We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
24
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fruit salad huge ensuite highly recommend this place beautiful house spacious room other guests bacon next morning jenny baking mclaren loaf personality liking property ottawa
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 24 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

We weren't quite sure what to expect upon arriving at this enormous mansion on sprawling, well-kept grounds in Perth, Ontario. But the charming owner quickly made us feel welcome and put us at ease. The house, along with its equally imposing coach house, is truly an historic property. Our large room with huge en suite was clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious, and we had a fascinating conversation with the owner. Location is perfect for engaging with the charming town, two minutes from everything. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We spent one night at the Nevis Estate in the spacious and comfortable McLaren Room and took full advantage of the relaxing soaker tub. Being a sunny, warm day, we also enjoyed time both around and in the refreshing pool. The grounds of the Estate are lovely and very well cared for, as is the house itself. And if nothing else, take the time to chat with Jenny who is a warm, caring, and welcoming individual, we so enjoyed our chats with our wonderful host. The breakfast was delicious and filling, with freshly baked blueberry muffins, fresh fruit and yogurt, omelette and toast, and excellent coffee. You will not go away hungry. The Nevis Estate is highly recommended for anyone looking to spend time in Perth. Thank you Jenny!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roundfoot_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We had spent a disappointing day looking at waterfront properties in the Perth area. Disenchanted after five let-downs, we told our agent we were going to find a random hotel for the night--and we couldn't believe the Best Western was $200. She insisted we follow her to "Jenny's Place"--it would be "way more fun than the Best Western." She was right. Jenny's Place is Nevis Estates--and she welcomes you like a long-lost best friend, weary from a too-long flight. It was a wet and miserable night, but, the soaker tub erased all concerns about that. The poster bed is quite a marvel--and the King bed was like sleeping on a cloud. It was so still and quiet--and in the morning, though we requested breakfast at 10am, she insisted if we were awake earlier, to come downstairs. Indeed, we were awake earlier--but only because we could smell her famous cinnamon-sugar dusted banana bread baking and wafting up through the vents.
Breakfast is quite an affair--we opted for banana bread to go--just to take advantage of the tropical fruit, yogurt, toast and eggs anyway we wanted. Bacon--ripe tomato--an omelette. Awesome punchy coffee. We didn't eat again until after 6 that night. We had great company 'round the breakfast table. Two young, effervescent equestrians preparing for a week at the upcoming Royal Winter Fair. Sometimes B&B breakfast tables can make for stilted and awkward conversations over pancakes that take too long to arrive--but, this was truly fun, as promised. And Jenny flitted in and out, peppering the conversation with her great New Zealand purr. We met her son, en route to Australia and her husband before he headed out to their nearby farm. It truly is a family affair and you feel instantly embraced and, at home. We promised to return when we finally find a house of our own to call home--and this is exactly how we want all of our guests to feel. Jenny has had the B&B for 14 years, and her passion and intrigue for people and guest satisfaction is obvious. We wanted to stay longer and just sit in that divine King bed eating the rest of her banana loaf.

Room tip: Go for the suite with the soaker tub--grab a bottle of wine and don't plan on leaving until morning.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtorti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We were lucky enough to stay in the largest room, with a huge ensuite. The room is really as big as it looks on the website ! Delicious breakfast.
Jenny is extremely friendly and we enjoyed our visit immensely.

Room tip: Great place to stay in the very picturesque town of Perth !
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH_TOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

Wow, what a fantastic find! Beautiful home and room. Jenny is an exceptional welcoming host. I was travelling with my family through the area and we decided to spend the night and luckily there were two empty rooms at the estate!! What a find! The rooms were beautifully styled and clean with ac. The bathroom was new and had excellent toiletries. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. We woke up to the delightful smells of baking. Beautiful grounds and hostess. Highly recommend baby!!!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ravensun53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews