We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$105
View deal
Booking.com
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$105
TripadvisorUS$105
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
96
3
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
96
3
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages pool table paddle boats bedroom cottage fire pit cabot trail cape breton full kitchen co op playing pool hidden gem bras d'or covered deck beautiful property spectacular views top floor baked goods
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 104 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Awesome place to stay! Convenient to Cabot Trail. Beautiful cabins, beautiful location on the lake. Cabins had everything you could need if you want to make a home made meal. Access to canoes, kayaks, paddle boats, a fire pit, a pool table. Renie is truly a great innkeeper, very concerned for her guests' comfort.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hello Jane

Thanks so much for your excellent review, it is exactly what we hope to read when someone chooses us! We hope you have a great summer and we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed or trip to Keltic Quay so much, we are already planning our resturn trip. It was an excellent homebase to explore Cape Breton. 2 Bedroom Cottage was perfect for our family of four. Airbath, TV, and good internet service in our room and a lovely deck looking out to an amazing view. Pictures can not capture the beauty.

Rennie and Hank welcomed us with open arms. We had fun around the fire pit, playing pool and shuffle board in the lodge.

Can’t wait to go back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank sunset7142016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hi there!

I just wanted to send you a short note thanking you for your review of our cottages. Glad the rooms were a good fit and you had some time to appreciate the view. Your right, photos only go so far to do justice to what is right on your door step. Glad you got some games in as well. Have a wonderful summer, we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

The apartment was very clean and well appointed. Plenty of supplies. A couple of things I would point out...the Internet service is very slow. Don’t expect to stream anything. Also while the spot is very peaceful and pretty it is not close to anything we wanted to do. A good hour to the beginning of the Cabot Trail and an hour and a half to cape Breton highlands. We did a lot of driving so did not use this place very much.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gablefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hello

We wanted to send you a short note to thank you for your review. We will be following up on the internet speed to see if we can improve things there. It could have been that a lot of users were online at the same time, also if someone is streaming video for Netflix that can also have an impact on everyone's usage. Keep in mind on your next visit that Whycocomagh Provincial Park is only minutes away, as well as the Farmer Daughter. While these spots certainly don't have the draw of the Cabot trail you might be impressed by what you find there. Again, thanks so much for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

We were traveling between family in Antigonish on our way to see our daughter in NFLD. We stopped along our route at Farmers Daughter and Heather told us about this lodge. What a wonderful surprise! Beautiful, well supplied, cabins on the water. Access to canoes, fire pit, paddle boats etc. Kitchen had everything you could need to make wonderful meals and our cabin had a BBQ on the front deck. Renie was amazing! A true animal lover and a wonderful person! We may have found this gem unintentionally however we will plan to return for longer. Would love to bring the family for a week here next summer. Thank you for a memorable evening! See you again soon.

Date of stay: July 2018
2  Thank RandR-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Good Day

Thanks for your stunningly amazing review. Your words mean the world to the whole team that strives to offer you a vacation accommodation to remember. Renie especially appreciates your kind sentiments. As far as gems go we will keep the place nice and shiny for your return visit. Have a great day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2018

Sometimes photos make a place look better than reality. And sometimes photos don’t do it the justice it deserves. Such is the case with the Keltic Quay.

Calm, comfortable, and incredibly lovely, the Lodge is not only my favorite hotel in Cape Breton but also one of my favorite stays of all time. Set along the waters edge, serene cottages are steps from the Bras D’Or Lake. Our favourite times involved relaxing on the front porch with a bottle of wine, enjoying the scenery, and occasionally patting Hank – the dog that comes with the lodge.

Hank’s a black lab, and is as charming as his owner Renie, the woman who runs the lodge. Everything is taken care of. There’s a fully stocked kitchen, eating area, comfy living room with a gas fireplace, dining area, barbeque– and even a washer and dryer. The beds are wonderful, the scenery is spectacular, and the spacious suites are incredibly clean (I would like to live here).

There’s also a lodge with a pool table, and a whole bunch of games. Large sofas are available for those who want to have a lively game of cards, or escape from their family.

The front porch fabulous, but the grounds are gorgeous as well. Although we felt safe and secluded from the rest of the world, we were only a five-minute walk from a grocery store, drugstore, and several places to eat. The Farmers Daughter makes excellent fish tacos, and Charlene’s has fabulous chowder. People were friendly and helpful in Whycocomagh– and the town has the smallest barbershop that I’ve ever seen.

The lodge is also a jumping off point to the Cabot trail. We spent three nights, which wasn’t nearly long enough, where we were well looked after by Renie and Karen. There are lots stunning attractions close by – beaches, whale watching, hiking, museums – but when we ran out of steam, it was always such a pleasure to return to our cottage at the Quay.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Frontseatdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Wowser!

Where to start....first of all, you have a fantastic command of words, we all really enjoyed what you said but also how you said it. The way you described the look of the area is very much what we like to think.. a photo does not do it all justice. To have earned the rank of one of your favourite stays of all time is an honour we do not take lightly, thank you! It was nice to read that you had the chance to hang out with Hank and check out the grounds.. close to everything but secluded all at the same time.

It was also nice to see that you really were able to use us a "Destination for Exploration". It's a slogan I came up with some time ago and due to our central position it real makes us ideal for the coming and going around the island. The whole team is wishing you a wonderful day, we really look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews