long time!
Never again! Sorry, Rolando. We expected much better from a German/Italian!

Room tip: Unless you are looking for really cheap, cannot recommend
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissOleMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandPalmizi, General Manager at Hunter's Mountain Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Thank you for your review. I have to admit that in the 22 years of the existence of Hunter's Mountain Chalets, did we not have such a devastating review. Therefore I do not really know how to react to these accusations, other than to say, we apologize for having failed your, obviously, very high expectations. To call our place dirty and cheap is simply untrue. We work hard at maintaining our rental units, as well as our reputation as being one the cleanest places in the Baddeck area, as proven by our other 112 reviews on TripAdvisor and many more on other online portals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

We were traveling with our son, his wife and two children ages 7 and 5. We booked a two bedroom and were so pleasantly surprised!! Roland was a great "host" as he took us to our chalet and explained everything. The kids wanted to hike one of the four trails right on the property (only about 20 min.) My husband was very content to sit and admire the beautiful view. It is clean and comfortable. We wished we could have stayed longer!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nana_mac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018

This was our last accommodation in a 2 week trip that included stays in 5 different cabin/cottages. This was the largest of all our accommodations. When we checked in, Roland gave us a tour of our cottage and showed us how things worked. He is very friendly. There is a BBQ right on your patio as well as a patio table that seats 6. The living room area includes two couches, both comfortable. The kitchen is tight but perfectly fine. No oven, but that was not a problem. No A/C but it cools down in the evenings so there was really no need for A/C. Wifi worked fine.Besides the cabins, Roland has groomed some of his property into trails. So we had a nice walk one afternoon. Tis location is perfect. You are 90 minutes to the Fortress of Louisbourg and about the same distance to Cheticamp and the entrance to Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The grocery store is about a 15 minute drive from the Chalets. We highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wardgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews