We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mari_chu
Port Elgin, Canada

Small but neat

Review of Maplewood Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 12, 2019via mobile
This is a family-owned motel business and it’s close to port elgin beach. The room is small but everything you need is in their. They have fridge, microwave, plates and utensils. Washroom is well cleaned and maintained. If you travel long drive and needed a place to sleep and rest a bit, this is a good and affordable one. The front desk is very helpful and friendly as well.
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$179
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
    C$179
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Maplewood Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to the Travelodge Port Elgin
C$148
C$127
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Tripadvisor
    C$127
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Maplewood Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$169
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Maplewood Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Maplewood Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Maplewood Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • HIExpress.com
    C$191
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Maplewood Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Recently renovated outdoor decking and upper balcony railings. Large front deck area for beautiful full sunset viewing
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Maplewood Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Staybridge.com
    C$199
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Maplewood Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.2 km from Maplewood Motel
    • Priceline
    1.4 km from Maplewood Motel
    View more hotels in Port Elgin
    Reviews (49)
    Filter reviews
    49 results
    Traveller rating
    9
    20
    13
    1
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    9
    20
    13
    1
    6
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 49 reviews
    Reviewed August 25, 2019

    Stayed at this motel in August. They gave us room 19 first..it was dirty, microwave had crumbs in it, no stove. We Asked for another room. This room had cobwebs, stove top was very dirty, had not been cleaned recently. Beds were not made each morning, room was not vacuumed all week and we took out our garbage each day. Tiles were lifting in the bathroom.. a safety hazard and floor of shower stall was broken.
    Would not recommend this motel. Will not be returning.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    2  Thank Beverley S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 21, 2019

    We stayed at this motel for a week in Aug. Since Tony & his wife Sue left the place has turned into a dump. The rooms were never cleaned on a daily basis. I bought cleaning products at the dollar store to clean before we used anything. The floors were covered in dirt and crumbs. The carpet had never been vacuumed since I don't know when. My bed had two pillows but only one had a cover. The pillows smelled and I slept with a towel over the pillows every night. They never came in to pick up the garbage. We put the garbage out each day and asked for new bags. We were't even sure if the bedding had been changed. The only thing they changed was the towels every day and they were usually handed into us. There was one chair outside for each room. There was garbage on the lawn which never ever got picked up. Dirty ash trays were outside the rooms which never got emptied. We would never again stay at the Maplewood. I asked for the owners name but was told that they couldn't give it out without his permission. I phoned the Chamber of Commerce but they are not members of the Chamber. I hope that the owner reads this as I plan on phoning him.

    Room tip: all rooms are noisy because it is on the main thoroughfare
    Date of stay: August 2019
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank nancy1411
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed July 21, 2019

    Older motel but clean, linens clean and in good repair. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and it was spacious and well laid out. Kitchen had a small fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker and kettle. Two countertop burners. Kitchen table and chairs. Staff very nice and helpful. Lots of shopping and restaurants in walking distance. I will return to this place.

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Thank Sallyieh2003
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

    Pleasant room at rear of premises. Quiet. Two comfortable beds and small kitchenette area including coffee pot, fridge and microwave. Parking area outside. Pleasant area and close to amenities and countryside.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 14carolina89
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed July 9, 2018

    Maplewood was average, we didn't expect too much since it was inexpensive. It was clean so that was not an issue. Didn't like to look of the bad and dirty looking caulking at the base of the shower. Totally put me off even stepping in it. Other that that, the location was easy for getting around and the owners were very nice and helpful. I would go back, other rooms could have been different too. Worth the $89.00

    Date of stay: June 2018
    Thank Donna C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews