We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
63
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john and denise sense of humour front porch hearts desire delicious breakfast two nights perfect hosts garden room b and b local jams excellent advice cup of tea bed and breakfast walking distance many years lovely town stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 74 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Arrived in Mahone Bay late, and John stayed up to greet us and helped us get our dinner in before the kitchens close in Mahone Bay for the night (about 10:00pm). Denise was extremely knowledgeable about the little-known beaches and trails around town. The room is cozy, comfortable, and felt like home! Breakfast was a delight - Scones and cakes, hot cooked breakfast, and fresh squeezed juices. Location was amazing. It is right across from the waterfront and walking distance from the small downtown area, and a fifteen-minute drive from busy Lunenburg. We were sad to leave after only two nights. Thank you for having us in your lovely home.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeartsDesireBB, Owner at Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Thank you for a lovely review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay.It was a pleasure to meet you both and we enjoyed having you to stay in our home We hope you had a good time during the rest of your trip to Nova Scotia and hope you make it back here some day! Best wishes John & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

This lovely gem was discovered by accident on our 6 week travel. With no reservation we tripped over a vacancy sign and enquired. A late cancellation had opened up a room and we immediately took it. John showed us around and made some recommendations for our visit to the town. The property is across the street from the bay and has a lovely relaxing view of the water, from a wrap around veranda. Breakfast was delicious and served pleasantly by Denise and John. terrific conversation by the three couples and the hosts. We stayed in approximately 16 B and Bs during this trip and Hearts Desire is in our top three.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flamesfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeartsDesireBB, Owner at Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so glad you found us and hope to see you again! Best wishes John & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

Mahone Bay was our favourite town between Halifax and Lunenburg. Hearts Desire is a clean, comfortable home with pretty porches and a lovely garden. Right in downtown Mahone Bay - everything is an easy walk. John & Denise are fun, friendly and helpful hosts. Food is tasty, everything is very clean and they know a lot of great places to see and fun ways to get there. We stayed in the Bay View room and the separate washroom was no problem. Morning tea or coffee upstairs to ease our 4 hour time change was wonderful before we headed down for a delicious, fresh breakfast that included home made and local items. We'll be back if we come to NS again. Thanks J & D - we'll be sending you a little TY from the West soon!!! xo

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeartsDesireBB, Owner at Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for a wonderful review - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we certainly enjoyed your company! Hope to see you again! Best wishes John & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018

I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed myself immensely. Not just the really comfortable room and wonderful home-made and home-cooked breakfasts, but most of all the friendliness and warmth of John and Denise, the perfect hosts. An excellent quiet location, off-road parking, but only a few minutes walk to town, where there are plenty of good choices of places to eat. Mahone Bay is beautiful and this is the perfect place to stay. I look forward to my next trip there.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeartsDesireBB, Owner at Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Thanks for a great review! We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to your return! John & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

What a comfortable little place! Loved the screened porch and all the birds that came by. The cottage does not include breakfast but the b and b owners do provide tea, coffee and lots of information about what to see and do in the area. We stayed 2 nights!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LindaLou1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeartsDesireBB, Owner at Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Thanks for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed staying in our Garden Hideaway! It certainly is a good place to watch all the birds that come into our garden. We hope you come back for another visit sometime. Kind regards John & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews