We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridgemoor”
Review of Ridgemoor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ancaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ridgemoor B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Ancaster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Ridgemoor is situated in a lovely rural location and has spacious rooms, furnished to an excellent standard. The games room was also of a high quality and the swimming pool is superb. Above all, our host was extremely accommodating, very friendly, and a great chef!

Room Tip: All rooms are to a very high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geezer97, Owner at Ridgemoor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. It was a pleasure having your family stay here for the wedding. GLAD YOU AND YOUR BROTHER MADE USE OF THE POOL TABLE AND SHUFFLEBOARD. The pool and hot tub get closed after this weekend. Enjoy another year of school and thanks again for the glowing review.

cheers, Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2015

The room was comfortable, quiet, clean and is right on the route for the new Greenbelt Bike trail. We had a great breakfast. Bill is a fine cook and sat down to chat with us during the meal. He is very knowledgable about the area. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lauraG5784ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geezer97, Owner at Ridgemoor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. You were the first cyclists riding the Greenbelt Trail to stay here. Glad your expectations were met for the most part.

Breakfast conversation expanded my insight into long term care beds in Ontario. There must be a lot of pressure in that job.

Cycle Safe. cheers, Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

The difference of staying at Ridgemoor is apparent from the approach to the house on the wooded drive. This is going to be an experience unlike most other stays at hotels, B&B's, and hostels--this is as if one were returning home. The proprietor, Bill, is pleased to welcome the prodigal and (re)introduce the home and its amenities (such as a small kitchen for community use, a sitting room on the ground/first floor and a utility room on the first/second floor). I stayed 2 nights this past week (mid-August). The WiFi worked well in the room (BYS--Back Yard Scene), though I wasn't trying to stream live videos; the shower was warm and spacious, the bed comfortable, the bedroom area rugs thick and cushiony; there was plenty of closet and dresser space to unpack the luggage and really feel like home. The breakfasts were amazing with local honey, syrup, and homemade jams. The fruit bowl (yoghurt available) offered delicious variety and the main course offered variety and was filling. Conversation is also served up at breakfast and is the savory to the meal. I didn't get the opportunity to use the pool, but did see that it was enclosed in screening, so despite the woodsy surroundings, bugs should not bother swimmers. A walk in the woods is possible with a number of paths available--or just sitting on the broad front porch or the patio in the back and experiencing nature without the hustle and bustle of everyday life would make a quiet stay complete. This seclusion was available 5 minutes from the 403. Thank you Bill; when I am next in the area, I will check with you for availability.

Room Tip: Not a bad room--1 of the 3 rooms is en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geezer97, Owner at Ridgemoor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Thanks for taking the time to post this review.I'm glad you appreciated the homey feel to Ridgemoor because that is exactly what we strive for. Afterall, we built the home after clearing the land in1982 and raised our family here.

The maple syrup and honey coming off the property are unique to a B&B.

I also, enjoyed the morning conversation. Old Java is still hanging on.

cheers, Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We've just returned from staying at Ridgemoor BnB for 4 nights for a wedding in nearby Ancaster and what a gem it is. We thoroughly enjoyed our stayed and were made to feel incredibly welcome by host Bill. Our room was very spacious, immacutely clean with our own private bathroom. Breakfasts were fantastic incorporating fresh fruit, yoghurts, malt loaf and cooked dishes from eggs and bacon to French toast made fresh by Bill - all were delicious. We hope to return to Ancaster soon and will definitely choose Ridgemoor BnB.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L0ve2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geezer97, Owner at Ridgemoor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Thanks for the review. Hope you enjoyed your time in Ontario, It's a big place.

You were exceptional guests and I must say stripping the beds and gathering up the towels was appreciated but unexpected.

I guess you are safely back in Coventry and I'm glad you included Ridgemoor B&B in your visit to Canada,

cheers, Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Ridgemoor has been my "home away from home" for several years now when I return to my hometown of Ancaster. Bill is a wonderful host ... be sure to try the maple syrup made from his trees and the honey made from his bees! The setting of the house in the deep woods cannot be beat. Everything about Ridgemoor is great.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MAry Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geezer97, Owner at Ridgemoor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Thanks for taking the time to write this review.Although I've had several returning guests you've stayed here the most times. 7 I think. Ancaster is certainly undergoing a lot of growth and expansion; 4 square km north of Garner road and south of 403 alone! You may not recognize the old stomping grounds next year.But it's still real quiet here in the woodlot.

Thanks again. cheers, Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

My second time to Ridgemore. Loved it so much brought my mom a second time. We had had a great stay. Lovely visit, beautiful and filling breakfasts with homemade jams. Spacious and comfortable bed, big bathroom and tub. Grounds are great for and nature hike. Big deep pool and hot tub to unwind.
Minutes from historic Ancaster Village and no Dundas and did a stone's throw from Hamilton.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geezer97, Owner at Ridgemoor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Thanks for the prompt review. It was a pleasure seeing you again. Your Mom is quite the character. I enjoyed meeting her. You got around to quite a few venues while you stayed here. We are fortunate to be so central to all the golden horseshoe offers.

hope you're winners with the 649 tickets.

cheers, Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

This is a quiet property with 3 very large bedrooms. One bedroom has an attached bath and the two have separate bathrooms on the same floor with access through a corridor. All bedrooms are on the first floor and well-appointed. Thought it had free wifi the speed was poor.
The location is equidistant from Toronto and Niagara Falls and so is very convenient. the city of Ancaster has several good restaurants. The host is very pleasant and enjoyed conversations with him.
The only reasons for the four-star rating are the breakfast and wifi speed. BF is adequate but not stellar compared to other B&Bs we have been to. But then food is a matter of taste. I will encourage you to try this place and decide for yourself. Please note that the property is up for sale.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndySafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geezer97, Owner at Ridgemoor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Thank-you for taking the time to submit this review. I enjoyed finding out more about India, especially its languages. Let me clarify a couple of points. All the bedrooms are on the second floor of our house (14 steps up). I bedroom has a 4 piece ensuite and the other 2 bedrooms have private 4 piece baths each accessed from the main upstairs hallway and in close proximity to the bedroom.

I agree the wifi is intermitantly slow. We have no trouble with e-mails but streaming movies and large files are a problem.

As for the breakfasts, they are simple and generous. Tea/coffee, fresh fruit, orange juice, malt bread,honey and maple syrup from the property, yogurt with every breakfast and a hot prepared entrée of eggs or French toast or pancakes with bacon. Unforunately it did not meet your expectations.

cheers, Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ridgemoor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemoor B&B

Address: 902 Shaver Rd, Ancaster, Hamilton, Ontario L9G 3K9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Ancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ancaster
Price Range: C$110 - C$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamilton/Ancaster, Ontario Bed and Breakfast. An accommodation that will appeal to the naturalist. Our B&B has some of the most natural woodland views available in the Hamilton area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ridgemoor B&B Ancaster, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing