We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, charming little nest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Iona Heights Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Iona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This is an older Motor Inn that has been well maintained and on which the owners , with obvious pride, have made improvements and incorporated modern amenities to the extent that the structure will allow.; example - door keys are the most modern with tap and sight recognition, also worked flawlessly. The absolute best feature of this hotel is its location and the scenery it provides, but while i's not a Sheraton, it is immaculately clean, and the beds are most comfortable. The decor is pleasant, though simple. We had a room with a balcony, which was well sheltered with a glass (plexi) enclosure.. Twas a delight to sit there late afternoon with light wine, admiring the scenery, and basking in the quietude. We had dinner in their pub/restaurant and we well pleased with our meals, not an extensive, but varied menu. The atmospher was very pleasant, cordial , and the service truly great. When everyone around you seems happy, chatty and smiling, you know you have be in a good place. And while not a direct link to the hotel, the Highland Village historic park is well worth a stroll through. , we had to rush our visit thru it, but still most rewarding.
It rates a 5 in my books for service, attentiveness of staff, and locality. Due to age, and inherent constraints, the physical property is still a solid 4.
Plan to return , again.

Room Tip: ifavailable , get room with balcony. just an added pleasant touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralfann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

What a thourough and pleasant review! Thanks very much indeed. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay here in Iona. We are slowly, but surely checking off our "To-Do" list. Cheers until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

The inn, from what we understand, has been updated recently. Could still use better lighting and a few other upgrades. But the view from the second floor balcony was nice; and the beds were very comfortable. Our room had a small fridge and microwave available. The pub/restaurant was very good for a glass of wine and dinner. There is a coffee shop with take-out style breakfast (bagels, etc) on site. However, it would be nice to be able to get a full breakfast on site in the morning as there are not other alternatives nearby. Staff was helpful overall.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VGTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise this place turned out to be. Classic older hotel that has been remodeled into a real gem even by today's standards. BEAUTIFUL VIEWS FROM THE ROOMS! Wonderful staff throughout the property. Candy making store on site that also doubles as a breakfast provider with good coffee. But the biggest surprise was the pub. Bartender/server Rory was such a delight and represented the Inn exceptionally. The food was excellent. We were glad we chose to eat there. Best food in the middle of nowhere you will ever have! Penne pasta chicken was excellent. Bacon cheeseburger was excellent with the fries fresh cut and seasoned to perfection. Seafood chowder should not be missed. Lightly breaded fish was also a winner. Don't miss an opportunity to stay and eat at this property if you have the chance!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank WWK2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Well those are some of the kindest words we ever did hear. Thanks very much indeed!
We are super happy that you enjoyed your time here with us in Iona, and grateful for you to take the time and write out such a lovely review. Hope to see you again. Cheers for now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

You'll find comfortable accommodations here, overlooking one of the prettiest areas in Cape Breton. The hotel changed ownership a couple of years ago and renovations are first rate, though, if you look close enough, still a bit ongoing.

The rooms are spacious and immaculate The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are modern and have plenty of water pressure. Front desk service is friendly and welcoming (including an offer to store our local snow crab meat in one of the inn's freezers). Most rooms have windows that open wide to the evening breezes; ours on the lower level did not and a room fan was essential on the warm night we spent. Pets, for a fee, are welcome and there's lots of grass for your pooch to stretch his or her legs.

The attached restaurant offers tasty, reasonably priced pub grub and is known for some quality Celtic music. Be aware that it can fill up quickly at night. The inn even has a small liquor store on site, and is next door to the interesting Highland Village Museum cultural center.

The downsides? Our room was dark. It had just one bedside lamp, plus lights in the closet area and bathroom. So we needed a flashlight to read the directions for the coffee maker. Plugs to re-charge phones and laptops are quite limited. The hotel is in a rural setting and the only immediate option for breakfast is in-house. The offerings aren't outrageously priced but are quite limited and must be eaten in your room. And you do have a sense of being part of a captive audience. You might be better off, as we did, to travel a bit in either direction for better choices.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NMDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi NMDave.
Thanks for the lovely review. As you mentioned, we are indeed checking off our "To-Do" list. Extra plugs and lamps are next on the list.
Just wanted to let other potential guests know, you can in fact eat breakfast in our pub if you choose to.
Cheers for now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Close to Highland Village. Gorgeous location. Room and hotel look nice on surface, but there are several upgrades that need to be made. Walls are very thin. Can hear neighbours. No overhead lights. No A/C. TV uses Roku system which was complicated and didn't work well. Pub and cafe in hotel both great. Cafe sells Jill's Chocolates which are delicious.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Thompsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

What a perfect little mini vacation at the Iona Heights Inn! We could have not left any happier. From the friendly check in we received to the cheerful and clean room, the pleasant atmosphere at the pub on the premises and the delicious chocolate treats at the Cafe, we found it all a complete delight. We enjoyed the HoMedics Sound Spa in our room so very much that we ordered one online for our own home. What a nice little extra touch! The views from the balcony are wonderful and it was so relaxing to sit with a glass of wine and to enjoy the scenery. That there is a NSLC on the premises (as well as a small grocery store) is of course another added bonus. The Chocolate Shop had great espresso and coffee, the moccha and the iced salted caramel latte were our particular favorites. All in a all a total success for our little getaway and we will gladly be back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 8 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CBHighlandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This was my third or fourth time visiting the Iona Heights Inn. Dan and Ruari went above and beyond to accommodate my group's needs. I love the vibe here: the music, food, staff all add a special something to this place. Not to mention the view!

If you are looking for a place to put your head down on a soft pillow, make it the Iona Heights Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thanks very much indeed for those kind words.
Super glad you enjoy the place. Hope to see you again.
Cheers for now,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iona
52.1 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
17 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
677 reviews
18 km away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
2.1 km away
Grand Narrows Hotel
Grand Narrows Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grand Narrows
20 reviews
19.8 km away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iona Heights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iona Heights Inn

Address: 4115 Highway 223 | Iona, Iona, Nova Scotia B2C 1A3, Canada (Formerly Highland Heights Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Iona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Iona
Price Range: $101 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Iona Heights Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated & upgraded! Centrally located, & close to everything. 6 Lower level rooms with 2 double beds, & 15 upper level rooms with a balcony & 2 double beds. All of our rooms overlook the stunning Bras d'Or Lakes Biosphere. Site amenities include Jill's Chocolate Cafe, where she carefully handcrafts chocolate, and brews fresh coffee daily. Also, The Frolic 'n Folk Pub & Grill serving homemade meals, with music on the weekends. We also have The Little Dipper Boutique - a liquor store and convenience store, all located within the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Iona Heights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Heights Hotel Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing