We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dan M
Whitby, Canada

Fine

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 5, 2024
This hotel is fine. It's not great and it's not terrible. It's in a great location and the service was good. It's also pet-friendly. The rooms and furniture are dated but clean. It's a pretty good option for those trying to save money but it could certainly use an upgrade.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$399
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$399
  • Hotels.com
    C$399
  • Priceline
    C$399
2.1 km from Comfort Inn Port Hope
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$178
  • Expedia.com
    C$178
  • Hotels.com
    C$178
  • Priceline
    C$178
3.0 km from Comfort Inn Port Hope
Pool
Fitness centre
C$135
C$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$135
  • Hotels.com
    C$135
  • Priceline
    C$125
4.6 km from Comfort Inn Port Hope
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$116
  • Expedia.com
    C$116
  • Algotels
    C$107
  • Hotels.com
    C$116
0.0 km from Comfort Inn Port Hope
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$241
C$212
Exclusive member rates
  • Expedia.com
    C$212
  • Hotels.com
    C$212
  • Priceline
    C$212
7.6 km from Comfort Inn Port Hope
Free Wifi
Free parking
At Lotus Motel Dec 2007
C$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$145
  • Agoda.com
    C$145
  • Vio.com
    C$145
7.8 km from Comfort Inn Port Hope
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$199
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$199
  • eDreams
    C$199
9.6 km from Comfort Inn Port Hope
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
C$141
C$120
  • Expedia.com
    C$120
  • Hotels.com
    C$120
  • Agoda.com
    C$120
9.4 km from Comfort Inn Port Hope
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$183
C$161
  • Expedia.com
    C$161
  • Hotels.com
    C$161
  • Algotels
    C$161
9.1 km from Comfort Inn Port Hope
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
C$251
C$228
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$251
  • Vio.com
    C$251
  • Agoda.com
    C$251
15.9 km from Comfort Inn Port Hope
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Hope
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
41
58
54
39
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
58
54
39
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffle maker toast beds were very comfortable cereal dawn greets ottawa canada
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 227 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2024

There were a series of things, none of them earth shattering, that left my wife and I feeling that were better options as far as a place to stay. 1. After booking the first night I called and booked a second. It was not recorded correctly, so upon arrival they clerks thought I had two rooms booked for the same night. 2. There was maintenance work being done in the hallway. Maintenance is always a good thing, but perhaps some warning/explanation could have been given as to why there were large holes in the hallway walls and why the lights in the ceiling were flashing as if the hallway was haunted. 3. There was almost no water pressure in the bathroom sink. 3. There was no hot water Saturday morning. I had a speaking engagement that morning and could not shower in preparation. A discount was recorded on our bill, but has not yet hit my VISA account. I will keep an eye. 4. On the second day we returned back to the hotel mid-afternoon to a room that had not been cleaned or the bed made up. The cleaning staff seemed to be working close by so I felt certain they were coming. They never did come. No discount was given for this lack of service which was included in the price. Comments to the ladies at the front desk regarding this were greeted with blank stares. No discount was offered. So, when you put it all together, it wasn't our best stay in a hotel.

Room tip: Push to get value for your money.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 22, 2024

This hotel needs a complete makeover and clean-up. The furniture in our room was threadbare; the mattress soft and worn; the bed was sloppily made up; the couch cushions were worn out and worn down; the sink was scratched; there were two hair dryers, neither of which worked; the floor of the unit was gritty, and the TV picture was cloudy and unclear. The breakfast room (really the very small lobby with about four tables) was small and crowded, and, even 30 minutes before the breakfast service was over, we had to request cutlery, plates, and breakfast items. The front desk clerk appeared uninterested in the problems. The price we paid was high. We will never stay there again.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel!
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LynneOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 17, 2023

This hotel looks lovely and the rooms are beautiful! The staff was very helpful too. But although the bedding was lovely and soft, the mattress sagged terribly and was very, very uncomfortable. The pillows were fluffy but with no support, and we all got a terrible night's sleep. My husband killed a few large, unidentifiable bugs in the night too. The shower was nice and breakfast was great. Can't really recommend though as sleeping would have helped our weekend alot.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cathie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 21, 2023

You can all read the reviews about how tired and unclean this hotel is. Bad enough, but their lack of care for their guests health is inexcusable. I had prepaid for my stay and the morning of the day we were supposed to drive down and check-in I developed a very severe cough. Not a stomache ache or head ache, but a severe cough. We all know what that could be (i hope not but will be visiting a clinic). I called to cancel for my own health and for the health of others - it is called being responsible. Hotel owner and manager refused. They apparently would prefer me to cough all over the property, other guests, and their inadequate breakfast buffet. Seriously, you can't make this kind of stupidity up. Of course I won't do that. Based on my experience people would have to be nuts to stay at this place.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 20, 2023

Musty, smoky smell to room. Window was open as if a staff member was catching a small smoke break during their shift? No coffee machine or hair dryer. Really? Front desk clerk was not interested in helping and seemed to be wishing she was somewhere else. ( WE shared her wish!)

Room tip: Stay at another motel.
Date of stay: October 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bunser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews