We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facility with a European flare”

Domaine de Grand Pre
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Grand Pre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At Domaine de Grand Pre, we take great pride in making the finest Nova Scotia wines. We work hard to develop special wines true to our province and unlike any others in the region — we grow specialty grapes that are developed for Nova Scotia’s specific climate and landscape. The result is an array of award-winning vintages appreciated across Canada and around the world. We're proud of our Annapolis Valley boutique winery and welcome you to drop by! Hours listed here are for the Wine Shop and tastings. Tours are at 11am, 3pm and 5pm daily during open season - these are free and open to the public! To buy our wine online visit our online shop on our website, shipping available nationwide! Our office will be open throughout the year from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. For more details on events, menus, location, distribution, and all of our latest news visit our website or social media pages. Cheers!
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility with a European flare”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Domain de Grand Pre exudes a certain refined, upscale quality that is a rarity among NS wineries. The facility is impressive and evokes a certain Italian estate air to it. The grounds are very well maintained and the store and tasting room also features a number of informational boards that are really nice to check out while visiting. My biggest disappointment is that I was unable to experience a tasting as a large tour group arrived for one while I was downstairs looking at the informational boards and I didn't want to get stuck behind them as I found out they were headed where I was headed next. I will definitely return on my next visit to enjoy a full tasting of their wines!

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Wadie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Public Relations Manager at Domaine de Grand Pre, responded to this review, 13 October 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed the ambiance of the winery and appreciate the fact you noticed that we ensure the grounds upkeep is well maintained. We're sorry to hear you were unable to have a tasting during your visit but look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    45
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting in a historic part of Nova Scotia”
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Although the wines don't quite measure up (consensus of my group, not just my opinion), the setting is truly spectacular and our host was genial & informative. The vineyard is one of the first in the area and its proximity to the Grand Pré National Historic Site explains the name. Their apple cream liqueur "Pomme d'Or" was my favorite.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank JamFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Public Relations Manager at Domaine de Grand Pre, responded to this review, 13 October 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you had the opportunity to visit our winery and try some of our wines. We are sorry to hear our wine did not measure up to your expectations but we understand that everyone's palate is different. We're happy you enjoyed the Apple Cream Liqueur.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A fantastic and beautiful place!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015

The landscape is beautiful and the access to wine country is key. There is a lot of great history in this area if you want to explore.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank JeepGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Public Relations Manager at Domaine de Grand Pre, responded to this review, 7 October 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you had the opportunity to visit and experience Nova Scotia Wine Country!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good for a Quick Visit”
Reviewed 24 September 2015

A small winery with pleasant wines and a very good sommelier. Quiet location not far from the other wineries.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank BJDOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Public Relations Manager at Domaine de Grand Pre, responded to this review, 28 September 2015
Hello!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you found the wines to be pleasant and appreciated our sommelier. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots and lots of choices!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We had such a great time at the Domaine de Grand Pré. Wines are amazing and the tasting experience was exquisite. We bought a lot of bottles so that we bring a little bit of this taste back home. Although, double check your bill! They have a weird way of scanning the bottles at the register machine and they changed cashier during our transaction. We have been overcharged for an amount of 70$. We had to go back to get a reimbursement which went easily, at least.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank fee_marjorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Public Relations Manager at Domaine de Grand Pre, responded to this review, 18 September 2015
Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely time at the tasting bar and enjoyed our wines! We are sorry that you were overcharged at the register. We are pleased to hear though, that you were able to get your money back easily. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you but were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time here.

We hope to have to back soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Domaine de Grand Pre also viewed

Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Grand Pre, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Grand Pre, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Domaine de Grand Pre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing