We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food!”
Review of The Dish Cafe

The Dish Cafe
Price range: US$16 - US$28
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Elmira, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food!”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The best meal I have had in a long time perfect filling portions, so many flavours, food perfectly cooked not a single complaint. Educated on how food is made and described process and ingredients of food. Price is perfect for the quality and portion size. I'm going back every time I'm in Kirkland Lake. Definitely a Diamond in the rough!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    2
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Dish Cafe - Kirkland Lake ON. An intimate little spot hidden away on the main street of the town. My wife had heard good reports on this restaurant so we decided to investigate it while driving thru the area. We checked on line with Trip Advisor and found the name and address. The things that struck me first was the intimate atmosphere, with candles on the tables beckoning in the subdued light. We were warmly greeted by the waitress/co-owner. While the menu is not large, there is something for everyones taste. My wife had a sirloin steak cooked to perfection, with garlic whipped potatoes. The presentation was a work of art. I had Tilapia and shrimp which was the best I have ever had. The shrimp especially were nicely prepared and very tasty. Again I had to sit back and admire the fantastic presentation to the meal. The prices were $27 and $30. Well worth it for every aspect of the experience, from the welcome to the atmosphere, the service to the food and presentation. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone for a special occasion, a nice intimate dinner or a relaxing dinner with good friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little fine dining spot in KL”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Food and atmosphere is fantastic! The couple who run it are clearly very passionate about what they do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tormeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised in Kirkland Lake, ON”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I travel a lot! Usually when I head to smaller towns I have a choice between something with gravy or combo number 3 with Honey Garlic Ribs. So I find "The Dish" and decided to give them a try. Just out of sheer culinary boredom, I said to the server, who happens to be a partner, "Tell the chef to cook me anything that brings him joy". It's funny because when I have used this approach in the past, I usually end up with a traditional Steak Frites. Not at The Dish. Service began with a delicious Shrimp and Chorizo appetizer. I am not a big fan of chorizo, I had a one night conversion. The flavors were beautifully married with marinated red peppers. Main course was beef with perfectly herbed slice roasted potatoes and asparagus wrapped in Prosciutto and presentation was five star all the way. The portions were large and unexpected. So as I finished my last five bites- It Hurt, but in a really good way. I had to wait for desert, not because of poor service, but because I was enjoying a fantastic meal. Desert was a flour-less chocolate cake. Wow. I hope the local folks will support The Dish because support will be rewarded with tasty, fresh five star food in their own hometown.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NewBrunswickJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland Lake ON Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Diamond in the ruff!”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This small (24 seats) restaurant is a breath of fresh air for KL. Fabulous menu selection, good balance of food choices (meats, fish, poultry and vegetarian), welcoming and courteous service, mystery of choice since menu changes daily. Been there a dozen times and never encountered a problem or food left on plates by all accompanying me. Been there for service for 2, 10 and, yes, even 20 for a private function: the quality of foods and service was always top notch regardless of numbers. A very special ambiance and extremely nice to have our youth return north to spoil us with their skills and professionalism! Out of town guests rave about The Dish...time for all to discover it on their own.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge et Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dish Cafe also viewed

Kirkland Lake, Northeastern Ontario
Kirkland Lake, Northeastern Ontario
 
Kirkland Lake, Northeastern Ontario
Kirkland Lake, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to The Dish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing