We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jennifer W
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Excellent Value

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 9, 2017
This motel is excellent value for the money. The rooms, though small, are clean and well taken care of. Restaurant food is tasty and staff are very friendly. Will recommend Aunt Mabel's to friends and family.
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian and Glend... M, Owner at Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel, responded to this review
Responded Feb 12, 2018
Thank you Jennifer for your kind words.....we hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$179
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$179
  • Algotels
    C$175
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
0.5 km from Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to the Travelodge Port Elgin
C$127
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$127
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$110
  • Priceline
    C$127
0.8 km from Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$105
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$97
  • Hotels.com
    C$103
  • Priceline
    C$105
2.3 km from Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$139
  • Hotels.com
    C$169
  • Priceline
    C$139
0.7 km from Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$207
C$191
  • HIExpress.com
    C$191
  • Expedia.com
    C$207
  • Priceline
    C$191
3.7 km from Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family room with two queen-size beds and kitchen area
C$130
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$130
  • Vio.com
    C$130
  • eDreams
    C$130
1.1 km from Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$110
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$110
  • Hotels.com
    C$110
  • Priceline
    C$110
2.4 km from Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$120
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel
C$199
  • Staybridge.com
    C$199
  • Trip.com
    C$177
  • Expedia.com
    C$199
3.7 km from Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Elgin
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
8
6
0
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
6
0
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 20 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2016

This motel is on the highway, as you enter Port Elgin, which may deter some people! It is excellent value - the rooms are very clean and newly-renovated and well-equipped! One small thing - the WiFi in the rooms is not wireless but it is in the restaurant.

Room tip: The beach is a 15 walk down the road - Spectacular!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anney d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian and Glend... M, Owner at Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Thank you Anne for your kind words.
We now have wireless in the rooms too.
Look for to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2016

We always end our visits to Port Elgin with a family lunch at Aunt Mabel's. Normally the food is excellent, but our most recent meal was not to the usual standards when poorly prepared French onion soup was served to two of the guests. None the less, the service was excellent and the cost of the soup was removed from the bill. All's well that ends well and we look forward to our next visit - we just won't chance the French onion soup.

Room tip: We visited the restaurant, but never stayed at the motel.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrelljk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian and Glend... M, Owner at Aunt Mabel's Country Kitchen & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Hello Darrell,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Our french onion soup is made with a red wine and for awhile we found no stability with a certain wine we used in our recipe. We have since changed the wine and are happier with it. I hope you will give it another try...we are always trying to enhance our products in the restaurant and in our rooms.
We look forward to seeing you during the next family lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night while in port elgan. It was a small clean room. Nice tv. Fridge. Microwave. Coffee maker table. It was small but laid out well. Comfortable bed. Full hungry man breakfast included with room. Would recommend it and stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ginger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile

Had the best Cheese Omelets ever and the staff was very friendly and courteous. I would recommend eating here anytime because the food is excellent and prices are very reasonable.
It is very easy to find on Highway 21 at the edge of Port Elgin, Ontario heading South toward Kincardine.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 18, 2015

Re-heated Hashbrowns, deep fried burnt sausages, not fully cooked scrambled eggs and soggy toast. Need I say more? At least the servers are always pleasant but seriously people. Bring it up a notch. You are known for your breakfasts so don't let us down!

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank SSFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews