We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$105
View deal
Booking.com
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$105
TripadvisorUS$105
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
96
3
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
96
3
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages pool table paddle boats bedroom cottage fire pit cabot trail cape breton full kitchen co op playing pool hidden gem bras d'or covered deck beautiful property spectacular views top floor baked goods
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 104 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2019

Our extended family of grandparents, children and grandchildren rented three units for five nights. From there we toured Cape Breton, our first visit. The units provided us with all of our needs. Having laundry facilities in each unit was most helpful as was the convenience of a kitchen for meals. The other amenities were well used by our family: kayaks and paddle boards on the lake, pool table, shuffle board and cribbage board in the main Lodge, the fire pit and Hank, the Quay's dog. Thanks Rennie for your and your staffs' hospitality.

Room tip: The units all have lake views.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Norma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hi Norma

Well you just about hit on every single great thing that we do. We're so pleased that your whole family could stay with us and explore Cape Breton. We really do our best to cater to families, especially those on vacation and looking for a relaxed environment with lots to do. The whole team would like to wish you a wonderful end of summer and an even better fall. Hopefully we get to host you again soon!

- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in 1 bedroom cottage for 5 days. Actually hated to leave. It felt like our home. Great location to Cabot Trail. Beautiful view of Whycocomagh Bay. Renie very helpful in providing information and how could you not like Hank, Renie’s lab. Eat at Charlene’s. Best seafood chowder I’ve ever eaten.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mikeflyfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hello Mike

I am confident Renie and Hank were also sad to see you leave, we just wanted to let you know we carefully read each review of our accommodations and your words really mean a lot to the whole team. We also could not agree more, Charlene's is simply the best, and only a few minutes drive away, so we send a lot of our guests her way. We hope to see you again, try booking with us in the off season for greatly reduced rates. All the best!

- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2019

such a amazing place .we had lower cabin sleeps 5-6 and everything including bbq, all pots pans dishes it is self contained with a beautiful view of bay to ocean.all you need to do is cook and clean up would go back but stay longer just a few km from Cabot trail.

Room tip: book early if more than 6 downstairs has extra bedroom and sleeps more
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hi Gerry

Thank you very much for your review. You pretty much nailed all the key essentials we offer to our guests from amenities to proximity to the Cabot Trail. The whole team is very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again.

Thanks
- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2019

When you drive into the gates of this property, you are immediately impressed with it. However, the interior of the rooms is another story. We spent 2.5 weeks all over the Canadian Martimes and this was our last stop. It was by far the worst bed we had the entire trip. It was like sleeping in a hammock as the mattress was very old and had given out in the middle. Our bathroom, upon arrival, had used washcloths hanging in the shower, which was off putting. Our arrival was late (Note, you HAVE to let them know you are arriving after 8pm) and the reception was hurried with little instructions - we didn't even understand how our room worked! No breakfast or food of any kind on the property - which to their credit, there is a bakery five minutes walking...we didn't bother to tell the hotel - we were exhausted and they seemed too busy taking new reservations to help us out.

Again beautiful grounds and good location, but the inside is dated and we were so happy to leave that terrible bed!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KETB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Hi KETB!

As you can imagine when we read the subject of your review we are concerned and want to take measures to ensure the bed issue is addressed. If you could give us a call or email info@kelticquay.com we would like to know the exact bed that had issues and get it replaced ASAP. We are of course very pleased you liked the grounds and the other items you had mentioned like the washcloths and check in will also be reviewed with the team. The quality of your stay is of the utmost importance and we hope when you return you consider giving us another chance to host you.

We hope you had a safe journey home and again we welcome a call or email so we can make things as good as possible for any future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2019 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Keltic Quay. It’s like staying at a family compound, rather than a lodge. The owner is so friendly. She introduces you to her dog Hank and her eagle friend, Harry. The rooms may not be five star compared to a Four Seasons, as they are a bit dated, but they are perfect for families. We stayed in the Wycocomagh Suite, plus had one smaller room. The beds are comfy, the bathroom is big, the kitchen is complete, plus there is a bbq to use. The grocery store is a short distance away. We loved having a big table to play games. If you are from the US, you get the Boston TV feed.

Unfortunately, it was a little too chilly and windy for us to enjoy the lake, but it looks like kayaking and boating would be really fun. We also didn’t use the game room, but it has pool and table shuffleboard.

Wycocomagh is a great place to base for the Cabot Trail. It’s about 25 minutes from Baddeck, which has lots of restaurants and the Bell Museum. We got to Fort Louisbourg and back easily.
If you are looking for a place for a family, this would be a great place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank travlinmom1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSmeaton, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Hello Travlin Mom!

We wanted to reach out and say thank you so much for your 5 star review. We really appreciated your detailed comments on what made our cottages and lodge a good fit for you and your family. Very nice to hear that Renie, Hank and Harry all met with your approval and we will see what we can do about updating the rooms, if you have any suggestions on that front we would love to hear them at info@kelticquay.com, don't worry we thrive on suggestions from our customers.

It was also very kind of you to highlight the area and the proximity to some pretty awesome destinations, folks who read these reviews do not often realize just how central we are to a TON of fun and beautiful places. Hopefully we see you again when the weather is warmer so you can try out the lake.

Wishing you and your family all the best
- James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews