We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really worth the stop”
Review of Flora's Gift Shop

Flora's Gift Shop
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Cheticamp
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cheticamp Hooked Rugs locally made by our craft-ladies in our community....continuous demonstration of the making of the craft in the shop!!! Large selection of quality souvenirs..... Quality T-shirts, sweaths and fashion clothing.... Ice cream parlor on the premises.... Very clean and large restrooms..... Lots of parking!!!!
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not really worth the stop”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We were a little intrigued as to why all the tour buses stopped here, so we called in at the wnd of the Cabot Trail. While there are lots of souvenirs, we wouldn't say it was the best selection out there.
The most interesting thing is the hooked rug making, and that is really only if you get a chance to talk with the makers.
Wouldn't necessarily make a special trio, but pop in if you are passing by and need to stock up on last minute tshirts for family.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    6
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

I was very excited to go here after it was recommended by people we had met, especially for hooked rugs. I don't know if it is just because it is near the end of the season, but the hooked rug selection was small and not very interesting and the rest of the merchandise is regular roadside gift shop tshirts etc.

If you want hooked rugs, pass up here and go to "Proud to be Hookers" about 15 minutes away in Petit Etang. The owner there is friendly and the selection is huge!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very under whelming”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We were excited to stop at this gift shop after reading the brochure and the fact that Chatelaine had rated it as the number one Gift shop. While there were some items available by artisans such as hooked rugs and a woman demonstrating how they were made, most of the items were things I'd typically see at a gift shop stamped with the name of the locale and fled with items that represent the area. This was not an artisan shop and we saw many other shops where items were originals and authentic with true artists. There was an ice cream shop attached to the gift shop.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jancypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great souvenir shop!”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice shop with very unique gift ideas! The ice cream shop next door has great ice cream! Will definitely visit again!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Oliapolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont, USA
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“typical gift shop”
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This place is worth a stop to browse if you are looking for t-shirts or souvenirs.They also have some beautiful pottery and hand hooked rugs.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank VermontTeacher44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flora's Gift Shop also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Flora's Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing