We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel North(North Sydney)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Clansman Motel(North Sydney)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
135
56
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
56
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighland villageliquor storethe pubcape bretonbras d'or lakean upper level roomceltic musichill overlookingcabot trailsecond floor balconybeautiful viewsecond levelvantage pointenjoy the scenerywatch the sunrisedelicious coffeeowners and staff
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 208 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

We loved the drive into Iona, glorious fall colours and spectacular views. Then we arrived and were treated to an incredible view, wonderful check in, a nice little room and great food. This is Cape Breton’s hidden gem! Don’t miss this one...a new favourite place to relax.

Now we have to score reservations for a few weekend getaways for summer.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jameswolfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Thanks very much for the great review. We truly appreciate it. Super glad you enjoyed your time here in Iona. Hope to see you again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017

My girlfriend and I spent two nights at the Iona Heights Inn using it as a home base for our visit to the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton.

I don't think you'll find better value for your money in all of Cape Breton if you're looking for somewhere to spend the night or two.

At the Iona Heights Inn we stayed in one of the better rooms on the second level with a balcony and incredible view of the lake right out front of the hotel.

The room came equipped with two large comfortable beds, a spacious well-equipped bathroom, and everything that you would need for a short-term stay.

Having the balcony was definitely one of the highlights of the room and we were able to watch the sunrise and sunset as well as enjoy ourselves while relaxing with the amazing view right out front.

There's plenty of parking at the property and i found the Wi-Fi to work quite well.

One thing that you'll want to keep in mind is that there isn't much going on nearby to the hotel, there aren't really any grocery stores or restaurants that you can walk to and everything is about 20 minutes away by car.

Thankfully at the property there is a large restaurant where you can grab your meal as well as a small grocery store and even a little cafe that serves locally-made chocolate as well as a variety of hot coffee drinks.

As for the Cabot Trail, we easily did the entire Trail in a single day and the hotel was the perfect place to start and finish the trail without having to rush.

Depending on where you are arriving from you might get stuck paying for a very short ferry ride - I would actually recommend putting into Google to avoid ferries and tolls which is only going to add a few extra minutes to your drive through a much more scenic route.

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here at the Iona Heights Inn if you're looking for something comfortable, reasonably priced, and that provides a good location for exploring Cape Breton.

Room Tip: Grab one of the upper level rooms with a balcony - more private plus an amazing view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Thanks you Stefan for that very well written and kind review! Would you mind if we posted this on our website for other guests to read? We're super happy you enjoyed all that we have to offer, and that you had a drive along the trail. Hope to see you in the future. Cheers for now!
-Dan/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

This is an older Motor Inn that has been well maintained and on which the owners , with obvious pride, have made improvements and incorporated modern amenities to the extent that the structure will allow.; example - door keys are the most modern with tap and sight recognition, also worked flawlessly. The absolute best feature of this hotel is its location and the scenery it provides, but while i's not a Sheraton, it is immaculately clean, and the beds are most comfortable. The decor is pleasant, though simple. We had a room with a balcony, which was well sheltered with a glass (plexi) enclosure.. Twas a delight to sit there late afternoon with light wine, admiring the scenery, and basking in the quietude. We had dinner in their pub/restaurant and we well pleased with our meals, not an extensive, but varied menu. The atmospher was very pleasant, cordial , and the service truly great. When everyone around you seems happy, chatty and smiling, you know you have be in a good place. And while not a direct link to the hotel, the Highland Village historic park is well worth a stroll through. , we had to rush our visit thru it, but still most rewarding.
It rates a 5 in my books for service, attentiveness of staff, and locality. Due to age, and inherent constraints, the physical property is still a solid 4.
Plan to return , again.

Room Tip: ifavailable , get room with balcony. just an added pleasant touch.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralfann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

What a thourough and pleasant review! Thanks very much indeed. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay here in Iona. We are slowly, but surely checking off our "To-Do" list. Cheers until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

The inn, from what we understand, has been updated recently. Could still use better lighting and a few other upgrades. But the view from the second floor balcony was nice; and the beds were very comfortable. Our room had a small fridge and microwave available. The pub/restaurant was very good for a glass of wine and dinner. There is a coffee shop with take-out style breakfast (bagels, etc) on site. However, it would be nice to be able to get a full breakfast on site in the morning as there are not other alternatives nearby. Staff was helpful overall.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VGTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise this place turned out to be. Classic older hotel that has been remodeled into a real gem even by today's standards. BEAUTIFUL VIEWS FROM THE ROOMS! Wonderful staff throughout the property. Candy making store on site that also doubles as a breakfast provider with good coffee. But the biggest surprise was the pub. Bartender/server Rory was such a delight and represented the Inn exceptionally. The food was excellent. We were glad we chose to eat there. Best food in the middle of nowhere you will ever have! Penne pasta chicken was excellent. Bacon cheeseburger was excellent with the fries fresh cut and seasoned to perfection. Seafood chowder should not be missed. Lightly breaded fish was also a winner. Don't miss an opportunity to stay and eat at this property if you have the chance!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank WWK2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Well those are some of the kindest words we ever did hear. Thanks very much indeed!
We are super happy that you enjoyed your time here with us in Iona, and grateful for you to take the time and write out such a lovely review. Hope to see you again. Cheers for now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews