We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming treasure in town”
Review of BlackRock Bistro

BlackRock Bistro
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Parrsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bistro style restaurant featuring fresh locally sourced food focused on Nova Scotia seafood and locally grown organic produce. We offer a selection of Nova Scotia and international wines, craft beers and premium liquor in a casual atmosphere. Outdoor seating available.
suisse
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A charming treasure in town”
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The Parrsboro Mansion Inn owner recommended a couple of restaurants to us for our evening meal. She was guarded about over selling the BlackRock Bistro, not wanting to show a bias for her husband's restaurant. Good thing we went with this option. It was one of the highlights of our Nova Scotia trip and not only was the food beautiful prepared with fresh local produce but the owner and staff provided an incredible level of customer service not only to us but the other guests as well. There was real attention to quality in the food but also the service. Like the Parrsboro Mansion Inn, wish we could have stayed longer and tried some of the other dishes in the Bistro.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank neuchatel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    43
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another chance”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

I visited BRB for the third time in three years. We decided to give it another try when we had friends visiting from Alberta. Again it disappointed. No matter how lovely the atmosphere, best wines and local foods. If your chef can't prepare the food to the highest of quality, locals will not return. We had a huge "Slab" of ribs that were over cooked and full of fat with a side of rubbery carrots. Presentation was poor. My friends were very happy with their choices and the desserts were delicious.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank b W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic Food and Great Service!”
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We stumbled upon this Bistro and were delighted at the unusual and tasty lunch we had after hiking all morning! We then returned two days later for dinner and had the Pizza Special along with delightful conversation with the waitress who remembered us from our previous visit! Made us feel welcome!

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corgiluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We were in Parrsboro for 5 days. We had a late lunch and also a dinner at the Black Rock Bistro. The food was nicely presented and excellently prepared. Our service was perfect, even though she was exceptionally busy. We have spent most of our 8 week east coast road trip cooking our own food, because we have not enjoyed our meals out. The restaurants recommended by Trip Advisor on this east coast trip seem to only know how to prepare deep fried food with a ton of chips. The Black Rock Bistro is the real deal. It is fine dining at a reasonable price. Remember I said reasonable, not cheap. Our wonderful chef is not the owner, so I do not know if our chef is going to be at this restaurant for many years. Maybe the owner of the restaurant can comment on his chef. I understand that they plan to close for the season about the end of October. If you are in Parrsboro give this restaurant a try. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank BSCSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 September 2016

This restaurant looks very nice, but I was disappointed with the food (although we loved staying at the owners' inn, Gillespie House, and the breakfast was wonderful).

I had the roasted vegetable salad, and all the vegetables were the same colour of purplish-red, with very little taste, and overcooked rather than roasted. The scallop/fennel appetizer tasted fine, but it included only 4 scallops for $14.00. I've eaten a lot of scallops, and that's overpriced for Nova Scotia. Another person in our party had the lasagna which was good, but the chicken, roasted potatoes and ratatouille were nothing special. We visited in late September, so maybe there's been a change in the chef?

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BlackRock Bistro also viewed

 

Been to BlackRock Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing