We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$105
View deal
eDreams
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$105
TripadvisorUS$105
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
96
3
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
96
3
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages pool table paddle boats bedroom cottage fire pit cabot trail cape breton full kitchen co op playing pool hidden gem bras d'or covered deck beautiful property spectacular views top floor baked goods
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 104 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2017 via mobile

When you pull up you are greeted by Hank, the gentlest big black lab cross you’ll ever meet. A few head pats and a shake of the paw, your best friends.
The property and cottages are beautiful, over looking the lake. Suites are well maintained and clean. Kitchen is full equipped to make anything you would want.
We were the only ones staying there at the time and the owner was kind enough to leave the lodge open after hours for us to go and play some pool and shuffleboard.
We will be stopping and staying here next time we go through.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank michellesP841LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hi Michelle

Thanks for your review of our whole operation. Hank always gets a big shout out and we were very happy to read yours. He really is a great model for how everyone should act, especially those of us in the accommodations industry :) We try to be as flexible as possible for all our guests needs and it was nice to read that you noticed how Renie left the lodge open. We are very blessed to have such great guests and we very much look forward to serving you the next time you're in Cape Breton. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Stayed one night at Keltic Quay and will definitely be returning for more! The staff is incredibly friendly and welcoming, the room was very clean and well furnished, lots of activities available, the property is absolutely stunning, and they are dog friendly! I have lived in Cape Breton nearly my entire life, and Keltic Quay is definitely on my short list of the most beautiful places on the island! Also, Hank (the owners dog) is a big sweetheart and incredibly cuddly :)

Ps. I know it's hard, but if you can wake up for sunrise on a clear morning you will not be disappointed!

Room tip: Check out the "Farmer's Daughter" or "Charlene's Bayside" when you're looking for good food
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hi Matt

You are so right... waking up early definitely has its benefits for seeing the full majesty of the lake reveal itself. We are super pleased the other elements of your stay were positive and especially your kind words about Hank. Please do come back, we would love to have you.

Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017

What a beautiful setting and fully equipped cottage right on the water in Whycocomagh! We wished we had stayed here longer as it was so peaceful and serene. We arose in the morning to the fog laying low on the water and watched a beautiful sunrise. The two bedroom accommodations were nicely done with everything you would need to stay for a longer vacation (washer and dryer in the unit!). We didn't have time to appreciate the main building with pool table and bar, but imagine it would have been a great place to spend evenings. There was even a fire pit outside to enjoy. The grill on the deck was an added bonus too. The only downside was having one bathroom for two couples, but it wasn't a deal breaker. Awesome location and beautiful accommodations!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54jls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Hello!

Thank you very much for your kind review. Very pleased you had the chance to see our beautiful sunrise over the lake, especially with the mists on the water, that is just the best. Please come back and stay with us again and hopefully you can check out our awesome lodge and all the fun activities to do inside of it. Happy October!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

We had an awesome stay at Keltic Quay. Hank (the dog) is a true asset - our ten year old son played with him for hours! Everything is well maintained and comfortable. Peaceful but able to keep a ten year old occupied. The location is great for exploring - but was also excellent for kayaking, canoeing and exploring the lodge on site. All dishes supplied - two block walk to the grocery store for supplies. Not many restaurants around but easy to make your own meals with the facilities supplied. We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharoncL7276IG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Hello Sharon

Thank you for your kind review. We agree Hank should be paid more for his presence lol. Seriously though, he loves our guests so much and I am sure your son made his day as well. Renie, Hanks mom, will be very pleased to hear this feedback.

We are also super happy the fully equipped kitchen was there for you, when you have lots of extra time it can be a real treat to make a nice home cooked meal while on vacation. When I stay in the cottages we always bring enough groceries to create a miniature feast and it provides a great transition into an evening or cards or pool in the lodge.

We hope to see you again soon and we wish you a most wonderful fall. Thanks for your review.

All the best
- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Had a very nice stay at Keltic Quay - Renee is a very nice person and very accommodating (when we were there a motorcyclist (who was a guest) got a flat tire and she was prepared to go pick them up on the Cabot Trail in the evening somewhere but the tow truck driver landed up driving the bikers back to the lodge - now that is what I call taking good care of your guests!. Loved the view of the lake from the deck especially while having my morning coffee when it was nice an quiet. Hank (the black lab) was great - he even spent some time with me sitting on the deck. What was really great was being at the fire pit - the first night met some real nice folks from Rhode Island and the second night some real nice folks from Ottawa - reminded me of my camping days with my kids! Too bad the third night it rained and didn't think to go inside the lodge where they had a fire going. All in all a great stay and would highly recommend!

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank BrooklynBoy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Hello Cherished Guest!

We are so happy you noted our "Extra mile" approach to our customers. You folks really do mean the world to us and we are very lucky to have such a broad range of wonderful people choose us. After all it takes two, or more, to tango!

I will let Renie know your compliments, she very much takes them to heart. Glad you got to really relax in the peace and quiet provided by lake, and conversation around the camp fire, next time please join us in the lodge, so much to do there and it's not too unusual for someone to start up a little convert on the guitars or piano we have on hand.

Thanks for your recommendation, we look forward to serving you again.

All the best
- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews