We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Louisbourg B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Elegant inn”
Reviewed 25 August 2007

Yet another beautifully restored Victorian mansion. Nova Scotia seems blessed with lots of these. This one has nice proportions and large, beautifully furnished bedrooms. We stayed in the Draper room, which had a sitting area and a good-sized balcony. A small fridge comes stocked with bottled water. The rooms don't have TVs or phones, but these are available in the common areas.

The inn is located on Main Street, but you don't have to worry about traffic noise. Even in high season Louisbourg (the town, that is -- the fort is some distance away) is relatively quiet. By about 9:00 there are hardly any cars on the road.

Breakfast was good, with both the usual cereals and fruit and a hot entree (but only one option.)

The only thing I didn't care for was the bath water, which came out a bit brown. I know that some places, like the Scottish highlands, have naturally brown water, and it may have been perfectly okay. But I passed on the bath anyway.

A couple of other places in town -- Point of View Suites and the Louisbourg Harbour Inn -- have better views of the harbour. But neither seemed to be as elegant as this inn.

  • Liked — Inn is beautifully restored; roomy, well-furnished bedrooms
  • Disliked — Brown bath water
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

We stayed one night at this lovely victorian mansion. Our room, the Logan Room, was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The location was excellent for walking to the Louisbourg Playhouse and walking to restaurants and shops. Our main reason for staying there was to spend time at the Louisbourg Fortress which is a must see. We also were able to see Buddy MacMaster at the Louisbourg Playhouse. He is fantastic.

  • Liked — Beautiful victorian decor.
  • Disliked — No counter space in bathroom.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoneTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2006

My husband and I have stayed at numerous bed and breakfasts over the years and the Heritage House is at the very top of the list. The accommodations are beautifully done, warm and inviting. We stayed three days and found the breakfasts each morning to be absolutely delicious. As one of the guests stated when the breakfast of blueberry-peach popovers were served, "we have hit the jackpot!'

Our hosts Suzanne and Parker made us feel genuinly welcome. We will definitely be back!

Barbara A. Roessler
Alamogordo, New Mexico

  • Liked — Beautifully decorated, comfortable, quite
  • Disliked — Nothing....everything was perfect
  • Tips/Secrets — Get ready for a relaxing, trip back in time.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BarDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2006

The Louisbourg Heritage House is a beautiful Victorian mansion with a commanding view. My boyfriend (see his review on this hotel as well - he's the English bloke with the Canadian girlfriend) and I spent a night in a huge room at the top of the house with a clear view of Louisbourg fortress itself. When the sun set, it was absolutely stunning. The room itself was well dcorated with a huge four-poster bed and hardwood floors. The bathroom could have been another bedroom. It was absolute luxury. Don't be put off by my boyfriend's comment - the dining was excellent. He doesn't like French toast ("eggy bread" to the English)but I do and I really enjoyed it. There were a variety of other breakfast foods including home-made muffins, cereal, fresh bread and yogurt. It is really well worth a stay at Louisbourg Heritage House.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank minerva_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2006

I was in Louisbourg during a visit to the 'outlaws' in N.S.(I am English and my girlfriend is Canadian).

The Heritage House is one of those beautiful places that you stumble upon and wish you could stay a week! We were fortunate to have the bedroom on the top floor. The actual room was probably 40ft x 20ft and certainly the biggest I've ever slept in!. I'm certainly looking forward to going there again.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2005

Louisbourg is a little out of the way (2.5 hour drive from Cape Breton), but it is a MUST see. Louisbourg Heritage Inn is an ideal B&B. This former Anglican manse was recently renovated. A clean room, a very comfortable bed, and a great homemade breakfast, made this B&B one of our favourites in Nova Scotia. The people in this town of 900 were incredible. Although not a history buff, the fortress was a highlight of our trip. Two big thumbs up for Louisbourg!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
0.8 km away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
28.1 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
29.6 km away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 km away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.1 km away
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
#2 of 9 in Louisbourg
151 reviews
0.6 km away
Pecks Cottages
Pecks Cottages
#5 of 9 in Louisbourg
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7544 Main St, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed house (c. 1886) with generous sized guestrooms each with its own balcony/veranda. Situated in the very center of town and close walking distance to restaurants and the Louisbourg Playhouse (music hall). Access to kitchen (non-cooking) with refrigerator, tea/coffee, ice etc. Breakfast served at our sister property, the Louisbourg Harbour Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing