We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont House Bed & Breakfast(Mahone Bay)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rum Runner Inn(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Topmast Motel(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Motel(Bridgewater)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
32
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nighttownsbonfirehosthouse
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 42 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2016

THE OWNER - Just like a great host at a party. He walks you into the hostel and introduces you to the other guests while telling everyone what they have in common getting the conversations going.

THE HOSTEL - This is a great, eco / country hostel with a rustic feel. Great communal kitchen / living room space, a big private lawn with a fire pit and chairs that is used sometimes on the weekends. The view of the stars from the lawn was insane! The hostel has it's own well and the water makes your hair soft and silky.

THE DORMS - Nicely painted and spacious with pretty views. I could see the bay from my bunk.

THE AREA - In walking distance is a beach where hostel guests go swimming. Lunenburg and Mahone Bay are charming historic towns with plenty to see. The hostel is located between the two. Mahone Bay is in walking distance. To go to Lunenburg you can drive or you can hike or bike the Bay to Bay trail. The Bay to Bay is beautiful!

CONCLUSION - This hostel offers all the things that create the most vivid memories of your trip

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank perfectbreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2016

If you are looking for a quiet, clean, well-located, quaint place, with a great host for your stay, you're looking in the right place. Enjoy a beautiful bike ride into Mahone Bay (about 10 min) or to Lunenberg (about 20min) and enjoy the little shops and delicious restaurants. Mahone Bay has a really nice small town feel and people are very friendly. I would have liked to stay longer!
Greg is what makes this hostel wonderful. He is very helpful, pleasant and interested in his guests. Such a friendly person and lovely to interact with, he has bounds of information and suggestions to help you in planning your stay. I had a wonderful time enjoying the company of Greg and other travelers at this hostel.
Hope you make it to this one! Thanks Greg for the hospitality!
Erin

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank erinrosewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

I rocked up to Mahone Bay thinking I would stay a night or two. I ended up staying 5 and was really sad to leave the place. Kip and Kaboodle is well located between Mahone Bay and Lunenburg, there are some fantastic walks, cafes, bike rides, and quaint towns nearby (10 minutes by bike to Mahone Bay, 25 min to Lunenburg). And then there is Greg. What a legend! He is one of the best hosts I have met on my travels. A hilarious New Zealander who really knows the local area and will bend over backwards to make sure you have everything you need for a good stay. It is a hostel in a small town, so don't arrive expecting Rydges like facilities, but it is clean, cosy, affordable, quiet, and comfortable - just like you are walking into your friends house. If you are there on a Thursday, make sure you get to Lunenburg's farmers market, and sunset on the beach on Maders cove road is epic (just don't forget your mosquito spray!). Thanks for the fun times Greg, I will definitely be back one day. Jen

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Greg the host was very friendly and full of information. This hostel is very basic and in need of some work. The private room is on the main floor but the bathrooms are upstairs. At $70 a night this room is way over priced for a hostel. The room had bare plywood floors, and smelled strongly of of mould and mildew. The mattress was very hard.. It did come with keys and had its own entrance..
There are 2 co-ed dorm rooms with bunk beds and 2 bathrooms upstairs.. The shower stalls had mould in them and the shower heads were the simplest pipe type.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaML7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudiPetersen, Owner at Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2016

Hey Patricia - so sorry you had a poor experience here. I'm not sure what you smelled in the room, but I'd be truly surprised if it were mould. We're inspected annually for things like that, and had only just had the inspection done. If there was some mildew in the bathrooms (I would be surprised, but it could be) I apologise. We clean them thoroughly every single day with earth-friendly cleaners, and then bleach once a month. And the plywood floors was my own personal choice - it was how I liked it. The whole hostel is bright and colourful and designed by me: from the plywood floors to the fish on the walls to the chalkboard fridge! Again, my apologies that it did not live up to your expectations. The cheapest private room in the entire area, and the going rate for a private hostel room in Nova Scotia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2015 via mobile

Few minutes from Mahone Bay and about 7km from Ludenberg. Had a fabulous stay here. The owner (from New Zealand) is super helpful and really gets to know his guests. He has massive local and NS knowledge. And is willing to sit and Mark places on your area map. He sends you places he think you would enjoy...you don't find that in many hostels. I was also looking for somewhere for dinner, I got an absolute low down on where to and where not to eat! Ended up in a little Bar in Ludenberg that was amazing! The hostel was super cosy and really felt homely. Tea and coffee 24/7 and a make your own pancake breakie. During summer there are BBQs and camp fires...wish I'd gone earlier in the year. Other than that my only regret is not staying longer! Thank you for a great stay :)

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank Irishbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews