We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
Capitol Theatre - The Box concert

We love the Capitol Theatre for music, plays, Red Carpet....all events! The venue is beautiful... read more

Reviewed September 29, 2023
Keith M
Wonderful theatre! Great experience!

First time visiting and we will be back! The seats are comfortable no matter where you sit and the... read more

Reviewed July 3, 2023
JennieJM
,
Toronto, Canada
via mobile
Read all 249 reviews
  
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
212
26
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
212
26
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bought tickets production actors gem volunteers tribute comedy support popcorn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 249 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2022

Lovely theatre right in downtown Port Hope. Parking is a little tricky, but there is parking near their municipal offices further south. Great atmospheric theatre with good amenities such as lounge area for snacks and clean washroom facilities. We have seen two productions so far - a Patsy Cline tribute and a comedy, Stag and Doe. We enjoyed the comedy more (stronger actors), but definitely an enjoyable outing both times!

Date of experience: July 2022
Thank StanleyandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 24, 2022 via mobile

The Capitol Theatre is a gem of a theatre. Have been attending productions of the summer season for many years, and have never been disappointed. The actors are consummate professionals. The volunteers work tirelessly and never fail to be courteous and friendly. The theatre is so pretty and very comfortable. Refreshments are available for purchase. Popcorn and a drink, anyone? Book your tickets now, you will be hooked!

Date of experience: July 2022
Thank Diniray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

We saw Simply Queen, a couple of months after seeing The Million Dollar Quartet. Not a bad seat in the house! Acoustics are good. Prices are reasonable. Share in the 50-50 to support this local theatre.

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank TravelTwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 14, 2019 via mobile

We come every year for the Panto. The theatre is gorgeous and old in style. Absolutely beautiful. The volunteers who help put have always been polite, friendly and helpful anytime we go.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank mh743
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 17, 2019 via mobile

Since we found this theatre we have kept comming back to catch at least two different performance yearly. We have attended the past 2 production of their Panto productions, Robin Hood and King Arthur. This time we came to see Cinderella the Naughty and we learned that the previous Art Director had resigned. This production barring one scene in the second act we found that teenagers would have been quite comfortable watching this performance. More sweet than naughty compared to the past two years. The actors all had
tremendous voices and once again this theatre is worth the visit. Just wished the previous Artistic Directors was still here as we have seen some excellent shows, Singing in the Rain (outstanding) Fiddler on the Roof and Steel Magnolias to mention just a few.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank 02retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews