We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$105
View deal
Booking.com
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$105
TripadvisorUS$105
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
96
3
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
96
3
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages pool table paddle boats bedroom cottage fire pit cabot trail cape breton full kitchen co op playing pool hidden gem bras d'or covered deck beautiful property spectacular views top floor baked goods
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 104 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2019

such a amazing place .we had lower cabin sleeps 5-6 and everything including bbq, all pots pans dishes it is self contained with a beautiful view of bay to ocean.all you need to do is cook and clean up would go back but stay longer just a few km from Cabot trail.

Room tip: book early if more than 6 downstairs has extra bedroom and sleeps more
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hi Gerry

Thank you very much for your review. You pretty much nailed all the key essentials we offer to our guests from amenities to proximity to the Cabot Trail. The whole team is very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again.

Thanks
- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2019

When you drive into the gates of this property, you are immediately impressed with it. However, the interior of the rooms is another story. We spent 2.5 weeks all over the Canadian Martimes and this was our last stop. It was by far the worst bed we had the entire trip. It was like sleeping in a hammock as the mattress was very old and had given out in the middle. Our bathroom, upon arrival, had used washcloths hanging in the shower, which was off putting. Our arrival was late (Note, you HAVE to let them know you are arriving after 8pm) and the reception was hurried with little instructions - we didn't even understand how our room worked! No breakfast or food of any kind on the property - which to their credit, there is a bakery five minutes walking...we didn't bother to tell the hotel - we were exhausted and they seemed too busy taking new reservations to help us out.

Again beautiful grounds and good location, but the inside is dated and we were so happy to leave that terrible bed!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KETB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Hi KETB!

As you can imagine when we read the subject of your review we are concerned and want to take measures to ensure the bed issue is addressed. If you could give us a call or email info@kelticquay.com we would like to know the exact bed that had issues and get it replaced ASAP. We are of course very pleased you liked the grounds and the other items you had mentioned like the washcloths and check in will also be reviewed with the team. The quality of your stay is of the utmost importance and we hope when you return you consider giving us another chance to host you.

We hope you had a safe journey home and again we welcome a call or email so we can make things as good as possible for any future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2019 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Keltic Quay. It’s like staying at a family compound, rather than a lodge. The owner is so friendly. She introduces you to her dog Hank and her eagle friend, Harry. The rooms may not be five star compared to a Four Seasons, as they are a bit dated, but they are perfect for families. We stayed in the Wycocomagh Suite, plus had one smaller room. The beds are comfy, the bathroom is big, the kitchen is complete, plus there is a bbq to use. The grocery store is a short distance away. We loved having a big table to play games. If you are from the US, you get the Boston TV feed.

Unfortunately, it was a little too chilly and windy for us to enjoy the lake, but it looks like kayaking and boating would be really fun. We also didn’t use the game room, but it has pool and table shuffleboard.

Wycocomagh is a great place to base for the Cabot Trail. It’s about 25 minutes from Baddeck, which has lots of restaurants and the Bell Museum. We got to Fort Louisbourg and back easily.
If you are looking for a place for a family, this would be a great place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank travlinmom1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Hello Travlin Mom!

We wanted to reach out and say thank you so much for your 5 star review. We really appreciated your detailed comments on what made our cottages and lodge a good fit for you and your family. Very nice to hear that Renie, Hank and Harry all met with your approval and we will see what we can do about updating the rooms, if you have any suggestions on that front we would love to hear them at info@kelticquay.com, don't worry we thrive on suggestions from our customers.

It was also very kind of you to highlight the area and the proximity to some pretty awesome destinations, folks who read these reviews do not often realize just how central we are to a TON of fun and beautiful places. Hopefully we see you again when the weather is warmer so you can try out the lake.

Wishing you and your family all the best
- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2019

Best place we stayed in the whole of our recent Nova Scotia tour. Renie the manager here makes you very welcome and she is personable, professional and takes a real interest that you are relaxed and comfortable with your stay. Worth paying the extra few bucks to stay in a lovely place like this.

Room tip: lakeside rooms fully equipped excellent location + friendly staff
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cleverfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Hello Clever Fella!

Thanks for your review of our cottages, that is quite the compliment to say we are the best place you stayed on the tour. We will have to quote you on that :) It also means the world to us that you experienced how much Renie, Hank and the whole team care about our guests and the quality of their stay. We truly hope to see you back this way again. Until then we are wishing you a beautiful summer!

- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2019

Immaculate cottages, well maintained and spotless. We had everything we needed to feel right at home for our 4 night visit.
The grounds are so well groomed. The cottages all face the lake. It’s so pleasant to just sit on the deck and take in the views.
You couldn’t get a more central location to visit Cape Breton Island.
Thank you Renie for making the 4 of us feel so welcome!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Hello Ann

We wanted to write you a quick note to thank you for your superb review. Knowing you stayed with us for 4 nights is also helps because you real get to understand how nice it is to arrive back at Keltic Quay after a day of exploring our beautiful island. Renie, Hank and the whole team is wishing you a wonderful evening and we hope we get to see you again soon!

- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews