We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and lovely restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingersoll
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly and lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed during the week. As I like a nice bath and the regular rooms have showers only, I upgraded to a jacuzzi suite for a few dollars extra. The jacuzzi was huge and I enjoyed it. The room was attractive and the bed was very comfortable. I was travelling by myself and found myself in a ground level room overlooking the gravel parking lot. I wish I had asked for a better location, however the room was fine for my needs. I had a massage in the spa. Great people working there, however the spa is basically in the basement without windows and is tired. So not a very luxurious experience. The dining rooms are in the old mansion. I only had breakfast there, but the food was very good and though it was a buffet the wait staff kept the coffee coming. A very nice experience. I think it would be even more enjoyable in the spring or summer when the gardens are nicer than they are in February. If you go, be sure to visit Tillsonburg, a town about a 15 minute trip south.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmHurstInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Carmag,
Thank you for visiting Elm Hurst Inn & Spa. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and am happy to let you know that our Aveda Spa will be undergoing renovations during the first week of April. I hope you will come back to see the results on your next visit to Oxford County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    97
    44
    20
    18
See reviews for
70
184
17
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Spa was dirty, especially the whirlpool. Staff was unfriendly. Attention the clients was lacking, we had to ask for water & slippers. Services were not great. Overall not what you would expect from a high end spa, which it is not. We are two sisters who were very much looking forward to a spa day & night away to relax and were very disappointed.
The stay at the inn and the rooms were ok, not great.

Room Tip: Just avoid the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmHurstInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Geoff L,
I'm sorry that your visit to our Aveda Spa did not meet your expectations, but am happy to let you know that it will be undergoing renovations at the beginning of April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had a lovely dinner with our friends at the hotel restaurant on the patio.
I liked the cheddar soup and the Martini with maple.
It was calm and quiet and we will definitely visit there again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant. Great food, great service. The hamburger was amazing and the soup was unique and refreshing. All in all a very positive experience, will come again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shachar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Burwell, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Three couples enjoyed a lovely dinner on the patio.
The staff was friendly, the food was delicious and the weather was great.
Reasonably priced.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Booked an overnighter at the Elm Hurst inn, got one of the spa packages. The hotel is beautiful, We had a jacuzzi room with a king size bed. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, the room, building and grounds were fantastic and the massage in the morning was excellent. The included breakfast was delicious. Only drawback was the fitness area left much to be desired. Definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My fiance and I stayed here Wednesday evening because we had a Groupon deal. We upgraded to the Jacuzzi room and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was very nice and clean, the bathroom is very modern and was spotless. We had a comfy king sized bed and loved how the Jacuzzi was in the bedroom, so we could relax in there, while watching TV.

We ate dinner in the Mansion Restaurant. The room we were seated in, was somewhat small, and even though there were a few other fellow diners, it was awkwardly quiet. My fiance and I just brushed it off and ordered our food. He had the Pork Tenderloin and I ordered the Chicken Parmesan. Let me tell you something... we would consider ourselves real foodies, and we've dined at many upscale restaurants, but this was the best food we've ever tasted. I couldn't believe something as simple as Chicken Parmesan could taste so amazing! And the Pork Tenderloin, absolutely scrumptious. We then understood why the room was so quiet, everyone was enjoying their food too much to even talk! We heard an elderly couple beside us rave about the food as well. I didn't order an appetizer because I wanted to leave room for dessert, but my portion was too big and we had it packed to go. We were also served complimentary bread with whipped butter and cream cheese, my fiance enjoyed that very much. Our server was OK. He did his job to a minimum and served us, but wasn't entirely present, or looked excited to be there.

Now our server at breakfast, she was amazing! Very lovely lady, happy and eager to please. When there was no scrabbled egg left, a gentleman informed the server, and within minutes, she brought out a fresh batch, and served him at his table, even before refilling the buffet. Breakfast was served in a much larger dining room. I read a few other reviews about the buffet not having any meat (bacon or sausage) and I believe management took this into consideration because when we went, there was bacon! They had a wonderful assortment of foods, and juices, it was very satisfying and a wonderful start to our day.

We stayed in room 121, which I don't believe was in a good location on the property. It was on the lower floor and right beside the Spa. The entire floor had a distinct smell, which I think could be the chlorine from the hot tub/sauna? As well, our window was facing the back parking lot, and we could literally see people walking in through the back door, so I would request for a room on the main floor or upper floor.

We'll be dining at the seafood buffet at the end of this month, and will definitely stay here again. It was a very relaxing one night getaway and we'll book one of the suites next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 121, which I don't believe was in a good location on the property. It was on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sLuvS2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingersoll
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Ingersoll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Hurst Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Property: Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Address: Hwy 401 415 Harris St RR 5, Ingersoll, Ontario N5C 3J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ingersoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingersoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Hurst Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an hour west of Toronto and a short drive from London and Woodstock, this 49 room Inn and Victorian Mansion Dining room sits on 33 acres of countryside, just off Hwy 401. Comfortable guest rooms, renowned cuisine, attentive service, private dining rooms, elegant reception spaces and beautiful grounds have made Elm Hurst Inn & Spa a popular destination for getaways, celebrations and corporate events. Enjoy extra pampering at our on-site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Elm Hurst Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Hurst Inn And Spa
Elm Hurst Hotel Ingersoll
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa Ingersoll, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing