We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too "GOOD" to miss !!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Canada
1 review
“Too "GOOD" to miss !!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I would highly recommend a visit to Gray Gables B & B. Over the Christmas Holidays my family and I stayed at this lovely B & B. We rented all three rooms, each well-appointed and also having private baths. We enjoyed the ocean view, only steps from the B & B, the fireplace was lit, the breakfast was amazing, plus, plus!!! Our gracious hostess, Jacqui, made certain we were well taken care of. She also accommodated a number of special requests, as we were celebrating my parents wedding anniversary. We travel a great deal and this B& B is a "SUPER VALUE" for services offered. Also, this area of Nova Scotia's south shore has a lot to offer travellers. Many, many thanks again to Jacqui for making our stay memorable.

Sonja & Family

Room Tip: The 1st floor room is great for anyone having difficulty with stairs. The two upstairs room allow, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simsongab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
70
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sackville
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I was travelling over the holidays and stayed at Gray gables I appreciated the cleanliness of the room, fireplace and enjoyed the views.The breakfast menu was nutritoius and delicious.The hot tub in the evening was also greatly enjoyed. The hosts were welcoming and well informed of the area and attractions.Definately hope to return one day in the near future.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are really nicee with there own themes and they all have there own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This is the best B&B you will ever stay at. Look no further. Very professional.
Luxury Unlimited in every way.
Hairdryers, goody bags with water bottles, flat screen TV's, DVD's and Wireless internet in every room.
Jacqui & Dave are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much to ask of them. They understand how to take care of their guests to make them feel very special. The entire house is spotless and beautifully decorated. The beds are very comfortable allowing you to sleep like a baby.
It was such a welcomed touch that you are given a menu and time to be served. Weather permitting you will dine either inside or outside on the veranda with breathtaking water views.
The delicious gourmet breakfasts are innovating, beautifully presented and always offer something healthy with plenty of fresh fruit. We were traveling for about 6 weeks and this was a real find. So peaceful, romantic and private. C& I ( NYC, USA )

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Gray Gables for two nights in July, and I must say this was a wonderful place to stay and from which to visit Chester and the South Shore area. We not only had a very comfortable bedroom, but we were very impressed with the privacy this beautiful home provided us. The rooms were nicely appointed, with comfortable bedding, and the entire home was spotless with magnificent views of the bay. We enjoyed two delicious and healthy breakfasts on the verandah overlooking the bay, which was so relaxing, as we could take whatever time we needed to enjoy the delicious meals of fresh fruit, yogart, eggs benedict and outstanding blueberry pancakes! Simply Awesome!
Jackie and Dave, the owners, made us feel very welcome and helped us feel very much at home, while helping us to to learn about places to see and do in the area.

Room Tip: All clients have access to use of the outdoor hot tub- something we really enjoyed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annm549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and it truly is a wonderful B & B. Comfortable beds, relaxing atmosphere. A gorgeous home with an awesome scenic view of the Bay. Whether you have breakfast in the dining area inside or on the deck outside, the food was delicious. Each morning we had a choice from 3 breakfast items. Jacqui & Dave are a friendly, caring, accomadating couple and we enjoyed their company. They made us feel at home, even being able to use the kitchen if we wanted to make a coffee or tea, even put a few items in the frig. The eggs benedict on our last morning were so yummy! Haven't been to a B & B yet that compares to Jacqui's. Would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCaron_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2011

For our honeymoon my husband and I couldn't think of a better place to spend our days then the South Shore of Nova Scotia. Our first night we stayed at the Gray Gables B&B, and I must say for our very first B&B experience this one took the cake. It was easy to find this beautifully appointed gray victorian, with wrap around patio. As we pulled up we couldn't wait to get inside and see what awaited us. When we came in the door we were greeted by Jacqui one of Gray Gables owners; as soon as we stepped foot in the door she immediately made us feel comfortable and right at home. The house seemed newly renovated and very spacious, the room we rented was exactly as pictured on the site. We took the Mermaid Room with the jacuzzi and added the romance package, which was well worth it. Before we went out to explore Chester Jacqui gave us a piece of paper which had three choices for breakfast. I picked the blueberry pancakes and my husband chose the yougurt with berries and granola. We met 4 wonderful people who were also staying there and during breakfast exchanged stories and the best places to visit on the South Shore. Breakfast was delicious, and we are already planning to go back :)

Thanks for making our honeymoon one to remember :)

Kaela and Rob S., Dartmouth, NS

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is one of the nicest B & B's we have ever stayed in, the rooms were beautifuly appointed, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast choices were all delicious and Jacqui's company for coffee was delightful. Her help with tourist attractions and restaurants was greatly appreciated.We will definetly return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
22.4 km away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
249 reviews
22.3 km away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
310 reviews
8.8 km away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
91 reviews
18.2 km away
Fisherman's Daughter
Fisherman's Daughter
#1 of 6 in Mahone Bay
165 reviews
23.7 km away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Graves Island Rd, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our seaside getaway. A bed and breakfast experiences in Nova Scotia to remember!This spacious Cape Cod overlooks Majestic Mahone Bay and Graves Island Provincial Park. We offer the traveller a choice of three comfortable ocean view guest rooms. Centrally located 2 minutes from the Town of Chester on the Lighthouse Route of the South Shore. Many popular tourist destinations and attractions are within a leisurely 40 minutes or less. All Rooms include, Welcome Refreshments, Bath Robes and more...3 Beautiful oceanview rooms (Q,T), ensuite 4-pc bath. Full breakfast. Luxurious Cape Cod with large patio overlooking the ocean; picnic table. Close to beach, golf; 65 km to airport. Member: tians. Vs, mc.Open year-round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gray Gables Bed And Breakfast Chester, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing