We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
148
59
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
59
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighland villageliquor storethe pubcape bretonbras d'or lakean upper level roomceltic musicbeautiful viewbreakfast sandwichcabot trailsecond levelchowderher husbandnova scotiabeds were very comfortableconvenience store on siteattached restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 225 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2017

The inn, from what we understand, has been updated recently. Could still use better lighting and a few other upgrades. But the view from the second floor balcony was nice; and the beds were very comfortable. Our room had a small fridge and microwave available. The pub/restaurant was very good for a glass of wine and dinner. There is a coffee shop with take-out style breakfast (bagels, etc) on site. However, it would be nice to be able to get a full breakfast on site in the morning as there are not other alternatives nearby. Staff was helpful overall.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VGTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise this place turned out to be. Classic older hotel that has been remodeled into a real gem even by today's standards. BEAUTIFUL VIEWS FROM THE ROOMS! Wonderful staff throughout the property. Candy making store on site that also doubles as a breakfast provider with good coffee. But the biggest surprise was the pub. Bartender/server Rory was such a delight and represented the Inn exceptionally. The food was excellent. We were glad we chose to eat there. Best food in the middle of nowhere you will ever have! Penne pasta chicken was excellent. Bacon cheeseburger was excellent with the fries fresh cut and seasoned to perfection. Seafood chowder should not be missed. Lightly breaded fish was also a winner. Don't miss an opportunity to stay and eat at this property if you have the chance!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank WWK2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Well those are some of the kindest words we ever did hear. Thanks very much indeed!
We are super happy that you enjoyed your time here with us in Iona, and grateful for you to take the time and write out such a lovely review. Hope to see you again. Cheers for now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017

You'll find comfortable accommodations here, overlooking one of the prettiest areas in Cape Breton. The hotel changed ownership a couple of years ago and renovations are first rate, though, if you look close enough, still a bit ongoing.

The rooms are spacious and immaculate The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are modern and have plenty of water pressure. Front desk service is friendly and welcoming (including an offer to store our local snow crab meat in one of the inn's freezers). Most rooms have windows that open wide to the evening breezes; ours on the lower level did not and a room fan was essential on the warm night we spent. Pets, for a fee, are welcome and there's lots of grass for your pooch to stretch his or her legs.

The attached restaurant offers tasty, reasonably priced pub grub and is known for some quality Celtic music. Be aware that it can fill up quickly at night. The inn even has a small liquor store on site, and is next door to the interesting Highland Village Museum cultural center.

The downsides? Our room was dark. It had just one bedside lamp, plus lights in the closet area and bathroom. So we needed a flashlight to read the directions for the coffee maker. Plugs to re-charge phones and laptops are quite limited. The hotel is in a rural setting and the only immediate option for breakfast is in-house. The offerings aren't outrageously priced but are quite limited and must be eaten in your room. And you do have a sense of being part of a captive audience. You might be better off, as we did, to travel a bit in either direction for better choices.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NMDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Hi NMDave.
Thanks for the lovely review. As you mentioned, we are indeed checking off our "To-Do" list. Extra plugs and lamps are next on the list.
Just wanted to let other potential guests know, you can in fact eat breakfast in our pub if you choose to.
Cheers for now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

Close to Highland Village. Gorgeous location. Room and hotel look nice on surface, but there are several upgrades that need to be made. Walls are very thin. Can hear neighbours. No overhead lights. No A/C. TV uses Roku system which was complicated and didn't work well. Pub and cafe in hotel both great. Cafe sells Jill's Chocolates which are delicious.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Thompsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

What a perfect little mini vacation at the Iona Heights Inn! We could have not left any happier. From the friendly check in we received to the cheerful and clean room, the pleasant atmosphere at the pub on the premises and the delicious chocolate treats at the Cafe, we found it all a complete delight. We enjoyed the HoMedics Sound Spa in our room so very much that we ordered one online for our own home. What a nice little extra touch! The views from the balcony are wonderful and it was so relaxing to sit with a glass of wine and to enjoy the scenery. That there is a NSLC on the premises (as well as a small grocery store) is of course another added bonus. The Chocolate Shop had great espresso and coffee, the moccha and the iced salted caramel latte were our particular favorites. All in a all a total success for our little getaway and we will gladly be back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 8 and loved it!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CBHighlandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews