We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but overpriced”

Le Caveau Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Grand Pre
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Any visit to Grand Pre, Nova Scotia is incomplete without dining at the illustrious Le Caveau Restaurant. Delight in fine wines and gourmet creations from Chef Jason Lynch that pair perfectly together. Whether you dine with us for lunch or dinner, for an intimate meal, or a lively celebration, you are certain to relax into the gentle embrace that is Le Caveau. We invite you to join us for a dining experience that is so much more than a meal!
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Had Sunday brunch here with the family. Setting is beautiful outside on the patio next to the vineyard. We started with a charcuterie board to start, meats were good but no cheese at all and just a small dish of assorted breads to go with it. All our mains were very good but again pricey, $12 for a bowl of fries? I could not fault the service as our wait staff were exceptionally attentive. Coffee was just ok, I would have expected more from such a high end eatery. Overall, the meal was good, service was great but at $160 f(with tax and tip) for four people for brunch I think it will be a while before we return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Public Relations Manager at Le Caveau Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our winery restaurant and the site and we are also pleased to hear that service was attentive. Thank you for that.

I should point out that the fries on the brunch menu are duck fries, which are fried in duck fat and therefore is reflected in the cost.
As for the charcuterie board, sorry this was confusing - by definition, charcuterie is all specialty meats. We go out of our way to source all our products from small, local, independent farmers and we pay them a fair price for their product, which then reflects the pricing on our menu. The bread and crisps that are served with it are based on the amount of meats on the board, we are more than happy to bring extra crisps or you can certainly order additional spice bread. We know it is highly popular and so delicious.

Thank you again for your comments, we do hope you visit again! Cheers and have a wonderful Summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2018

We really enjoyed this restaurant. Wine recommendations were spot on, and the food was wonderful! The view is breathtaking, and it is so nice to be sat outside surrounded by all of the greenery. We felt as though we were dining in an enchanted forest! : - )

    • Service
    • Food
Thank WheelsHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Public Relations Manager at Le Caveau Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for such kind words. We love to hear you had a great experience from the wine to your meal while enjoying the unique atmosphere of our Pergola!

We hope you visit us again soon!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018

Le Caveau is located on the grounds of Domaine de Grand Pre winery. Before eating, we toook a relaxing stroll through the vineyard to a cross commemorating the deportation of Acadians in the 1700s. Back at the restaurant, we split a fried cauliflower appetizer and also a panini with a salad. The food was delicious.

Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Public Relations Manager at Le Caveau Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Hi Graham,

Thank you for your kind words and review! We're so happy you enjoyed your meal here at Le Caveau and love to know you had a good experience!

We hope you'll visit us again soon!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

This is a Swiss-inspired restaurant and that speaks volumes about the quality of the overall experience. The atmosphere reminded me of restaurants in Bavaria, with the soft pine wood interiors and interesting decorations. The service was excellent. When we arrived, our table wasn't ready, so we were offered a glass of bubbles while we waited. And the wait was worth it. My wife and I split the charcuterie board with house made meats, with various mustards and compotes, and some wonderful breads. My wife then had the venison, which was sauced perfectly. I had the stuffed rabbit loin, which was very tender and flavorful. Being located at a winery, I guess I wasn't surprised by the size of the wine list, but definitely appreciated the diversity of it. All in all a wonderful night!

Thank gbruels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Public Relations Manager at Le Caveau Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and review! We love to hear you enjoyed our menu and wines, and are so happy to hear you had a great experience!

We hope you visit again soon!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2018

We celebrated a 50th wedding anniversary here. I have done wine tour before so I knew it was beautiful. The food and wine were exceptional. But above all else the service was extraordinary. Everyone went out of their way to ensure that the entire evening was perfect and my whole family felt like royalty.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank randyandkim2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Public Relations Manager at Le Caveau Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Hello


Thank you for your kind words and review! We love to hear you enjoyed our menu and wines, and are happy to hear you had a great experience! We hope you stop by and visit again!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Caveau Restaurant also viewed

Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Port Williams, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Le Caveau Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing