We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$196
eDreamsUS$197
TripadvisorUS$197
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.comUS$196
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
95
3
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
95
3
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages fire pit bedroom cottage cape breton full kitchen co op hidden gem overlooking the water spectacular views top floor baked goods minute drive hank fireplace bbq deck dog
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 103 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2021

Stayed at the Keltic Quay with a group of female motorcyclists. We had an absolute blast at Keltic Quay's beautiful property. Enjoyed sitting around the fire, using the amenities room and playing pool, and the company of Randy and Sheila. They were fantastic hosts and made sure we were comfortable and having a good time throughout our stay. Can't recommend Keltic Quay enough!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_whalen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2021

We had stayed at the chalets in the past and found it was lovely except for a very strong sewage smell that prevented us from sitting on our deck during our stay. Unfortunately we had a tragic loss of friends who lived close by ( husband and wife who passed in a car accident ). We live in Halifax and were denied a place to stay while supporting the grieving family! We were told this was because of a “travel ban due to Covid 19”. We were beyond shocked and disappointed in this reasoning as it was certainly not a rule issued by the provincial government.
I am a nurse and am very knowledgeable in infection control protocols, if the staff at this facility are doing what they say on the website there would be zero chance of any Covid 19 risk.
You can not imagine the stress this caused us during an unbelievably painful and sad time in our family’s life. The folks who lost their lives were well loved in the community and had previously supported this business.
Luckily we were able to find other accommodations, but I do promise we will NEVER book here again!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank H5591WHginam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2021

We are so very sorry for the tragic loss of your friends and that you were unable to stay at our resort. We looked into the requirements posted by the Province of Nova Scotia and thought we were following the protocols correctly. We have since determined that you were correct and you should have been able to book your stay, again we are very sorry for this mistake. Please contact us directly at info@kelticquay.com as we would like to discuss further via phone or email.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2020

Keltic Quay is located on the beautiful Bras d’ Or Lakes in Whycocomagh. Great base for your Cape Breton stay. A lovely gated entrance with a pond and fountain. The grounds are immaculate and very well maintained. We were looking to decompress and just relax from work and that is exactly what we did and achieved. What a beautiful spot. The cottages are right on the water and there are kayaks, canoes and a paddle boat available to use as you like at no charge. There is a lodge there with game tables and a beautiful fire place however due to COVID it was not open.

We stayed in the Bras d’ Or Suite. It was a one bedroom cottage on the top floor with a Queen size bed. Full kitchen with everything you need. There was a BBQ on the deck which we did not use. The deck was so nice to sit out and the view was outstanding. We spent our last night at the fire pit with a great fire and met a very nice family from our area. We brought our 4 month old puppy which was great to know they are pet friendly. They have a great lab Hank that lives on the property. He loves the water and will fetch a stick thrown into the water. Great dog.

We did two day trips which one to Baddeck and one to Inverness Beach both being only about a 25-30 minute drive. There is a Co op in the area for groceries etc. a Guardian Drug Store and a Farmers Market that you can get baked goods, the best hot dog ever, meaning the bun was amazing. They had a lot on their menu for take out. They had a store there as well. Great as it’s just a quick drive from the cottage.

Renie who manages and lives on property was great! Extremely accommodating for anything you need. Very helpful with recommendations, places to eat, see and go. Thanks Renie you really completed our stay. I would highly recommend Keltic Quay for your stay in Cape Breton. We will be back for sure! The hidden gem in Cape Breton!

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travellingstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Smeaton, Marketing at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2020

Thank you so much for this very detailed review, we loved reading every bit of it and we know it will help others discover why we are a great place to stay. From your suite, to our staff, to the grounds and the surrounding area we could not be more pleased you found everything you could hope for. From the whole team we want to wish you a beautiful fall and hopefully we will see you again soon, with a slightly older puppy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2020

We stayed here for four nights since they offered a discount for staying an extra night which was great. The cottages were very clean, modern and very well stocked. We did a fair amount of cooking and they had everything we needed to prepare meals. They are very pet friendly which made us nervous because one of us has pet allergies but with no carpeting in the cottage and it being so clean this wasn’t an issue. The manager is so approachable and friendly. The spectacular views are what made the stay special for me. We also used their complimentary canoes and kayaks.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgw375
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Smeaton, Agency / Consultant at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2020

Thank you for your review and recommendation! Your review is all we could ask, you noted the discount on the forth nights, you noticed how clean we keep everything and that your suite is ready for you to cook in! It means a lot to us that you found the whole team friendly and it's great that you got out on the water with our free onsite canoes and kayaks, there is quite the view out there. Wishing you a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2020 via mobile

I recently took my daughter, puppy and friends to Keltic Quay for our birthday weekend and felt very comfortable with the cleanliness and sanitation, having a gorgeous view, pristine surroundings made this trip so worthwhile. Renie and Hank were so friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend making this central spot a vacation highlight for families or couples.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank H3687IOloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Smeaton, Agency / Consultant at Keltic Quay Cottages & Bayfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2020

Thank you kindly for your lovely review. Having a clean suite is very important to us and we are glad you noticed. We're also pleased you got a chance to get to know Renie and Hank, they are one of the best parts of our whole place. Very nice of you to also highlight us as a jump off point for other adventures, we could not agree more! Have a great day and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews