We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Barbara C
Barrie, Canada

Very Nice

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 5, 2020via mobile
Enjoyed our stay everything was very clean and the reception was very friendly. Heating unit was very quiet, but bathroom fan was very loud. Breakfast was pick what you liked with a wide variety. We took it with us.
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$220
C$187
No prepayment needed
  • BestWestern.com
    C$187
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
  • Priceline
    C$187
1.5 km from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$220
C$187
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
  • Hotels.com
    C$187
  • Priceline
    C$187
0.2 km from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$162
C$154
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$154
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel
C$105
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$105
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$105
  • Vio.com
    C$105
1.6 km from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
15.1 km from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel
C$216
C$203
  • Expedia.com
    C$215
  • HIExpress.com
    C$203
  • Hotels.com
    C$216
0.0 km from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$413
  • Expedia.com
    C$366
  • Hotels.com
    C$368
  • TownePlace Suites
    C$368
10.0 km from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Guest Room
C$252
C$233
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$233
  • Expedia.com
    C$232
  • Hotels.com
    C$233
10.1 km from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$189
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
15.2 km from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bowmanville
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
59
98
30
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
98
30
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk sports teams above average would stay here again near future cleaning staff highway soap elevator dispenser bathtub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 208 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2020 via mobile

Booked in advance for one night with my son only to arrive and wait 20 min to get checked in. No staff present to check in any customers, others waiting previously for awhile before us. When the lady came to front desk apparently she told us she was the only staff on site. She was very nice, felt bad as this is a very big establishment to staff on her own. And not very fair for customers arriving either to have to wait to be checked in. We received our key card for our room, only to find out when we opened the door that it was occupied by someone else. Very awkward for my young male teenager and I to see. This lady was on the bed, obviously very upset when strangers walk into her room at 8 pm. When I went down to the front desk and asked how we would be compensated for this mess up. My answer at first was because I did a third party booking through Expedia not much could be done. If I had of booked directly through them she could do something. To me that was not reasonable since the key card was not given to me by Expedia. End result, I was given $20 refund after she spoke to her manager via text. To me this was not even close to being reasonable at all. But I guess we live and learn.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank ktown1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

BACKGROUND: We were on a road trip to Toronto and wanted to stay close enough to the city that we could get to its heart within 45 minutes on a weekend morning, but far enough away that we would have free parking and pay more reasonable rates. This hotel is right off of the 401.
LOCATION: In the far Eastern suburbs of Toronto, Oshawa.
ROOMS: Standard issue Holiday Inn Express. In terms of the basics: a bed that’s slightly high and has tiny pillows, and a bathroom that’s clean and functional. In terms of creature comforts, the room had a large TV with a large selection (English and French, at least one Chinese channel, one multicultural channel, plus most major American networks) a refrigerator and a microwave. In terms of work, the room had an average size desk and free Internet.
The hotel also comes with the trademark Holiday Inn Express breakfast in the morning.
OTHER ISSUES: A youth hockey team was in the hotel for a competition, and was not particularly well chaperoned. Nor was the hotel particularly responsive to requests to ask the parents to manage their rambunctious children, especially after 10 pm. (We called about three times, and these kids were 8- to 10-year-olds, not teens.) We had great difficulty falling asleep. Not surprisingly, breakfast the next morning was a bit rowdy, though parents seemed to have a bit more handle on their children than the night before. Based on this experience, I would think twice about staying in this hotel again on a weekend.

Room tip: Avoid on weekends; the staff cannot handle crowds with boisterous children.
Date of stay: March 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SAC-from-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Thank you so much for your review.
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
As we hire security on ALL tournament weekends, and halls are constantly patrolled, there should not have been so many repeat issues. Period.
Despite the fact that our mandatory "quiet hours" are 10pm to 7am, we still expect reasonable noise levels outside of those hours and if there are guests (team or otherwise) who repeatedly ignore requests for courtesy, our policy is to evict them from the hotel.
I apologize that this was not done.
Unfortunately, as there were no dates provided in your comments, I can't go back and check through the log or security notes to find out exactly what took place.
Please don't hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to provide more detailed information.
I sincerely hope you decide to visit with us again to truly experience the hospitality and great service that we're so well known for.
Warm regards,
Kim Shields
Front Office & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2019

Front staff were wonderful; breakfast was great.

Not sure how old the place is but our room needed a thorough cleaning; from the edges of the bathroom counter/sink area to the dust on the picture frames in our main sitting area. Bed was soft but the white cover and linens didn't look fresh any longer although they did smell a little like bleach so at least I know that was clean.

Room did have a single pod coffee maker (although didn't use) and it had fridge and microwave. Our room was set far from elevator so it was nice and quiet.

We don't usually stay in hotels so I'm not thrilled when we have to pay over $100 to sleep in a room that's not spotless.

Room tip: East off and on Hwy 401; lots of parking; wheelchair accessible.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HIEXBOWGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2019

Nancy,
Thank you so much for your review and rating.
I truly apologize if the room cleanliness was not up to standard, I have addressed it with our staff and we will make sure we improve on that.
We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the staff made a great impression during your stay.
We hope to see you again the next time you are in Bowmanville.
Sincerely,
Paulina Alamo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2019

Aside from the slight difficulty in maintaining a comfortable temperature with the air condition in our room, we had a pleasant stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Our room was clean and spacious even for 3 adults. WiFi was strong and ample TV channels available. Breakfast was delicious even though selection was limited. All the staff we met were friendly and welcoming. Parking ample even though the hotel seemed full.
We would definitely recommend this hotel should you require accommodation in the Bowmanville area.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HIEXBOWGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

H K,
Thank you so much for your great review and rating.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to having you visit with us again the next time you're in Bowmanville.
Sincerely,
Paulina Alamo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night just to get away from the house.
The rooms were clean and nicer than expected.
Pool and hot tub were clean.
Staff was great.
It’s right beside the 401, and about an hour and a half from the airport. (When it’s not rush hour)

No complaints from this gal!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pepperrrr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HIEXBOWGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Thank you for your review and rating. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again the next time you need a quick escape from the house.
Sincerely,
Paulina Alamo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews