We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Fish & Chips”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Fish & Chips
Ranked #40 of 249 Restaurants in Milton
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

Menu is fairly good, but definitely limited to only seafood. The decor is spartan but it is clean and presentable. The French fries are good and not greasy. They provide decent size portions and are reasonably priced.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2016

Fish and chips are always great. If you eat in, you are eating on a styrofoam plate and plastic utensils, but don't let that detract from the dinner. The fish is always meaty and well cooked, with good fries. Good value for either eating in or taking out.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

Used to be the go to fish place for me a few years ago. Now it's dirty, greasy, and just down right horrible eats. Got sick last time and will never go back. Not recommended for anyone who has taste buds and a normal stomach.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2016

There have been two eras of Golden Fish and chips in Milton, the Ben Sikkema era (1966 to 2001) and the Ben Sikkema Holdings era (2001 to now as Ben decided living in St. Maarten was better than living in Georgetown).

I first tried Ben's fish and chips (I'm not sure old Miltonians know the actual name, it was just 'Ben's) as a small child when he was located on Mill street across from the entrance to Rotary Park. My parents were hooked, and so was I. Eventually Ben moved to 431 Main Street before settling in to his present location in 1985.

The menu has basically been Halibut and French Fries, but over the years there have been Haddock, Cod, Shrimp, and during a Halibut shortage in the 90s.....Orange Roughy. He's also had a creamy and vinegar cole slay option for the last 30 years. In the 70s, Ben was unique because rather than sell Pepsi or Coke, he sold 'Howdy!' brand pop, as did Murray Hood's for a while.

I will always recommend this place.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2016

I moved to Milton in 1975, and the first meal that I had was at the Golden. At that time, the restaurant was on the other side of Main Street. Although changing ownership over the years, the top quality of the fish and chips has remained constant. Strongly recommend dining here-excellent lunch value also.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Golden Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing