We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$105
View deal
Booking.com
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$105
TripadvisorUS$105
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
96
3
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
96
3
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages pool table paddle boats bedroom cottage fire pit cabot trail cape breton full kitchen co op playing pool hidden gem bras d'or covered deck beautiful property spectacular views top floor baked goods
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 104 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2019

Immaculate cottages, well maintained and spotless. We had everything we needed to feel right at home for our 4 night visit.
The grounds are so well groomed. The cottages all face the lake. It’s so pleasant to just sit on the deck and take in the views.
You couldn’t get a more central location to visit Cape Breton Island.
Thank you Renie for making the 4 of us feel so welcome!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Hello Ann

We wanted to write you a quick note to thank you for your superb review. Knowing you stayed with us for 4 nights is also helps because you real get to understand how nice it is to arrive back at Keltic Quay after a day of exploring our beautiful island. Renie, Hank and the whole team is wishing you a wonderful evening and we hope we get to see you again soon!

- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2019

I live in Nova Scotia and although it's a beautiful place in summer and fall, it can be very daunting in winter. This winter in particular has been very cold with little snow in the area where I live, so I decided it was time to get out and find some snow. In Nova Scotia that means going to Cape Breton where there is usually an abundance.

Keltic Quay has a beautiful location right on the shores of the Bras D'Or Lakes which in February means a frozen expanse upon which you can skate, snowshoe, ice fish or if there's a recent snowfall, cross country ski. You can also watch the eagles that regularly hang out on the ice not far from the lodge.

Another very popular activity is snowmobiling with the Cape Clear trails giving access to hundreds of kilometres of Cape Breton wilderness. These start almost literally across the street from Keltic Quay. For real exercise one can snowshoe up the steep Salt Mountain trail for one of the best views in Canada.

While there's lots to do outside, what really surprised me about Keltic Quay is how much there is to do inside. The large common room in the lodge has a huge stone fireplace with comfortable leather couches to curl up in. But there's a lot more - the best bar shuffleboard I've ever played on - imported straight from Texas. There's also an excellent pool table, built in cribbage board, lots of board games, an ongoing jiggle saw puzzle to work on, darts and a large chess board. You won't be bored after a day of outdoor fun.

Although there's no restaurant, nearby Charlene's provides terrific meals with the chowders simply outstanding.

The rooms are Keltic Quay are more like condos with a fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, nice gas fireplaces and comfortable beds.

I don't know why it took so long to realize that winter in Nova Scotia does not have to mean hibernating inside or fleeing south. Keltic Quay will become a regular winter destination.

Room tip: All rooms front on the water.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Hello Maritime Explorer

Wow, what a beautifully written review. You must do this stuff for a living because we would love to quote you on all the wonderful things you said about us and the area. It is our hope you also get to visit us during the on season and hopefully you are just as satisfied with the experience.

The whole team works very hard to ensure you have everything you need and when we get feedback like this it makes it all worth while. Wishing you a wonderful day.

- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2019 via mobile

Awesome place to stay. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage. Lots of room and very clean! The only thing you need to bring is your food. It’s stocked with everything you need. It has a common area with a fire place, lots of seating, pool table etc. Great place to hang out in the evening.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 875Laurie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Hi Laurie

Thanks for your kind review of our property, we are glad to have been your destination for winter exploration! Hopefully you can come see us in the summer months to really see us shine!

Have a great day!
- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We loved everything about the Keltic Quay! From being greeted by Hank the Tank, to hanging out in the main lounge playing shuffleboard, and taking in the breathtaking views from our balcony. Renie was SO sweet, helpful and kind, and went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Before we departed we re-booked for December and are so happy to say that we found our new favorite place to stay! Thank you so much Renie and Hank, we can't wait to come back in December! -Emily and Jonathan

Room tip: We stayed in 4B and the views were spectacular - no noise from people below us.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emsydney144
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thanks so much for your kind words Emily and Jonathan, we are so very excited to see you back in December. It's awesome to hear your feedback about Renie and Hank the Tank, they will be thrilled to hear we are now your favorite place to stay :) Have a wonderful evening from the whole team here at Keltic Quay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018

Friendly, clean, spacious unit, stunning views and reasonably priced. Not sure what could be better. We were here for the Celtic Colours Festival and our accommodation certainly helped make our trip very special.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank johnobryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thanks John for your review. It pleases us greatly that this critical part of your visit to Cape Breton met and hopefully exceeded your expectations. We are also happy to see you noticed that we price our rooms as affordable as possible given the level of service and comfort we strive to provide. Have a wonderful evening from the whole team at Keltic Quay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews