We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Spot”
Review of Penny's Place

Penny's Place
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Grill
Description: Initially opened by local Ottawa native Penny Bell in 1994. She raised her daughters in the restaurant business; Dawn Bell owns and operates Michaels Table, and Pennyann Bell is Chef and Manager at Penny's Place. Becoming famous for breakfast in the early years, Penny's has expanded their menu over the years. Offering an extensive lunch menu and a never ending breakfast menu as well! Offering house smoked Chicken, Pastrami, homemade Desserts, fresh cut Fries and real Homefries & Hashbrowns. Dishing up a new specials every couple week and our home made soups are only availably while supply lasts! Penny's has become a staple for the locals, and a popular hot spot for summer vacationers in the beautiful cottage country that surrounds the area. With easy access located right off HWY 7 before the first set of lights in the beautiful town of Perth. Our parking lot is large with lots of room for people to stop by with their trailers, campers and whatever else their hauling while they grab a bite to eat! Please note: As we are a small diner, we often end up with a line up out the door. A key part to our success is controlling our seating to ensure we are able to seat as many people as possible each and every day. This may mean that some days you have to wait for your entire group to arrive before your seated and sometimes we have to seat you at tables that match your group size. We don't do this because we like too but because it is a necessary part of our business to ensure we are able make the most of each day and serve everyone who visits us. On that note...we welcome one and all into our business and hope to see everyone some day, some time! Thank you kindly for your business in the past, the present and the future. From Everyone at Penny's Place!
Restaurant details
Description: Initially opened by local Ottawa native Penny Bell in 1994. She raised her daughters in the restaurant business; Dawn Bell owns and operates Michaels Table, and Pennyann Bell is Chef and Manager at Penny's Place. Becoming famous for breakfast in the early years, Penny's has expanded their menu over the years. Offering an extensive lunch menu and a never ending breakfast menu as well! Offering house smoked Chicken, Pastrami, homemade Desserts, fresh cut Fries and real Homefries & Hashbrowns. Dishing up a new specials every couple week and our home made soups are only availably while supply lasts! Penny's has become a staple for the locals, and a popular hot spot for summer vacationers in the beautiful cottage country that surrounds the area. With easy access located right off HWY 7 before the first set of lights in the beautiful town of Perth. Our parking lot is large with lots of room for people to stop by with their trailers, campers and whatever else their hauling while they grab a bite to eat! Please note: As we are a small diner, we often end up with a line up out the door. A key part to our success is controlling our seating to ensure we are able to seat as many people as possible each and every day. This may mean that some days you have to wait for your entire group to arrive before your seated and sometimes we have to seat you at tables that match your group size. We don't do this because we like too but because it is a necessary part of our business to ensure we are able make the most of each day and serve everyone who visits us. On that note...we welcome one and all into our business and hope to see everyone some day, some time! Thank you kindly for your business in the past, the present and the future. From Everyone at Penny's Place!
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Summer Sunday, lunch time; place was packed with seniors (which indicated to me that the food was probably good and reasonably priced). I had the reuben and my wife had the turkey and brie. Sandwiches were excellent, lots of goodies, great bread. Shared a somewhat pricey side of excellent fries ($4.50) but there was enough for 4 people, we only ate half. Most people seemed to be ordering breakfast which from every thing I saw looked fantastic. Only complaint was that it was quite warm, not sure if the AC was on the fritz or if the temp is the preference of the mainly older clientele.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KevinFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Yes it was very warm in the restaurant that day! Our A/C had stopped working and trying to get someone in a Sunday is sometimes difficult. However it did get fixed and it is not normally that warm in the restaurant. Although the older folks to enjoy the heat, we try to keep it at a somewhat moderate temperature because if its hot in the dining room it is 10 times hotter in the kitchen! Thanks again for writing us a review and hope you'll dine with us again!
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

The food was so good, the prices right and the service was good. The only negative was that we went back on Saturday and it was closed. We were disappointed because we wanted another wonderful breakfast.

Thank jmdanby2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

We are so sorry to hear we missed you! We were taking part in a wedding and had to close for the weekend. We hope you'll stop in again sometime! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

This is our third time stopping at Penny's on our way to Ottawa. I love the food. Everything we have had tastes delicious from breakfast to lunch. The restaurant is tiny but quaint. If you are passing through Perth it is a must stop kinda place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We're always glad when long distance travelers make a habit of stopping in! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Had breakfast here yesterday morning. Food was ok first server was lovely but the older women at cash should not work with the public EVER! This was our second time here and both times I have watched this woman treat people horribly. There was only 2 booths left and when a party of 2 came in she turned them away stating the booths were for parties of 4. My husband and I were in a booth along with 2 other couples in booths??? Made no sense to me. When our food arrived we politely said thank you but she did not respond. Funny she was somewhat pleasant when it was time to pay.

Thank Chantelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We do operate in a different manner then other establishments as we are small and usually have a line up out the door. We encourage diners to be kind to one another and not take up a table that isn't right for your group size. There is a sign at the front door when you walk in that explains our seating policy. Some people understand it and others don't. We try and seat people at tables that fit their group size at busy moments through the day. This way we can ensure that everyone that comes to visit has an opertunity to dine with us. You might have come in at a good time where you were able to be seated at a booth, and they might not have. They were offered a table appropriate for their group size and they denied it and asked for a booth. They were informed it was getting quite busy and we were starting to save them for groups of 3 or more. They declined to sit a table for 2 and left. That was their decision to not stay, they were not turned away they declined a table that was appropriate for their group size. You shouldn't let someone else's choices determine whether or not you come back. Hopefully this helps you understand our situation and the other customers decision to not stay and maybe you'll come back again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Great spot for breakfast if you're in Perth or travelling through on Hwy 7 from Ottawa to Toronto. It's a very small room and tables are close together but it's charming. Service was friendly and fast. Jams are set out in bowls on the counter and you have to go up and fill your little bowl. It's like eating breakfast at a friend's house. I don't know if this habit is peculiar to the Perth area or whether it just was a co-incidence that day, but every table ordered their eggs served on top of their toast on a separate plate and then they were cut up so each bite had egg and toast. I'm disabled so the large parking lot was appreciated. I was able to park adjacent to the front door and walk right in. Prices are quite reasonable. We will return.

Thank SilverGirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us! We are happy to hear that our large parking lot of easy and accessible for you. And hope you will dine with us again! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penny's Place also viewed

 

Been to Penny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing