We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful value”
Review of Aberdeen Motel

Aberdeen Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdeen Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whycocomagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Checked in just before office closed at 10 pm. The price was very low. I took one look at the room and returned to the office to tell the owner how nice it was. While I was talking to her my wife went in the room and came to the office to express the same opinion. I would certainly drive the extra distance knowing that I would have such accomodations at the end of the day. As well as having an in room coffee maker, fridge, microwave,wifi,cable and free telephone, there was a very complete package of information on the history and ammenities of the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pianomanKingston_Nb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2009

We went on an unplanned road trip from niagara area in ontario, to Cape Breton, and came across this motel.
We pulled and and we were cheerfully greeted by Beatrice the manager.
I was just so amazed about how nice she was and how clean the rooms were.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saabviggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

The Aberdeen motel felt like home about 15 minutes after our arrival. Not the most lavish home in the world - and certainly not outfitted with the most comfy beds - but home nonetheless. Adorned with pretty geraniums, it sits at the edge of the highway, complete with a small playground and a little brook. Across the road is a lake- a lovely sight any time of day.
Inside, everything is clean and tidy, with all life's essentials. Fresh sheets, coffee maker, and small fridge for me, and 100’s of TV channels for my partner. Other homey touches such as a small seating area and little table are also nice - should you be foolish enough to eat in your room rather drive down the road for meal at Alice's or Vi's. (However, do put some beer in your tiny fridge for later, since evening activities are rather limited.)
The closest town is Wycocomagh, which is a nice alternative to the more touristy Baddeck.. Wycocmagh offers little in the form of entertainment, but it has a few stores and great people. Within an easy drive is the town of Iona – home of a fantastic historical village, and Orangevale, with it’s delightful train station museum.
The friendly staff at the Aberdeen will make you feel welcome, and seem take pride in their simple motel. You may fall asleep to the sounds of a 16-wheeler, and you may yearn for your own pillow top bed – but it’s great value for the money. Warm, and inviting, but slightly flawed – just like home.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frontseatdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2006

my wife and i spent 3 nights at the motel, the room was spotlessly clean and the owners were very pleasant and helpful.we shall be happy tostay there on our next visit. the motel is good value for money and we were never disturbed by other guests.

  • Stayed: September 2002, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2006

My partner and I stayed for one night at the Aberdeen Motel during a trip on Cape Breton Island after a disatrous stop at a Bed and Breakfast with a chain-smoking proprietor. We drove past two other motels in Whycocomaugh but the Aberdeen definitely has the best location. It's right on the lake, across the road. The owner was a very sweet woman who upgraded us to a king sized bed for the queen price since she had the room available. There's a laundromat on site. The room was basic and a little worn, but very clean with a dining area, couch and coffeemaker.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank piegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mechu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter8861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whycocomagh
31.2 km away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
167 reviews
10.6 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
671 reviews
20.9 km away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
207 reviews
1.8 km away
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
#2 of 3 in Whycocomagh
157 reviews
8.4 km away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Motel

Address: 10293 Trans Canada Highway 105, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Whycocomagh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whycocomagh
Price Range: $85 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aberdeen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Motel Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing