We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic - no other description for it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We stayed here for two nights and wish we could have stayed for more. We were in the main house and in the suite on the top floor. Absolutely superb room with beautiful furnishings and fittings and very comfortable bed. Very peaceful with the sea lulling us to sleep. We had a picnic dinner on the terrace and then sat round a campfire on the private beach for which wood had been provided. Without doubt the best place we stayed in over the 3 weeks holiday. Do not hesitate to book here. There are also six self contained cabins lower down near the beach and these looked charming too.

Room Tip: Suite on the upper floor - fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACDSonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

A very interesting experience to stay in a beautiful wood house in front of a wonderful beach!!
I mainly appreciate the cleanness and the well maintained facilities.
Unfortunately the price is very high compared to other options nearby.... and there was no one in the reception during the night, what is really strange considering our standard (Brazilian point is view).

Stayed: July 2017
Thank NakaoSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This was a reservation I make for my son and his comments were not very complimentary. The cost was high for what was perceived value. The unit was dirty, the barbecue did not work and overall the experience was disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

This place is gold.
It is right on the cabot trail and the little cottage has everything you need. They empty your garbage and freshen up your towels every day but the view is beautiful.
You have you own little beach area and the owners provide little details such as a bucket to wash your feet after returning from the beach.
Waking up to the ocean waves was wonderful.
The costal restaurant is very close and the food was delicious.
As was the breakfast cafe so good.
Would definitely stay here again if I came back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank KDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

On the 29th of June I stayed at the Lantern Hill and Hollow in the 'Daydreamer' cabin. The cabin was very modern and well equipped to the extent I mentioned to family members that I could live there. The cabin is a stones throw to the beach which I thoroughly enjoyed walking along and nothing beats the magic of a beach bonfire at night. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Canadian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Right on the beach, spotless clean, tastefully decorated, large 2 bedroom cottage, fully equipped kitchen, front porch with clean BBQ, stream running through property, pond with gazebo and chairs, fire pit with wood on beach, benches and chairs overlooking the beach & parking right at the cottage's front door.
Check in was quick. Kim at the front desk was amazing and caring. Property is breathtaking.
I would recommend and plan on returning for a longer stay.
Worth every penny we paid!
To the owners, Keep up the good work.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NYC507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Everything that everyone says about the cottages is true. They are new, clean, and spacious. But.... for $400 a night, there is an expectation of comfort. And yes, the open windows do let you hear the surf, but it's hot, humid, and tonight, not much breeze.... AND sunrise is at 5:15, so open windows mean early rising, whether we like it or not.....
We splurged to stay here after staying a few nights in cramped hotel rooms. At this point, the cool comfort of air conditioning in the hotel room is greatly missed....

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank WpgDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
3.1 km away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.5 km away
Ingonish Chalets
Ingonish Chalets
#3 of 7 in Ingonish
96 reviews
3.2 km away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ingonish
197 reviews
35.1 km away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort and Retreat
3.1 km away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Hill & Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Hill & Hollow

Address: 36845 Cabot Trail | Ingonish Beach, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ingonish
Price Range: $259 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lantern Hill & Hollow 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Atlantic Ocean stands an enchanting beach house with guest bed & bath rooms on a hill overlooking its own kingdom by the sea...A charming seaside village of beachfront guest cottages nestled in the hollow below...All of this is situated on a 6 acre beachfront property-- a picturesque tranquil & secluded park-like setting directly along the famous Cabot Trail in Ingonish, Cape Breton Island, NS. Minutes to amenities, golf, hiking trails, sea adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lantern Hill & Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Hill And Hollow Hotel Ingonish
Lantern Hill & Hollow Ingonish, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing